



Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority Alternative Funding Advisory Committee

Meeting Agenda

Friday, October 7, 2022

Iowa State Capitol, Room 102

- 10:00 am Welcome and introductions Scott Marler Director, Iowa Department of Transportation – Co-Chair and Kraig Paulsen, Director, Iowa Department of Revenue – Co-Chair
- 10:10 am Anticipated process/schedule Scott Marler Director, Iowa Department of Transportation – Co-Chair and Kraig Paulsen, Director, Iowa Department of Revenue – Co-Chair
- 10:30 am Overview of related Iowa DOT studies Kristin Haar, Public Transit Director, Iowa DOT
- 11:00 am Overview of DART funding and 2017 study Elizabeth Presutti, Chief Executive Officer, DART and Kent Farver, Chief Financial Officer, DART
- 11:30 am Discussion and next steps
- Noon Adjourn

Tentative next meeting:

Friday, November 18 at 10:00 am – Iowa State Capitol

Public website: <u>https://iowadot.gov/dartaltfunding</u> (to be activated the day of the meeting)

See back page for Advisory Committee authorizing language and membership



REVENUE

Advisory Committee Authorizing Language

Sec. 19. DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY ALTERNATIVE FUNDING ADVISORY COMMITTEE — REPORT.

1. The department of transportation shall establish a Des Moines area regional transit authority alternative funding advisory committee to study the most effective and efficient methods to increase funding for the Des Moines area regional transit authority that are alternative to an increase in property taxes.

2. The committee shall consist of five voting members and four ex officio, nonvoting members.

- a. The voting members of the committee shall be composed of all of the following:
 - (1) The director of the department of transportation or a designee.
 - (2) The director of the department of revenue or a designee.

(3) A Polk county supervisor appointed by the governor.

(4) A member of a city council or mayor of a city in Polk county in which the Des Moines area regional transit authority operates, appointed by the governor.

(5) A representative of the Des Moines area regional transit authority appointed by the Des Moines area regional transit authority.

b. The ex officio, nonvoting members of the committee shall be two state representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one by the minority leader of the house of representatives, and two state senators, one appointed by the majority leader of the senate and one by the minority leader of the senate.

3. Staffing services shall be provided by the department of transportation in coordination with the department of revenue.

4. The committee shall submit a report containing its findings and recommendations to the general assembly on or before December 15, 2022.

5. This section is repealed January 1, 2023.

Advisory Committee Membership

Voting

- Director Scott Marler, Iowa DOT, Co-Chair
- Director Kraig Paulsen, Iowa Department of Revenue, Co-Chair
- Supervisor Steve Van Oort, Polk County Board of Supervisors
- Councilperson Kelly Whiting, Ankeny City Council
- Mayor Paula Dierenfeld, City of Johnston (DART representative)

Ex-Officio

- Representative Brian Best, Iowa House District 12
- Representative Marti Anderson, Iowa House District 36
- Senator Brad Zaun, Iowa Senate District 20
- Senator Janet Petersen, Iowa Senate District 18