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Regulatory Analysis

Notice of Intended Action to be published: 761—Chapter 605
“License Issuance”

Iowa Code section(s) or chapter(s) authorizing rulemaking: 307.12(1)“j,” 321.189, 321.191 and
321.196

State or federal law(s) implemented by the rulemaking: lowa Code chapter 321A; section 4.1A as
enacted by 2025 Iowa Acts, Senate File 418; sections 142C.3, 252]J.8, 252]J.9, 307.12(1)*,” 321.1,
321.13, 321.176, 321.177, 321.178, 321.180 through 321.180B, 321.182, 321.184, 321.186, 321.188,
321.189, 321.191, 321.193 through 321.196, 321.198, 321.208, 321.210, 321.212, 321.215, 321J).4
and 321J.20; the REAL ID Act of 2005 (49 U.S.C. Section 30301 note) as amended by the REAL ID
Modernization Act, H.R. 133, Division U, Title X; and 6 CFR Part 37

Public Hearing

A public hearing at which persons may present their views orally or in writing will be held as
follows:

May 22, 2025 Microsoft Teams
10 to 10:30 a.m. Or dial: 515.817.6093
Conference ID: 478 923 77

Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this Regulatory Analysis, which
must be received by the Department of Transportation no later than 4:30 p.m. on the date of the public
hearing. Comments should be directed to:

Kasey Lee

6310 SE Convenience Boulevard
Ankeny, Iowa 50021

Email: kasey.lee@iowadot.us

Purpose and Summary

The purpose of this proposed chapter is to comply with provisions of the lowa Code and the
federal REAL ID Act, which require the Department to issue driver’s licenses to qualified applicants
and to administer REAL ID driver’s licenses in compliance with federal regulations.

Analysis of Impact

1. Persons affected by the proposed rulemaking:

® C(lasses of persons that will bear the costs of the proposed rulemaking:

There are no costs or fees associated with this chapter beyond what is required by the underlying
statute.

® C(lasses of persons that will benefit from the proposed rulemaking:

Persons seeking to obtain a driver’s license will benefit from these rules by knowing the eligibility
criteria and application process.

2. Impact of the proposed rulemaking, economic or otherwise, including the nature and
amount of all the different kinds of costs that would be incurred:
e Quantitative description of impact:


https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_ZjZjODQ5ODQtZGE4OS00N2RmLWFhY2ItYWY5NjI5OTU5ODA5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22a1e65fcc-32fa-4fdd-8692-0cc2eb06676e%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%220a0b5691-4cd7-4825-a86d-69aefc0d9b11%22%7d
mailto:kasey.lee@iowadot.us
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There are no additional quantitative impacts that were not already anticipated as a result of the
underlying statute.

® Qualitative description of impact:

Reorganizing, streamlining, and reducing redundancy in the chapter will create a positive impact
by producing a more user-friendly version of information that customers rely on for understanding
how to obtain a driver’s license.

3. Costs to the State:

e Implementation and enforcement costs borne by the agency or any other agency:

There are no additional implementation or enforcement costs in the proposed rules that were not
already required as a result of the underlying statute.

e Anticipated effect on state revenues:

There are no anticipated effects on state revenues beyond those of the underlying statute.

4. Comparison of the costs and benefits of the proposed rulemaking to the costs and
benefits of inaction:

The benefit of the proposed rules is consistency and transparency on the processes and
requirements for obtaining a driver’s license.

The cost of inaction is the inability for qualified applicants to understand quickly and efficiently
what is required to obtain a driver’s license.

There is no benefit of inaction.

5. Determination whether less costly methods or less intrusive methods exist for achieving
the purpose of the proposed rulemaking:
There are no less costly or less intrusive methods to achieve the purpose of the proposed rules.

6. Alternative methods considered by the agency:

e Description of any alternative methods that were seriously considered by the agency:

The Department did not consider alternatives for the proposed rules. The Department is required
by the lowa Code to establish the procedures for issuing driver’s licenses.

e Reasons why alternative methods were rejected in favor of the proposed rulemaking:

Not applicable.

Small Business Impact

If the rulemaking will have a substantial impact on small business, include a discussion of
whether it would be feasible and practicable to do any of the following to reduce the impact of
the rulemaking on small business:

e [FEstablish less stringent compliance or reporting requirements in the rulemaking for small
business.

e [FEstablish less stringent schedules or deadlines in the rulemaking for compliance or reporting
requirements for small business.

e (onsolidate or simplify the rulemaking’s compliance or reporting requirements for small
business.

e [FEstablish performance standards to replace design or operational standards in the rulemaking
for small business.

e Exempt small business from any or all requirements of the rulemaking.

If legal and feasible, how does the rulemaking use a method discussed above to reduce the
substantial impact on small business?
There is no impact on small business.

Text of Proposed Rulemaking
ITEm 1. Rescind 761—Chapter 605 and adopt the following new chapter in lieu thereof:
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CHAPTER 605
LICENSE ISSUANCE

761—605.1(307,321) Information.

605.1(1) Scope. This chapter applies to the issuance of all lowa driver’s licenses. Additional
information on the issuance of a commercial driver’s license or a commercial learner’s permit is given
in 76 1—Chapter 607.

605.1(2) Information and location. Applications, forms and information concerning driver’s
licenses are available at any driver’s license service center. Assistance is also available by mail from
Motor Vehicle Division, lowa Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 9204, Des Moines, lowa
50306-9204; by telephone at 515.244.8725; by facsimile at 515.237.1837; or on the department’s
website at www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/Fees-and-license-type#54672687-non-commercial-
drivers-license.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1)“” and 321.174.

761—605.2(307,321) Definitions. The definitions in Iowa Code section 321.1 and the following
definitions apply to this chapter.

“Interstate or freeway driving” means fully and partially controlled access roads with a speed
limit of 65 miles per hour or more for the purposes of this chapter.

“License” means “driver’s license” as defined in lowa Code section 321.1(20A) unless the context
otherwise requires.

“Medical report” means a report from a qualified medical professional attesting to a person’s
physical or mental capability to operate a motor vehicle safely. The report should be submitted on
Form 430031. In lieu of Form 430031, a report signed by a qualified medical professional on the
qualified medical professional’s letterhead may be accepted if it contains all the information specified
on Form 430031.

“Nearby” in lowa Code section 321.176(2) means a distance of not more than two miles.

“Qualified medical professional” means a person licensed as a physician under lowa Code chapter
148, a person licensed as an advanced registered nurse practitioner under lowa Code chapter 152 and
licensed with the board of nursing or a person licensed as a physician assistant under lowa Code
chapter 148C, when practicing within the scope of the person’s professional licensure.

“Temporarily present in this state” means a person who has temporary lawful status as defined in
6 CFR Section 37.3 effective January 1, 2024.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1) “/, ” 321.1 and 321.176.

761—605.3(252J,307,321) Persons not to be licensed.

605.3(1) The department will not knowingly issue a license to any person who:

a. Isineligible for licensing.

b.  Is unable to operate a motor vehicle safely because of a physical or mental disability until that
person submits a medical report or vision report stating that the person is physically and mentally
capable of operating a vehicle safely and passes the applicable examinations if required under 761—
Chapter 604 or 607.

c¢. Has been specifically adjudged incompetent pursuant to lowa Code chapter 229 on or after
January 1, 1976, including anyone admitted to a mental health facility prior to that date and not
released until after, until the department receives specific adjudication that the person is competent. A
medical report stating that the person is physically qualified to operate a motor vehicle safely is also
required.

d.  Suffers from syncope of any cause, any type of periodic or episodic loss of consciousness, or
any paroxysmal disturbances of consciousness, including but not limited to epilepsy, until that person


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.607.pdf
http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/Fees-and-license-type#54672687-non-commercial-drivers-license
http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/Fees-and-license-type#54672687-non-commercial-drivers-license
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.174.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.176.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/148.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/152.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/148C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.176.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.604.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.607.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229.pdf
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has not had an episode of loss of consciousness or loss of voluntary control for six months and then
only upon receipt of a medical report favorable toward licensing.

(1) If a medical report indicates a pattern of only syncope, the department may license without a
six-month episode-free period after favorable recommendation by the medical advisory board.

(2) If a medical report indicates a pattern of such episodes only when the person is asleep or is
sequestered for sleep, the department may license without a six-month episode-free period.

(3) If an episode occurs when medications are withdrawn by a qualified medical professional, but
the person is episode-free when placed back on medications, the department may license without a
six-month episode-free period with a favorable recommendation from a neurologist.

(4) If a medical report indicates the person experienced a single nonrecurring episode, the cause
has been identified, the qualified medical professional is not treating the person for the episode or a
contributing health condition and the qualified medical professional believes the episode is unlikely to
recur, the department may license without the six-month episode-free period with a favorable
recommendation from a qualified medical professional. As used in this subparagraph, a “single
nonrecurring episode” means an incident that is not caused by a health condition and there is no
history of prior episodes or a health condition that may cause such an episode.

e. Must wear bioptic telescopic lenses to meet the visual acuity standard required for a license.

/- Is the named person on a certificate of noncompliance that has been received from child
support services, until the department receives a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance or
unless an application has been filed pursuant to lowa Code section 252J.9.

605.3(2) When a medical report is required, a license will be issued only if the report indicates
that the person is qualified to operate a motor vehicle safely. The department may submit the report to
the medical advisory board for an additional opinion.

605.3(3) When the department receives evidence that an lowa licensed driver has been adjudged
incompetent or is not physically or mentally qualified to operate a motor vehicle safely, the
department will suspend the license for incapability, as explained in rule 761—615.14(321), or deny
further licensing, as explained in rule 761—615.4(321).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 252J.8, 252J.9, 307.12(1)%,” 321.13,
321.177,321.186, 321.193, 321.210 and 321.212.

761—605.4(142C,321) Contents of license. In addition to the information specified in lowa Code
section 321.189(2), the following information will be shown on a driver’s license.

605.4(1) Name. The licensee’s full legal name will be listed as established according to 761—
subrules 601.5(1) and 601.5(5) and will conform to the requirements of 761—subrule 601.1(2).

605.4(2) Current residential address. The licensee’s current residential address will be listed as
established according to the requirements of 761—subrule 601.1(6) and 761—subrule 601.5(3).

605.4(3) Physical description. The physical description of the licensee on the face of the driver’s
license will include the following as established according to the requirements of
761—subrule 601.1(5):

a. The licensee’s eye color using these abbreviations: Blk-black, Blu-blue, Bro-brown, Dic-
dichromatic, Gry-gray, Grn-green, Haz-hazel, Pnk-pink and Unk-unknown.

b.  The licensee’s height in feet and inches.

605.4(4) Date of birth. The licensee’s date of birth will be listed as established according to 761
—subrules 601.5(1) and 601.5(6).

605.4(5) Sex. The licensee’s sex designation will be identical to the sex designation listed on the
identity document submitted under rule 761—601.5(321).

605.4(6) REAL ID markings.

a. A driver’s license that is issued as a REAL ID driver’s license as defined in rule
761—601.7(321) will include a security marking as required by 6 CFR Section 37.17(n) effective
January 1, 2024.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/252J.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.615.14.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.615.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/252J.8.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/252J.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.13.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.177.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.186.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.193.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.210.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.212.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.7.pdf
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b. A driver’s license that is not issued as a REAL ID driver’s license as defined in rule
761—601.7(321) is to include the following statement on the face of the card: “not for REAL ID act
purposes” as required by 6 CFR Section 37.71 effective January 1, 2024, and any subsequent guidance
issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

c¢. A driver’s license issued to a foreign national who is temporarily present in this state will
include the following statement on the face of the license: “limited term.”

605.4(7) Voluntary markings. Upon the request of the licensee, the department will indicate on
the driver’s license any of the following:

a.  That the licensee has a medical condition.

b.  That the licensee is a donor under the uniform anatomical gift law.

c.  That the licensee has in effect a medical advance directive.

d.  That the licensee is hard of hearing or deaf.

e.  That the licensee is a veteran.

(1) To be eligible for a veteran designation, the licensee must be an honorably discharged veteran
of the armed forces of the United States, the national guard or reserve forces in accordance with lowa
Code section 35.1. A licensee who requests a veteran designation may provide Form 432035, properly
completed by the licensee and a designee of the lowa department of veterans affairs, or the licensee’s
certification of release or discharge from active duty, DD Form 214, to the department indicating that
the licensee was honorably discharged from active duty. A licensee who was a member of the national
guard or reserve forces and who applies directly to the department must present a DD Form 214 that
indicates that the licensee was honorably discharged after serving for at least a minimum aggregate
(total) of 90 days of active duty service for purposes other than training. A licensee who was a
member of the national guard or reserve forces and who has a discharge document other than a DD
Form 214 must have the licensee’s eligibility for a veteran designation determined by a designee of
the Iowa department of veterans affairs and shall apply to the department for a veteran designation by
submitting Form 432035, properly completed by the licensee and a designee of the lowa department
of veterans affairs.

(2) The department may consult with and defer to the lowa department of veterans affairs
regarding what constitutes a properly completed DD Form 214 and veteran status in general.

/- That the licensee has autism spectrum disorder.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 4.1A as enacted by 2025 Iowa Acts, Senate
File 418; sections 142C.3 and 321.189; the REAL ID Act of 2005 (49 U.S.C. Section 30301 note) as
amended by the REAL ID Modernization Act, H.R. 133, Division U, Title X; and 6 CFR Part 37.

761—605.5(321) License class. The driver’s license class will be coded on the face of the driver’s
license using these codes:

Class A—commercial driver’s license

Class B—commercial driver’s license

Class C—commercial driver’s license

Class C—noncommercial driver’s license

Class D—noncommercial driver’s license, chauffeur

Class M—noncommercial driver’s license, motorcycle only

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.189.

761—605.6(321) Endorsements. The endorsements will be coded on the face of the driver’s license
and explained in text on the back of the driver’s license.

605.6(1) For a commercial driver’s license. The following endorsements may be added to a
Class A, B or C commercial driver’s license using these letter codes:

H—Hazardous material

P—Passenger

N—Tank


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.7.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/35.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/4.1A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/142C.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
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X—Hazardous material and tank

T—Double/triple trailers

S—School bus

605.6(2) For a commercial learner’s permit. The following endorsements are the only
endorsements that may be added to a commercial learner’s permit using these letter codes. All other
endorsements are prohibited on a commercial learner’s permit.

P—Passenger

N—Tank

S—School bus

605.6(3) For a Class D drivers license (chauffeur). The following endorsement may be added to
a Class D driver’s license using this number code:

3—Passenger vehicle less than 16-passenger design

605.6(4) Motorcycle endorsement. A motorcycle endorsement may be added to any driver’s
license that permits unaccompanied driving, other than a Class M driver’s license or a motorized
bicycle license, using the following letter code:

L—Motorcycle

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.1(8), 321.180 and 321.189.

761—605.7(321) Restrictions. Restrictions will be coded on the face of the driver’s license and
explained in text on the back of the driver’s license. For purposes of this rule, “CMV” means
commercial motor vehicle.

605.7(1) For all licenses. The following restrictions may apply to any driver’s license:

B—Corrective lenses required

C—Mechanical aid (as detailed in the restriction on the back of the card)

D—Prosthetic aid (as detailed in the restriction on the back of the card)

F—Left and right outside rearview mirrors

G—No driving when headlights required

H—Temporary restricted license or permit (work permit)

I—Ignition interlock required

J—Restrictions on the back of card

S—SR required (proof of financial responsibility for the future)

T—Medical report required at renewal

U—Not valid for 2-wheel vehicle

W—Restricted commercial driver’s license (CDL)

Y—Intermediate license

605.7(2) For a noncommercial driver’s license. The following restrictions apply only to a
noncommercial driver’s license:

8—Special instruction permit

9—Passenger restriction for intermediate license

Q—No interstate or freeway driving

605.7(3) For a commercial driver’s license. The following restrictions apply to a commercial
driver’s license:

E—No manual transmission equipped CMV

K—Intrastate only

L—No air brake equipped CMV

M—No Class A passenger vehicle

N—No Class A and B passenger vehicle

O—No tractor trailer CMV

V—Medical variance

Z—No full air brake equipped CMV


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
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605.7(4) For a commercial learner’s permit. The following restrictions apply to a commercial
learner’s permit.

K—Intrastate only

L—No air brake-equipped CMV

M—No Class A passenger vehicle

N—No Class A and B passenger vehicle

P—No passengers in CMV busV—Medical variance

X—No cargo in CMV tank vehicle

605.7(5) Special licenses. A numbered restriction will designate a special driver’s license using
these codes:

1—Motorcycle instruction permit

2—Noncommercial instruction permit (vehicle less than 16,001 gross vehicle weight rating)

3—Commercial learner’s permit

5—Motorized bicycle license

6—Minor’s restricted work license

7—Special minor’s restricted license

605.7(6) Additional information.

a. Recall of current licensees. Based on information disclosed by the applicant to the
department, or the department’s knowledge of a licensee’s physical or mental condition, the
department may issue a restriction requiring a person to complete additional examination(s) or submit
additional information at a specified time to retain a valid license. The department may require a
medical report to be submitted. The department will send Form 430511 as a reminder to submit the
requested information or appear for examination.

b.  Loss of consciousness or voluntary control.

(1) If a person is licensed pursuant to subparagraph 605.3(1)“d”’(1), “d”(2) or “d”(3), the
department will issue the first driver’s license following an episode of loss of consciousness or
voluntary control with a restriction stating that a medical report is required in six months.

(2) If this medical report shows that the person has been free of an episode of loss of
consciousness or voluntary control since the previous medical report and the report recommends
licensing, the department will issue a duplicate driver’s license with a restriction requiring a medical
report in two years or at renewal if the license expires in less than two years. At each renewal
accompanied by a favorable medical report, the department will issue a two-year driver’s license with
the same restriction.

(3) The department may remove the medical report requirement and issue a full-term driver’s
license. Consideration for removal of the requirement may include but is not limited to the following
criteria:

1. Recommendation by a qualified medical professional.

2. The latest medical information on file with the department indicates that either of the
following are true:

e The person has not had an episode of loss of consciousness or voluntary control and has not
been prescribed medications to control such episodes during the 24-month period immediately
preceding application for a license.

® The person has not had an episode of loss of consciousness or voluntary control during the ten-
year period immediately preceding application for a license.

¢.  Financial responsibility. When a person is required under lowa Code chapter 321A to have
future proof of financial responsibility on file, the license restriction will read: “SR required.” The
license will be valid only for the operation of motor vehicles covered by the class of license issued and
by the proof of financial responsibility filed.

d.  Vision restriction. Restrictions relating to vision are addressed in 761—Chapter 604.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.604.pdf
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This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 321A and sections 321.177, 321.178,
321.180 through 321.180B, 321.186, 321.188, 321.189, 321.193, 321.194, 321.215, 321J.4 and
321J.20.

761—605.8(321) Credential term for a foreign national temporarily present in this state. A
driver’s license or nonoperator’s identification card issued to a person who is a foreign national who is
temporarily present in this state shall be issued only for the length of time the person is authorized to
be present in the United States as verified by the department, not to exceed two years, pursuant to 6
CFR Section 37.21 effective January 1, 2024. However, if the person’s lawful status has no expiration
date, the driver’s license will be issued for a period of no longer than one year.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 321.196; the REAL ID Act of 2005 (49
U.S.C. Section 30301 note) as amended by the REAL ID Modernization Act, H.R. 133, Division U,
Title X; and 6 CFR Part 37.

761—605.9(307,321) Fees for driver’s licenses. Fees for driver’s licenses are specified in lowa Code
section 321.191 and this chapter. A license fee may be paid by cash, check, credit card, debit card,
money order or an escrow account if approved by the department.

605.9(1) If the payment is by check, the check shall be for the exact amount of the fee and
payable to: Treasurer, State of lowa. An exception may be made when a traveler’s check is presented.

605.9(2) One payment method may be used to pay fees for several persons, such as members of
a family or employees of a business firm. One payment method may pay all fees involved, such as the
license fee and the reinstatement fee.

605.9(3) An applicant who is on federal active duty or state active duty, a veteran with a
permanent service-connected disability rating of 100 percent or a veteran who was issued an
honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions is eligible for a waiver of the
fees for a driver’s license as provided in lowa Code section 321.191. An eligible applicant may qualify
for more than one fee waiver.

a. An applicant may provide proof of eligibility for the fee waiver to the department in one of
the following ways as applicable to the applicant’s active duty, veteran or disability status:

(1) An active duty service member is to present an unexpired Armed Forces of the United States
Geneva Conventions identification card, also known as a common access card (CAC), issued by the
U.S. Department of Defense under 32 CFR Part 161. A federal or state military member who is a
reservist may instead present an unexpired Uniformed Services identification card (USID) issued by
the U.S. Department of Defense under 32 CFR Part 161 indicating a reserve affiliation.

(2) An applicant with a permanent service-connected disability rating of 100 percent is to present
proof that the applicant is the subject of a certification of disability of 100 percent from the U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs.

(3) An applicant who has been discharged from military service is to present certification of
release or discharge from active duty, DD Form 214, indicating that the applicant received an
honorable discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions.

b. An applicant who qualifies for the fee waiver under subparagraph 605.9(3)“a”(2) or
761—subparagraph 604.10(3) “a ”(3) or both subparagraphs is to submit proof of eligibility only once
unless the proof is invalid or not accepted by the department.

¢.  An applicant who qualifies for the fee waiver under subparagraph 605.9(3) “a”(2) or “a”(3)
or both subparagraphs, who has presented proof of eligibility to the department during a previous
license issuance transaction and who is otherwise eligible under subrule 605.15(6) or 605.15(7) to
renew the applicant’s driver’s license electronically will be waived from the applicable fees during the
electronic renewal. An applicant who qualifies under subparagraph 605.9(3) “a (1) will not receive
the applicable fee waivers if the applicant chooses to renew the driver’s license electronically under
subrule 605.15(6) or 605.15(7).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1) “f” and 321.191.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.177.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.196.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.191.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.191.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.604.10.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.191.pdf
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761—605.10(307,321) Duplicate license.

605.10(1) Lost, stolen or destroyed license. Prior to replacing a valid license that is lost, stolen or
destroyed, the department will verify the licensee’s full legal name, date of birth and social security
number and collect the replacement fee. A licensee subject to 761—paragraph 601.5(2)“h” shall
provide the applicant’s U.S. Customs and Immigration Services number, which must be verified by
the department. The department may investigate or require additional information as may be
reasonably necessary to determine that the licensee’s identity matches the identity of record and will
not issue the replacement license if the licensee’s identity is questionable, cannot be determined or
otherwise does not match the identity of record.

605.10(2) Voluntary replacement. The department will issue a duplicate of a valid license to an
eligible licensee if the license is surrendered to the department and the replacement fee is paid.
Voluntary replacement includes but is not limited to:

a. Replacement of a damaged license.

b.  Replacement to change the current residential address on a license.

c¢. Replacement to change the name on a license.

d.  Replacement to change the date of birth on a license.

e. Issuance of a license without the words “under 21” to a licensee who is 21 years of age or
older.

f Issuance of a license without the words “under 18” to a licensee who is 18 years of age or
older. (If the licensee is under 21 years of age, the words “under 21 will replace the words “under
18.”)

g. Issuance of a noncommercial driver’s license to an eligible person who has been disqualified
from operating a commercial motor vehicle.

h.  Replacement of a valid license before its expiration date to obtain a license that may be
accepted for federal identification purposes under 6 CFR Part 37 effective January 1, 2024 (a REAL
ID driver’s license).

i.  Replacement to add a veteran designation to the license.

605.10(3) Replacement upon attaining the age of 21. A licensee, upon attaining the age of 21,
who is otherwise eligible for a driver’s license is eligible to electronically apply for a replacement
driver’s license under this rule for the unexpired months of the license, regardless of whether the most
recent issuance occurred electronically.

a. Except for the requirements in subparagraphs 605.15(6) “a (1) and (2), the licensee must
meet the eligibility requirements listed in paragraph 605.15(6)“a” or 605. 15(7) “a” to replace the
license electronically in addition to the following criteria:

(1) The licensee must be at least 21 years old.

(2) The licensee must currently hold a driver’s license marked “under 21” as provided in lowa
Code section 321.189.

b. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, the department may
accept an electronic replacement application if the licensee seeks replacement of a special instruction
permit or a license with a single “J” restriction accompanied by a “9” restriction.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1)*j,” 321.13, 321.189, 321.195 and
321.208; the REAL ID Act of 2005 (49 U.S.C. Section 30301 note) as amended by the REAL ID
Modernization Act, H.R. 133, Division U, Title X; and 6 CFR Part 37.

n i

761—605.11(307,321) Address changes.

605.11(1) A licensee’s duty to notify the department of a change in the licensee’s mailing
address pursuant to lowa Code section 321.182 shall occur by one of the following methods:

a.  Submitting the address change to the address listed in subrule 605.1(2) using Form 430012 or
a written and signed statement listing the licensee’s full name, date of birth, driver’s license number
and new mailing address.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.13.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.195.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.208.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.182.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.1.pdf
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b. Completing the address change on the department’s website at www.iowadot.gov/mvd/
driverslicense/changes-or-corrections.

¢.  Appearing in person to change the mailing address at any driver’s license service center.

605.11(2) Parents or legal guardians may provide written notice of a mailing address change on
behalf of the person’s minor children.

605.11(3) The department may use U.S. Postal Service address information to update the
department’s address records.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1) 7, ” 321.182 and 321.184.

761—605.12(307,321) License extension.

605.12(1) Six-month extension. An lowa resident may apply for a six-month extension of a
noncommercial license if the licensee meets all of the following criteria:

a. Has avalid license.

b.  Is eligible for further licensing.

c. Istemporarily absent from lowa or is temporarily incapacitated at the time for renewal.

605.12(2) Procedure. Acceptable methods to apply for an extension by an eligible licensee
include submitting Form 430027 to the department or to a driver’s license service center or applying
by letter to the address in subrule 605.1(2).

a. A six-month extension will be added to the expiration date of the license. When the licensee
appears to renew the license, the expiration date of the renewed license will be computed from the
expiration date of the original license, notwithstanding the extension.

b.  The department will allow only two six-month extensions.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1)“/” and 321.196.

761—605.13(307,321) Military extension.

605.13(1) Application. A person who qualifies for a military extension of a valid license under
Iowa Code section 321.198 and who wishes to have a record of the person’s military service extension
recorded in the department’s computerized issuance system shall apply to the department by
presenting the person’s unexpired CAC or by submitting Form 430081 signed by the person’s
commanding officer to verify the military service and accompanied by a copy of the person’s CAC or
current active duty orders to the address in subrule 605.1(2). Upon approval, the department will
update the department’s electronic records with the person’s military exception status and issue the
person a letter explaining the provisions of lowa Code section 321.198 regarding military extensions.

605.13(2) Renewal of license after military extension. When an applicant renews a license after a
military extension, the department may require the applicant to provide documentation of both the
military service and the date of separation from military service. In accordance with Iowa Code
section 321.198(1) “b, ” the applicant is to pay all applicable fees to renew the license. The applicant
may also be waived from the applicable knowledge or driving skills examination in accordance with
the provisions of 761—paragraphs 604.21(2)“c” and 604.31(2) “e” and 761—subrules 607.27(5) and
607.28(6).

605.13(3) Reinstatement after sanction. A person with a military extension whose license has
been canceled, suspended or revoked shall comply with the requirements of rule
761—615.24(321,321A,3211]) to reinstate the license.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1)“/” and 321.198.

761—605.14(321) Fee adjustment for upgrading license. The fee to upgrade a driver’s license will
be computed on a full-year basis. The fee is charged for each year or part of a year between the date of
the change and the expiration date on the license.

605.14(1) The fee to upgrade a driver’s license from one class to another is determined by
computing the difference between the current license fee and the new license fee as follows:

a.  Converting noncommercial Class C to Class D—$4 per year of new license validity.


http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/changes-or-corrections
http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/changes-or-corrections
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.182.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.184.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.196.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.198.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.198.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.198.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.604.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.604.31.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.27.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.28.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.615.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.198.pdf
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b.  Converting Class M to Class D with a motorcycle endorsement—3$4 per year of new license
validity.

c¢.  Converting Class M to noncommercial Class C with a motorcycle endorsement—3$2 one-time
fee.

605.14(2) The fee to add a privilege to a driver’s license is computed per year of new license
validity as follows:

Noncommercial Class C

(full privileges from a restricted Class C) $4 per year
Motorized bicycle $4 per year
Minor’s restricted license $4 per year
Special minor’s restricted license $4 per year
Motorcycle instruction permit $2 per year
Motorcycle endorsement $2 per year

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.189 and 321.191.

761—605.15(307,321) License renewal.

605.15(1) A licensee who wishes to renew a driver’s license is to apply to the department and, if
required, pass the appropriate examination.

605.15(2) A valid noncommercial license may be renewed within 180 days before the expiration
date. The department for good cause may renew a noncommercial license earlier, except the
department will not renew a REAL ID driver’s license issued under rule 761—601.7(321) earlier than
180 days before the expiration date if such a renewal would result in noncompliance under 6 CFR
Section 37.5(a) effective January 1, 2024.

605.15(3) If the licensee’s current residential address, name or date of birth has changed since
the previous license was issued, the licensee shall:

a. Notify the department to establish the current residential address.

b.  Comply with the requirements of 761—subrule 601.5(5) to establish a name change.

c¢. Comply with the requirements of 761—subrule 601.5(6) to establish a change of date of
birth.

605.15(4) A licensee who has not previously been issued a license that may be accepted for
federal identification purposes under 6 CFR Part 37 effective January 1, 2024 (a REAL ID driver’s
license), and wishes to obtain a REAL ID driver’s license upon renewal must comply with the
requirements of rule 761—601.5(321) to obtain a REAL ID driver’s license upon renewal.

605.15(5) A licensee who is a foreign national who is temporarily present in this state must
provide documentation of lawful status as required by 761—subrule 601.5(4) at each renewal.

605.15(6) An applicant who meets the eligibility criteria may apply for electronic renewal of a
noncommercial driver’s license.

a.  Eligibility criteria include the following:

(1) The applicant is at least 18 years of age but not yet 70 years of age.

(2) The applicant completed a satisfactory vision screen or submitted a satisfactory vision report
under 761—subrules 604.10(1) through 604.10(3) and updated the applicant’s photo at the applicant’s
last issuance or renewal.

(3) The applicant’s driver’s license has not been expired for more than one year.

(4) The department’s records show the applicant is a U.S. citizen.

(5) The applicant’s driver’s license is not marked “valid without photo.”

(6) The applicant is not seeking to change any of the following information as it appears on the
applicant’s driver’s license:

1. Name.

2. Date of birth.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.191.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.7.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.601.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.604.10.pdf
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(7) The applicant’s driver’s license is a Class C noncommercial driver’s license, a Class D
noncommercial driver’s license (chauffeur) or Class M noncommercial driver’s license (motorcycle)
that is not a special license or permit, a temporary restricted license or a two-year license.

(8) The applicant is not subject to a pending request for reexamination.

(9) The applicant does not wish to change any of the following:

1. Class of license.

2. License endorsements.

3. License restrictions.

(10) The applicant is not subject to any of the following restrictions:

G—No driving when headlights required

J—Restrictions on the back of card

T—Medical report required at renewal

8—Special instruction permit

Q—No interstate or freeway driving

b.  Notwithstanding any other provision of this subrule to the contrary, the department may
accept an electronic renewal application if the license contains a single “J” restriction accompanied by
a “7” or “Y” restriction.

c.  The department may deny electronic renewal and require the applicant to apply in person for
renewal at a driver’s license service center if it appears to the department that the applicant may have a
physical or mental condition that may impair the applicant’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle,
even if the applicant otherwise meets the criteria in paragraph 605.15(6) “a.”

d.  An applicant who has not previously been issued a driver’s license that is compliant with the
REAL ID Act of 2005, 49 U.S.C. Section 30301 note, implemented in 6 CFR Part 37 effective
January 1, 2024 (a REAL ID driver’s license), cannot request a REAL ID driver’s license by
electronic renewal.

605.15(7) Subject to the requirements in paragraphs 605.15(6)“c” and “d,” an applicant who
meets the following eligibility criteria may apply for electronic renewal of a commercial driver’s
license:

a. The applicant is otherwise eligible to renew a commercial driver’s license and meets the same
eligibility requirements for renewing a noncommercial driver’s license listed in paragraph 605.15(6)
“a” to renew the license electronically, except that numbered paragraph 605.15(6) “a”’(9)“3” does not
apply if the applicant is adding or removing the “K” restriction from the license at the time of renewal.

b.  The applicant is not subject to any of the following restrictions or endorsements:

H—Hazardous material

X—Hazardous material and tank

c. The applicant does not also hold a valid commercial learner’s permit under Iowa Code
section 321.180(2) as documented by restriction “3”” on the commercial driver’s license.

d.  An applicant self-certifying to non-excepted interstate driving has a valid medical certificate
on file with the department as required under rule 761—607.50(321).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1)“j,” 321.186, 321.188 and
321.196; the REAL ID Act of 2005 (49 U.S.C. Section 30301 note) as amended by the REAL ID
Modernization Act, H.R. 133, Division U, Title X; and 6 CFR Part 37.

761—605.16(307,321) Graduated driver’s license upgrades. An applicant subject to the graduated
driver’s license requirements under lowa Code section 321.180B who is otherwise eligible for a
driver’s license may electronically apply to upgrade the applicant’s driver’s license.

605.16(1) Except for the requirements in subparagraphs 605.15(6) “a (1) and “a”(2), an eligible
applicant must meet both the requirements listed in paragraph 605.15(6)“a” and the following
criteria:

a. The applicant was issued an intermediate license under lowa Code section 321.180B(2) or a

special minor’s restricted license under lowa Code section 321.194 in person.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.50.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.186.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.196.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.194.pdf
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b. The applicant is otherwise eligible to upgrade a license class privilege under lowa Code
section 321.180B or 321.194.

605.16(2) The requirements in paragraphs 605.15(6) “c” and “d” also apply to a license issued
under this rule.

605.16(3) If an applicant upgrades electronically under this rule to a driver’s license with an
eight-year expiration date, the applicant is ineligible to electronically renew the applicant’s full
driver’s license at the next renewal period.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 307.12(1) 7, ” 321.180B and 321.194.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/307.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.194.pdf

