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Overview  
The Iowa Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Office of Motor Carrier Services compiled the 
following information to assist motor carriers in understanding the requirements, allowing permits or 
certificates to be obtained more quickly and to help motor carriers determine: 
 

• whether a for-hire motor carrier needs a motor carrier permit or a motor carrier certificate in Iowa 

• the type of for-hire authority the law requires a motor carrier to obtain; and 

• how to obtain the required permit or certificate. 

 
Who needs for-hire authority in Iowa? 
Any person or business that provides transportation for-hire in Iowa must obtain proper travel authority 
permits from Iowa and/or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). 

Any for-hire motor carrier is a person or business that provides transportation of persons or property in 
exchange for any form of compensation or payment.  

 
Intrastate commerce exists when the vehicle or cargo has not and will not travel across state lines into 
or through another state. 

Interstate commerce is transporting persons or property across a state line, including international 
boundaries, or within one state as part of a through movement that originates or terminates in 
another state or country. 

 

Intrastate Authority 
Motor carriers who transport persons or property for-hire from one point in Iowa to another point in Iowa 
(point-to-point) need intrastate travel authority. 

Intrastate for-hire transportation is divided into two different categories, depending on the type of service 
provided. 

Motor carrier permits are issued to intrastate for-hire motor carriers transporting one or more of the 
following categories: 

• Household goods 

• Liquid (nondairy) 
o Temporary permits are issued to Liquid (nondairy) motor carriers until the motor carrier completes the 

required Safety Education Seminar. 

• Liquid dairy 

• Property (other freight) 

Motor carrier certificates are issued to intrastate for-hire motor carriers transporting passengers in regular 
route and/or charter operations. 

o Temporary certificates are issued to motor carriers transporting sixteen or more persons including the driver 
until the motor carrier completes the required safety education seminar.  

The motor carrier is required to complete the safety education seminar within 6 months of application. 
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New Applicant Requirements 
The following chart explains the requirements of new applicants for a motor carrier permit or a motor carrier 
certificate. 

Most motor carriers operating for-hire are required to have an active USDOT number. If a motor carrier 
already has a USDOT number, enter the number in the appropriate space on the intrastate application.  

If a motor carrier does not have a USDOT number, the motor carrier must complete and submit the online 
application at https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration prior to submitting the intrastate application, 
supporting document, and feed to the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services. 

 

 
 

Requirements 

Motor 
Carrier 
Permit 

Motor 
Carrier 

Certificate 

 
 

Comments 

Active USDOT Number   An active USDOT Number is not 
required for taxicab services 

Application    

Application fee ($150)    

Safety self-certification    

Insurance (LPD)    

Financial statement   Only applicable motor carriers of 
liquid 
nondairy products and regular- route 

 Safety seminar ($200)   Only applicable motor carriers of 
liquid 
nondairy products and regular- route 

 Tariff   Only applicable to motor carriers of 
household goods 

Please note there are requirements that must be met before a permit or certificate is issued for 
all the above.  

 

 

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration
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Application 
All motor carriers transporting persons or property for-hire must file an Iowa Application for Intrastate Motor 
Carrier Permit/Certificate (Iowa DOT form 441052). A copy of the application can be obtained online at 
https://iowadot.gov/mvd/motorcarriers.    
 
Name and Address  

Indicate the carrier name (i.e., corporation, partnership, or individual). If applicable, indicate the DBA name, 
“doing business as” name. The name on the application must have the exact same name and DBA, if 
applicable, as listed on the motor carrier’s MCS-150 on the FMCSA site. 

The following information must also be included on the intrastate application and must have the exact 
information as listed on the USDOT number: 

• Federal employee identification number (FEIN), if available, or a Social Security number (SSN). Motor 
carriers are strongly urged to obtain a FEIN from the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) for security purposes. 

• For more information on FEINs or to obtain a FEIN, go to the IRS website at: 
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers-eins 

• Business phone number. 

• Email address, or fax number if an email address is not available. 

 

https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/f/IowaApplicationforMotorCarrierPermitCertification
https://iowadot.gov/mvd/motorcarriers
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers-eins
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Property/Passengers Transported For-Hire 

Check the appropriate box on the intrastate application indicating whether property or passengers will be 
transported to determine the appropriate supporting documents needed and fees due. There are separate 
application fees for a motor carrier permit and a motor carrier certificate. If a motor carrier is hauling property 
other than household goods or liquid products, the appropriate box to check is “other property.” 

Mail, fax or email the completed application and supporting documents to The Office of Motor Carrier 
Services, P.O. Box 10382, Des Moines, Iowa 50306-0382, email to omcs@iowadot.us, or fax to 515-237-3225. 

Supporting Documents 

• Insurance. All for-hire motor carriers must maintain continuous insurance coverage. Evidence of liability 
and property damage (LPD) insurance on a signed Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property 
Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance, Form E, (hereinafter referred to as Form E) this should be filed 
once prompted to do so (via email) by The Office of Motor Carrier Services. This certificate is completed 
by the insurance company’s home office and filed with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services. 
Cargo insurance must be obtained, but no proof of cargo insurance is required to be filed with the Iowa 
DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Service. Federal insurance limits have been adopted as the minimum levels 
of insurance. Failure to maintain required insurance coverage will result in the suspension of the motor 
carrier permit or motor carrier certificate. A reinstatement fee of $150 must be paid, a reinstatement 
application, and Form E must be received in the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services before the 
permit or certificate can be reinstated. The minimum insurance limits are shown on the following page. 

Remember, a motor carrier’s Form E must show the exact same name as the intrastate application and 
FMCSA. The Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services will accept Form E filings via ARTS (iowdot.gov). 

• Safety self-certification. All motor carriers shall follow the safety regulations as stated in the Iowa Admin. 
Code r.761-520 concerning operation, maintenance and inspection of vehicles used in business 
(https://www.legis.iowa.gov/). Motor carriers shall sign a self-certification statement stating knowledge, 
understanding, and willingness to follow those safety regulations. The safety certification statement is 
located at the bottom of the intrastate application. 

• Financial statement. Intrastate applications for motor carriers of liquid (nondairy), or regular route 
passengers, must include a statement signed by an authorized agent of a lending institution or certified 
public accountant (CPA) attesting to financial capability. A financial certification statement is available 
online at https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/f/FinancialCertification. 

• Tariffs. Motor carriers of household goods must file tariff(s). All motor carriers of household goods shall 
maintain on file with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services a tariff stating the rates and charges 
that apply for the services performed under the permit. According to Iowa Administrative Code r 761-
524.15(1)v, a motor carrier must file tariffs with the motor carrier permit/ certificate application 
submitted to the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services or when a motor carrier submits updates to 
existing tariffs. Motor carriers transporting commodities other than household goods are NOT required to 
file a tariff with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services. If a motor carrier needs help preparing a 
tariff, contact the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services at 515-237-3268. A tariff must be filed, 
posted, and approved before a motor carrier’s permit can be issued. (See the tariff section of this booklet 
for what should be included in a tariff and how to set up a tariff). 

• Motor carrier USDOT Number. Most intrastate motor carriers operating for hire are required to have a 
USDOT number. If a motor carrier already has a USDOT number, enter the number in the appropriate 
space on the intrastate application. If a motor carrier does not have a USDOT number, the motor carrier 
must complete an MCSA-1 online application through the FMCSA at 
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration. 

mailto:omcs@iowadot.us
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/
https://iowadot.seamlessdocs.com/f/FinancialCertification
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.524.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.524.15.pdf
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration


08-2023    6 

Minimum Insurance Limits 

Public Liability (LPD) – for-hire motor carriers of passengers 
Any vehicle with a seating capacity of: 

• 16 passengers or more (including the driver) 
• 15 passengers or less (including the driver) 
• Taxicab Service (having a seating capacity of less than 7) 

 
 
$5,000,000 
$1,500,000 
$1,000,000 

Public Liability (LPD) – for-hire vehicle 10,000 lbs. GVWR and over 
1. Property (nonhazardous), includes tow track operations 
2. Hazardous substances, as defined in 49 Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) 171.8, transported in cargo tanks, portable 
tanks or hopper-type vehicles with capacities in excess of 
3,500 water gallons; or in bulk Division 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3 
materials; Division 2.3 – Hazard Zone A or Division 6.1 – 
Packing Group I-Hazard Zone A material; in bulk Division 2.1 
or 2.2; or highway route-controlled quantities of a Class 7 
material, as defined in 49 CFR 173.403. 

3. Oil listed in 49 CFR 172.101, hazardous waste, hazardous 
materials and hazardous substances defined in 49 CRF 171.8 
and listed in 49 CRF 172.101, but not mentioned in (2) above 
or (4) below. 

4. Any quantity of Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 material; any quantity 
of Division 2.3 – Hazard Zone A material or Division 6.1 – 
Packaging Group I – Hazard Zone A material; or highway 
route-controlled quantities of a Class 7 material as defined in 
49 CFR 173.403. 

 
$750,000 
$5,000,000 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$1,000,000 
 
 
 
$5,000,000 

Public Liability (LPD) – for-hire vehicle under 10,000 lbs. GVWR 
1. Any small freight vehicle under 10,000lbs. GVWR hauling 

commodities not subject to 1043.2(b)(2)(d). this includes tow 
truck operations. 

2. Any small freight vehicle under 10,000 lbs. GVWR hauling any 
quantity of Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 material; any quantity of 
Division 2.3 – Hazard Zone A material or Division 6.1 – 
Packing Group I – Hazard Zone A material; or highway route-
controlled quantities of a Class 7 material as defined in 49 
CFR 173.403 

 
$300,000 
 
 
$5,000,000 
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Fees 
The following fees apply to motor carriers transporting property under a permit and passengers under a motor 
carrier certificate (Iowa Code 325A.4) 
 

New Permit Application $150 

New Certificate Application $150 

Reinstatement of Permit or Certificate $150 

Name/Address Change $25 

Permit Update $25 

Tariff Update $10 

Mailed Duplicate Permit or Certificate $25 

 
(*Online Safety Education Seminar. Motor carriers of liquid (nondairy) and passengers (for vehicles designed 
to carry 16 or more, including driver), both charter and regular route are required to complete the online 
safety education seminar. The seminar is to be completed within 6 months of issuance of the motor carrier 
permit or motor carrier certificate. Temporaries will be issued for either permit or certificate once the 
application, supporting documents, and payment have been processed so the motor carrier will be able to 
conduct business until the safety education seminar requirement is completed. The seminars are administered 
online by the MVD Education and Outreach team. 

Exception: Passenger carriers who only operate vehicles that do not meet the definition of a commercial vehicle 
are exempt from paying the $200 seminar fee and attending the seminar. A certificate is issued to the 
passenger carrier limiting the operation to vehicles that do not meet the commercial vehicle definition. If a 
passenger carrier decides to start operating vehicles that would meet the commercial vehicle definition; the 
passenger carrier would first need to update their authority, pay the seminar fee, and be issued a new 
certificate without the exemption. Copies would need to be put in each of the motor carrier’s vehicles before 
operating. The motor carrier would be scheduled to attend a seminar within 6 months of application. 

 

Signature 
Both statements at the bottom of the application must be signed and dated by an authorized representative(s) 
of the company. 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/325a.4.pdf
mailto:mvd.edandoutreach@iowadot.us?subject=MCS%20Online%20Safety%20Education%20Seminar
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Credentials 
Upon receipt of the completed intrastate application, fees, and all supporting documents the Iowa DOT’s 
Office of Motor Carrier Services will issue the appropriate credential. The credential will be non-expiring and 
will only be reissued in the event of a change in the motor carrier’s authority or upon reinstatement after a 
suspension or revocation.  

Credentials will be emailed and will need to be printed and carried in each of the motor carrier’s vehicles. A 
copy of the credential should be kept in the carrier’s office. A separate credential will be issued for the motor 
carrier permit or certificate. Failure to carry and display the credential upon request is a violation in 
accordance with Iowa Administrative code r.761-524.4 (325A) and subject to penalty. 

 

Duplicate permit or certificate 
Any motor carrier in good standing requesting a duplicate credential will be issued a duplicate (via email) upon 
submission of an intrastate application and $25. 
 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.524.4.pdf
https://iowadot.gov/mvd/motorcarriers/Forms
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Name and/or Address Change 
Notification of name and/or address change must be made to the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services 
within 30 days of change. Name changes must be made and showing online with FMCSA prior to requesting 
the name change with the Office of Motor Carrier Services, name changes must also include a new Form E that 
matches the application submitted and the FMCSA site. Notification shall be made by submitting an intrastate 
application, a Form E containing the new information, and $25. An updated motor carrier permit or motor 
carrier certificate will be issued via email. The updated credential must be printed and carried in each of the 
motor carrier’s vehicles. A copy of the credential should be kept in the carrier’s office. 

 

Change of Ownership 
A complete change of ownership, including additions or deletions of partners, would necessitate a new motor 
carrier permit or motor carrier certificate. A new application, a Form E matching the name of the company and 
$150 fee must be submitted to the Office of Motor Carrier Services.  
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Vehicle Markings 
Intrastate vehicle markings 
For-hire:  

• Vehicles operating for-hire in intrastate commerce are required to mark the power unit with the 
operating motor carrier’s name and USDOT number. Motor carriers that operate only in Iowa in 
intrastate commerce and never operate interstate must also include the letters “IA” following the 
USDOT number. A motor carrier operating in both interstate and intrastate commerce must not 
include the letters “IA” following the USDOT number. USDOT numbers for intrastate for-hire motor 
carriers must be obtained by submitting the MCSA-1 online application at www.fmcsa.dot.gov.  

Interstate vehicle markings:  
• All commercial vehicles used in interstate commerce must be marked with the operating motor 

carrier’s name and USDOT number. The motor carrier is not required to mark the city and state of their 
principal place of business but may do so if desired. Interstate marking requirements apply to both for-
hire and private motor carriers. 

• If a vehicle displays more than one carrier name and/or USDOT number, the motor carrier responsible 
for the operation of the vehicle must be identified by the words “Operated By” preceding the name 
and USDOT number of the operating carrier. 

 

Suspension, Revocation, Reinstatement 
Failure to maintain the required levels of insurance and/or attend the required safety education seminar will 
result in suspension or revocation of the motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate. The suspension or 
revocation will be in effect until all requirements are met, the $150 reinstatement fee and, if applicable the 
$200 safety education seminar fee is paid, and a completed intrastate application is received by the Iowa 
DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services. Upon reinstatement, the previously issued credential may be used. If a 
new credential is needed, this can be requested through The Office of Motor Carrier Services. 

 

Hearing 
Administrative Rule 761-524.18 states a motor carrier whose permit or certificate has been suspended, 
denied, or revoked for reasons other than insurance may request a hearing by submitting a written request to 
the director of the Office of Motor Carrier Services within 20 days of the receipt of the notice to suspend or 
revoke. The request shall include, as applicable, the motor carrier’s name, permit or certificate number, 
complete address, and telephone number. 

 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
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Checklist 
Use the following checklist to be sure you have completed all the forms and requirements before your 
intrastate permit/certificate can be issued. 

• A USDOT number obtained by submitting the MCSA-1 online application at www.fmcsa.dot.gov.   
Note: The name on the FMCSA site should match the information on the Intrastate Application and the 
Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance Form E. 

• Application completed and signed. 

• Evidence of liability and property damage insurance on signed Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and 
Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance Form E ordered from your insurance company and 
submitted to the Office of Motor Carrier Services via e-filings. 

• Tariff submitted – household goods carriers only. 
• Applicable fees paid. 
• Safety self-certification signed and dated by applicant. 
• Financial statement – motor carrier of liquid (nondairy) and regular route passenger operations only. 

 

 

Tariff Filing for Intrastate Household Goods Carriers 
This information pertains only to intrastate motor carriers of household goods. Tariffs are required to be filed 
with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services. 

Tariffs must state the rates and charges that apply for the services performed under the permit. No motor 
carrier is permitted to charge, demand, collect or receive more or less compensation for the transportation or 
related service than specified in the rates and charges listed in the motor carrier’s tariff. Duplicate, 
discriminatory, or conflicting rates may not be published within the tariff. 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
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Title Page Setup and Contents 
The title (or first) page of every tariff and supplement must show the tariff number in the upper right-hand 
corner. The first tariff filed is labeled IA DOT No. 1, and subsequent tariffs are numbered consecutively. When 
tariffs are issued canceling a tariff previously filed, the Iowa DOT number that has been cancelled must be 
shown in the right-hand corner under the IA DOT number of the new tariff. 

Example: IA DOT No. 2  
Canceling 

IA DOT No. 1 

• Supplements to a tariff in addition to showing the IA DOT number of the tariff amended shall be 
numbered beginning with number 1, and such information shall be shown in the upper right-hand corner. 
Supplements shall also show in the upper right-hand corner the number of any previous supplements 
canceled, and the numbers of the supplements containing all changes made in the tariff. 

• The name of each household goods carrier must be the same as that appearing on its permit. If the 
household goods carrier is not a corporation and the trade name is used, the name of the individual or 
partners must precede the trade name. 

• A brief description of the territory in which, or points from and to which, the tariffs apply. 

• Date of issue and date effective. 

• Name, title and street address of household goods carrier or agent by whom the tariff is issued. 

 

Tariff Content and Sequence 
• Table of contents arranged alphabetically. 

• A complete index of all commodities, including the page number. No index needed in tariffs of less than 
five pages or if the rates are alphabetically arranged by commodities. 

• Explanation of all abbreviations, symbols and reference marks used in the tariff. 

• Table of rates. All rates must be explicitly stated in cents or in dollars and cents, per one hundred pounds, 
per mile, per hour, per ton or two thousand pounds, per truck load (of stated amount) or other definable 
measure. Where rates are stated in amounts per package or bundle, definite specifications of the 
packages or bundles must be shown, and ambiguous terms, rates, descriptions or plans determining 
charges will not be accepted. 

 

Tariff Changes 
All rates, charges and classifications that have been filed with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier 
Services must be allowed to become effective and remain in effect for a period of at least 30 days before 
being changed, canceled or withdrawn, unless otherwise authorized by the Iowa DOT’s Office of Vehicle & 
Motor Carrier Services. All tariffs, supplements and revised pages (including classifications) shall indicate 
changes from preceding tariff by use of the following symbols. 

(R) Denote reductions 

(A)   Denote increases 

(C) Denote changes, the result of which is neither an increase nor reduction 
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Posting Regulations 
Each household goods carrier must post and file at its principal place of business all of its tariffs and 
supplements. All tariffs must be kept available for public inspection. 

 

Power of Attorney 
When a household goods carrier desires to give authority to an agent to issue and file tariffs and supplements 
in its stead, a power of attorney in the form prescribed by the Iowa DOT must be used. 

When a household goods carrier desires to participate in tariffs issued and filed by another household goods 
carrier or its agent, a power of attorney using the form prescribed by the Iowa DOT shall be used in favor of 
such other household goods carrier. 

The original of all powers of attorney shall be filed with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services and a 
duplicate of the original sent to the agent or household goods carrier for whom the document is issued. 

Whenever a household goods carrier desires to cancel the authority granted an agent or another household 
goods carrier by power of attorney, a letter of revocation must be sent at least 60-days prior to the 
cancellation effective date to the Office of Motor Carrier Services. The Iowa DOT may authorize a lesser notice 
for good cause. Copies of the notice must also be sent by the carrier to all interested parties. 

 

Printing 
All tariffs and amendments must be in a book, pamphlet, or loose-leaf form. They must be plainly printed or 
reproduced. No alteration in writing or erasure shall be made in any tariff or supplement. 

 

Filing Date 
All changes to tariffs and supplements must be filed with the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services at 
least 30 days prior to the effective date, unless otherwise authorized. Tariffs or supplements issued in 
connection with applications for household goods carriers may become effective on the date permits are 
issued. 
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Copy to the Iowa DOT 
Household goods carriers or their agents shall transmit one copy of each tariff, supplement, or revised page to 
the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services at P.O. Box 10382, Des Moines, Iowa 50306, emailed to 
omcs@iowadot.us or faxed to 515-237-3268. 

 

mailto:omcs@iowadot.us
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Summary 
The requirements for obtaining a for-hire motor carrier permit or a motor carrier certificate for intrastate 
authority in Iowa is outlined in the preceding pages. All the requirements are based on Iowa Code Chapters 
325A and 327B and Iowa Administrative Codes: 524 and 529. If you have further questions, please contact the 
Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services at the following address or phone number. 

 

Iowa Department of Transportation 
Office of Motor Carrier Services 

P.O. Box 10382 
Des Moines, Iowa 50306 

Telephone: 515-237-3268 
Fax: 515-237-3225 

Email: omcs@iowadot.us  
 

For general enforcement questions, please visit Motor Vehicle Enforcement Contacts (iowadot.gov) for an 
interactive map with county specific contacts.  

 
If you have met all requirements necessary to obtain a motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate and 
wish to bring the documents into the Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services, staff may be able to process 
an application immediately, depending on the type of motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate 
requested. The Iowa DOT’s Office of Motor Carrier Services’ physical address is 6310 S.E. Convenience Blvd., 
Ankeny, Iowa 50021. 
 
Applications may be submitted by email, fax, mail or in person. 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 
  

mailto:omcs@iowadot.us
https://iowadot.gov/mve/Contact-us
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