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Scenario 2:  You are traveling on a road 
with two or more lanes in each direction

Approaching the bus from the rear: When approaching 
from the rear, the rules are the same as for a two- or three- 
lane road. When you see flashing red or amber warning 
lights, you are not permitted to pass the school bus and 
should be prepared to stop. Stop behind the school bus 
when the school bus stops and its stop arm is extended. 
Stop no closer than 15 feet from the rear of the bus, and 
remain stopped until the stop arm is retracted and school 
bus starts moving again. Proceed with caution.

Meeting the bus from the front: When meeting the bus in 
one of the opposite two lanes (or more), you do not need 
to stop, even if the bus has stopped with lights flashing and 
stop arm out. The bus is not permitted to load or unload 
children who must cross this type of roadway, unless there 
are official traffic control devices or law enforcement  
present. This is the only time you may pass a school bus 
that is stopped and has its stop arm extended.
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For more information, visit:
www.iowadot.gov/schoolbus
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Stopped School Bus Passing Laws in Iowa
www.iowadot.gov/schoolbus/requiredstopping.html

3 lanes or fewer: all vehicles must stop 4 lanes or more: 
vehicles approaching from the rear must stop

Iowa DOT ensures nondiscrimination and equal employment in all programs and 
activities in accordance with Title VI and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and other 
nondiscrimination statutes. If you need more information or special assistance for persons 
with disabilities or limited English proficiency, contact Iowa DOT Civil Rights at 515-239-
1111 or by email at civil.rights@iowadot.us.



Kadyn’s Law and increased  
penalties for violation 

In March 2012, Iowa 
Gov. Terry Branstad 
signed into law the 
“Keep Aware Driving 
— Youth Need School 
Safety Act,” also known 
as “Kadyn’s Law.” Kadyn 
Halverson was just 
seven years old when 
she was struck and 
killed by a motorist 
while attempting to 
cross the road to board 
a school bus. 

Kadyn’s Law includes several provisions aimed at reduc-
ing school bus-related injuries and fatalities: expanded 
school bus safety education; a school bus safety study; 
and increased penalties for failure to obey school bus 
warning lights and stop signal arms. 

For a first offense, the fine is at least $250 and could be 
as high as $675. The court may order imprisonment of 
up to 30 days in lieu of or in addition to the fine. A con-
viction also means a 30-day driver’s license suspension. 

A conviction for a second offense of the law will result in 
a fine of at least $315 and as much as $1,875, as well as 
a 90-day driver’s license suspension. The court may also 
order imprisonment up to one year.  

A third or subsequent offense will result in a fine of at 
least $315 and as much as $1,875, a 180-day driver’s 
license suspension and possibly imprisonment up to 
one year. 

An additional fine of $500 will be imposed for any 
offense causing serious injury to another person. The 
court may also order the Iowa Department of Transpor-
tation to suspend that person’s driver’s license for 90 
days in lieu of or in addition to this fine. 

Any offense causing death to another person will result 
in an additional fine of $1,000. The court may also order 
the Iowa DOT to suspend that person’s driver’s license 
for 180 days in lieu of or in addition to the fine.  

Kadyn Halverson

Scenario 1:  You are traveling on  
a two- or three-lane road 

Approaching the bus from the rear: When you see  
flashing red or amber warning lights, you are not permitted 
to pass the school bus and should be prepared to stop. Stop 
behind the school bus when the school bus stops and the 
stop arm is extended. Stop no closer than 15 feet from the 
rear of the bus, and remain stopped until the stop arm is 
retracted and school bus starts moving again. Proceed with 
caution.

Meeting the bus from the front: When you see amber 
warning lights flashing you must slow your vehicle to no 
more than 20 mph and be prepared to stop. Stop in front of 
the school bus when the school bus stops and its stop arm 
is extended. Remain stopped until the stop arm is retracted. 
Proceed with caution.
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