

# DRIVING YOUR ATV OR UTV/ORV **ON IOWA PUBLIC ROADS AND STREETS**

# Know the Law. Ride Responsibly.

#### How to Drive on Public Roads

- Do not exceed 35 MPH.
- Driver must be age 18 or older with a valid driver's license.
- Do not drive while impaired or with open alcohol container.
- Headlight(s) must be on at all times.

## What is Required for the Vehicle

Slow-Moving Vehicle Sign

triangle and dark red

border that **must be** 

displayed on rear

personal use.

(lowa Code 321.383)

of vehicle for ag or

Reflective

sign with

an orange

- Proof of insurance.
  - Registered with Iowa DNR and sticker displayed on rear of vehicle.
  - Out-of-state vehicle must have an Iowa DNR nonresident user permit sticker.
- Functioning required equipment, including but not limited to: horn, mirrors, headlight(s), tail lights, and brake lights.
- Display slow-moving vehicle sign.

#### When and Where You Can Ride

- Operation allowed day or night.
- Roadway use allowed (except interstates and four-lane roads).
- Use state two-lane or county highways only on the most direct, accessible route to: an ATV/UTV/ORV park or trail, the nearest county road, an authorized city street, or your residence.
- Crossing multi-lane highways allowed only at intersections from authorized roads.

#### ATVs/UTVs and Iowa Law

ATVs/UTVs are regulated for use on roadways by Iowa code sections 321I and 321.234A. Always refer to the most current version of the Iowa Code for legal guidance.





# ATV vs. UTV/ORV: Key Differences

<b>ATV</b> (All-Terrain Vehicle)	<b>UTV/ORV</b> (Utility Task Vehicle) (Off-Road Utility Vehicle)
Handlebars	Steering wheel
1-2 riders straddle seat	2-6 riders sit inside bench or bucket seat
3,4, or 6 wheels	4 or 6 wheels

#### Exemptions for Ag Use on **Public Roads**

(Implements of Husbandry)

- No DNR registration required.
- No license needed if within 2 miles of farm. Class C license required if beyond 2 miles.
- Operation allowed only between sunrise and sunset.

## **Prioritize Your Safety**



Use a safety harness, if available.



MM1585 05/13/2025

# **IOWA CODE REFERENCES**

#### I. Non-Ag Operation Requirements

#### A. General Requirements:

- Driver's License: Valid license required (Iowa Code 321.234A(2))
- Insurance: Valid liability insurance (321.234A(2))
- Minimum Age: 18 years old (321.234A(2))
- Registration Decal: Shall be affixed on rear of vehicle (IA Admin Code 571-46.7; 321.234A(4))
- Required Equipment: As specified in Iowa Code Chapter 321 (321.234A(3))

#### **B. Lighting and Safety Equipment:**

- Headlamp(s): Must be illuminated at all times (321.384, 321.386)
- Horn: Required (321.432)
- Mirror: Required (321.437)
- Rear Lamp: Required (321.387)
- Signal Lamps: Required (321.404)
- Slow-Moving Vehicle Sign: Displayed on rear (321.383(2))
- Windows: Frontside windows and windshield shall not be excessively dark (321.438)

#### **C. Operational Guidelines:**

- Direct Crossing: Allowed on highways not part of the interstate (321.234A(f); 3211.10)
- Paved County Secondary Roads: Permitted if authorized by county or for direct access (321.234A(f); 3211.10(2-4))
- Road Use State Highways: Only on undivided, two-lane roads for direct access (321.234A(f); 3211.10(2-4))
- Road Use City Streets: Permitted if authorized by city or for direct access (321.234A(f); (3211.10(5))
- Road Use Unpaved County Roads: Operation allowed (321.234A(f); 321I.10(2-4))
- Speed Limit: Must not exceed 35 MPH (321.234A(2))

# **II. Ag Operation Exemptions**

#### **A. License Requirement Exemption:**

- Not required if used for farm purposes (321.176) (Note: Cannot operate if license is suspended, barred, or revoked.)
- 2-mile limitation for ag operations (IA Admin Code 761-605.3; 321.176)

#### **B. Operation Hours:**

• Only between sunrise and sunset - (321.234A(1))

#### **C. Registration Exemption:**

• Not required if used as an implement of husbandry - (321.234A)

#### **D. Speed Limit:**

• Must not exceed 35 MPH - (321.234A(2))