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STATEMENT OF PROPERTY OWNERS’ RIGHTS 
 
It is important that the appraiser be aware of information that is distributed to property 
owners who may be impacted by highway projects in the State of Iowa. This 
information is routinely distributed at the various public meetings conducted by the Iowa 
Department of Transportation prior to the appraiser’s first contact with the owner. 
 
Iowa Code, Section 6B.2A, mandates that acquiring agencies provide a statement of 
rights to owners of record who may have all or part of their property acquired by 
condemnation. The Iowa Attorney General has adopted the following statement.  
 
Property owners have the right to: 
 
1. Receive just compensation for the taking of property.  (Iowa Constitution, Article I, 

Section 18) 
 
2. An offer to purchase, which may not be less than the lowest appraisal of the fair 

market value of the property.   (Iowa Code Sections 6B.45 and 6B.54) 
 
3. Receive a copy of the appraisal, if an appraisal is required, upon which the acquiring 

agency’s determination of just compensation is based not less than 10 days before 
being contacted by the acquiring agency’s acquisition agent.   (Iowa Code Section 
6B.45) 

 
4. An opportunity to accompany at least one appraiser of the acquiring agency who 

appraises the property when an appraisal is required.   (Iowa Code Section 6B.54) 
 
5. Participate in good faith negotiations with the acquiring agency before the acquiring 

agency begins condemnation proceedings.   (Iowa Code Section 6B.2B) 
 
6. A determination of just compensation by an impartial compensation commission and 

the right to appeal its award to district court if they cannot agree on a purchase price 
with the acquiring agency.   (Iowa Code Sections 6B.4, 6B.7 and 6B.18) 

 
7. A review by the compensation commission of the necessity for the condemnation, if 

their property is agricultural land being condemned for industry.   (Iowa Code 
Section 6B.4A) 

 
8. Payment of the agreed upon purchase price, or if condemned, a deposit of the 

compensation commission award before they are required to surrender possession of 
the property.   (Iowa Code Sections 6B.25, 6B.26 and 6B.54(11)) 

 
9. Reimbursement for expenses incidental to transferring title to the acquiring agency.   

(Iowa Code Sections 6B.33 and 6B.54(10)) 
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10. Reimbursement for certain litigation expenses: (1) if the award of the compensation 
commissioners exceeds 110 percent of the acquiring agency’s final offer prior to 
condemnation; and, (2) if the award on appeal in court is more than the 
compensation commissioner’s award.   (Iowa Code Section 6B.33) 

 
11. At least 90 days written notice to vacate occupied property.   (Iowa Code Section 

6B.54(4)) 
 
12. Relocation services and payments, if they are eligible to receive them, and the right 

to appeal the eligibility for and the amount of payments.   (Iowa Code Sections 
6B.42 and 316.9) 

 
 
The rights set out in this statement are not claimed to be a full and complete list or 
explanation of an owner’s rights under law. They are derived from Iowa Code Chapters 
6A, 6B and 316.  
 
The point of including this statement in the Appraisal Manual is to make the appraiser 
aware of what the property owner expects from you as a representative of the Iowa 
Department of Transportation, an eminent domain authority. 
  
We cannot emphasize it enough that you must give the property owner or their 
designated representative every reasonable opportunity to accompany you on the 
inspection of the property being appraised. (See Page 56, “Inspection of Subject 
Property”)  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 


