
 

 

 

Motor Vehicle Division Informational Memo # 20-07 

Termination of COVID-19 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency-Effect on Vehicle 

Transactions 
 

DATE:    June 26, 2020  

FROM:  Angel Robinson, Director, VMCS 
TO:   All Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services staff and Iowa County Treasurers and County Treasurer staff  

 

SUBJECT 

This informational memo explains the latest deadlines and application of penalties for customers based 

on the termination of Governor Kim Reynolds’s March 16 Proclamation on July 25, 2020 at 11:59 p.m.  

The proclamation suspended the following: 

• 30-day deadline to apply for new registration and certificate of title under Iowa Code 321.46.   

• 45-day deadline to acquire registration plates after the date of delivery of the vehicle to the 

purchaser from a dealer. 

• Expiration dates for registration renewals for certain customers.   

 

This memo was originally issued May 8, 2020 and was revised May 12, 2020 to correct and clarify certain 

information.  This memo was revised on May 26, 2020 to update information to implement the 

Governor’s May 26 Proclamation. This memo was revised on June 25, 2020 to update information to 

implement the Governor’s June 25 Proclamation.  This memo was revised on September 1 to update 

information on ARTS programming and clarify penalty months. Please note that the Governor’s June 25 

Proclamation states for these suspensions that “Iowans should not expect this suspension to be 

extended beyond July 25, 2020.” 

 

SUMMARY 

On March 17, Governor Reynolds issued a Proclamation of Disaster Emergency throughout the entire 

State of Iowa for Novel Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19).  This Proclamation had an effective date of March 

16 and was extended on April 20, April 27, May 26, and June 25. The Proclamation will terminate at 

11:59 p.m. on July 25, 2020, unless further extended. 

 

In response to questions we have received from both counties and customers, we are issuing this 

informational memo detailing how the proclamation and subsequent extensions will affect certain 

transactions that occur on and after the end date of the proclamation, namely, new registration and 

certificate of title transactions, acquiring registration plates, and registration renewals.   

 

The guidance in this memo is effective June 26, 2020. 

 
 

HELPFUL QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 

The following questions and answers will provide additional clarification for staff and customers.  
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HOW DID THE GOVERNOR’S MARCH 16 PROCLAMATION AFFECT NEW TITLE AND 

REGISTRATION TRANSACTIONS?  

The Governor’s Proclamation and subsequent extensions suspended part of Iowa Code § 

321.46, which states “The transferee shall, within thirty calendar days after purchase or transfer, 

apply for and obtain from the county treasurer of the person’s residence…a new registration 

and a new certificate of title.”  Therefore, the Governor’s Proclamation paused the 30-day 

deadline for certain customers for the duration of the Proclamation and subsequent extensions.  

This means that ARTS will show that certain customers have exceeded the 30-day period and 

calculate title and registration penalties for those customers where the penalties should be 

waived.  

 

 WHICH CUSTOMERS ARE AFFECTED BY THE SUSPENSION OF NEW TITLE AND REGISTRATION 

TRANSACTIONS AND HOW ARE THEY AFFECTED?   

Customers who purchased vehicles between February 13 and July 25 will have the title and 

registration penalties waived depending on the purchase date of the vehicle and the transaction 

date to pay title and registration.  Included in Appendix A is a chart that addresses each of these 

customers.   

 

The following is an example using Appendix A for a customer who purchased a vehicle on 

February 20:   

• Column 1 shows the purchase date of February 20.   

• Column 2 shows how many days the customer already had to title and register the vehicle 

prior to the Governor’s suspension of Iowa Code § 321.46.  This customer had 25 days.   

• Column 3 shows the last day the customer may title and register without penalty .  This 

customer has until July 31. 

• Column 4 shows the first date that the penalty can no longer be waived for a customer.  This 

customer can no longer have the penalty waived as of August 1.   

Please note that the chart in Appendix A has included the Iowa County Treasurers Manual guidance 

on computing time.  As stated in section 10, the first day is excluded and the last day is included for 

purposes of computing the 30-day period from the date of assignment of title.  As an example, a 

person who purchases a vehicle on February 14 has February 14 excluded from the date 

computation.  February 15 is the first day used to calculate the 30-day period, and 30 days from 

February 15 is March 16, the first day of the Governor’s proclamation.  Therefore, this customer has 

day 30 remaining to title and register the vehicle.     

Counties should not adjust the date of having received the title and registration application.  For 

example, a customer with a March birth month who submits the title and registration application in 

May should not have the application backdated to March to receive the birth month registration 

opportunity.   

 

WHICH CUSTOMERS ARE NOT AFFECTED BY THE SUSPENSION FOR NEW TITLE AND REGISTRATION 

TRANSACTIONS? 

A customer who purchased a vehicle on or before February 12 or on or after July 26 will not have 

the title and registration penalties waived. Appendix A includes these customers and identifies that 

they will not receive the penalty waiver.  A customer who purchased a vehicle on or before February 
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12 does not qualify for the penalty waiver because the 30-day deadline for this customer expired 

prior to the Governor’s Proclamation or any extension.  This customer will pay the title and 

registration penalties.   

A customer who purchased a vehicle on or after July 26 will not qualify for the penalty waiver 

because the Governor’s Proclamation expires at 11:59 p.m. on July 25. Iowa Code § 321.46 will 

operate as normal for transactions after that date.  If a customer does not acquire new title and 

registration within the normal 30-day period, the customer will pay the title and registration 

penalties.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT COUNTIES? 

Counties will see customers seeking to complete new title and registration transactions for whom 

ARTS has calculated the title and registration penalties.  For qualifying customers, the counties 

should waive the penalties.  Counties should use Appendix A to determine if a customer qualifies for 

the title and registration penalty waiver. 

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT ARTS?  

No programming is anticipated in ARTS to address this suspension.  The latest a customer would 

qualify for a title and registration penalty waiver is August 24.  Any design or testing to ARTS to 

change programming would exceed that date.  Therefore, ARTS will continue to calculate the title 

and registration penalties for all customers who exceed the 30-day period.   Any waiver will need to 

be manually changed.  A county may adjust this fee under fee detail in the transaction, with 

COVID19 as the option for an adjustment reason.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT VEHICLE DEALERS?  

Dealers will be responsible for submitting the title and registration transaction within the deadlines 

identified in Appendix A or will be assessed the title and registration penalties on the transaction.   

 

HOW DID THE GOVERNOR’S MARCH 16 PROCLAMATION AFFECT THE 45-DAY DEADLINE TO 

ACQUIRE REGISTRATION PLATES AFTER THE DATE OF DELIVERY OF THE VEHICLE TO THE 

PURCHASER FROM A DEALER? 

The Governor’s March 16 Proclamation and subsequent extensions suspended part of Iowa Code § 

321.25, which states “A vehicle may be operated upon the highways of this state without 

registration plates for a period of forty-five days after the date of delivery of the vehicle to the 

purchaser from a dealer if a card bearing the words ‘registration applied for’ is attached on the rear 

of the vehicle.”  Therefore, the Governor’s Proclamation paused the 45 -day deadline for certain 

customers for the duration of the Proclamation and subsequent extensions.  This means that certain 

customers will have an extended period of time before Iowa Code § 321.25 can be enforced against 

them.   

 

WHICH CUSTOMERS ARE AFFECTED BY THE 45-DAY SUSPENSION AND HOW ARE THEY AFFECTED?  

Customers who purchased vehicles between January 31 and July 25 will have an extended period of 

time to acquire registration plates after the date of delivery of the vehicle.  The expiration date will 

vary depending on the purchase date of the vehicle.  Appendix B shows the scenarios with these 
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customers.  If stopped by law enforcement, these customers may show that their 45 days to acquire 

plates was suspended by the Governor’s Proclamation.   

 

The following is an example using Appendix B for a customer who purchased a vehicle on February 

18.   

• Column 1 shows the purchase date of February 18.   

• Column 2 shows how many days the customer already had to title and register the vehicle prior 

to the suspension of Iowa Code § 321.25.  This customer had 27 days.   

• Column 3 shows the last day the customer may acquire plates without enforcement action.  This 

customer has until August 12 to acquire plates.  

• Column 4 shows the first date a customer is subject to enforcement action under Iowa Code § 

321.25.  This customer is subject to enforcement action on August 13.   

 

WHICH CUSTOMERS ARE NOT AFFECTED BY THE 45-DAY SUSPENSION? 

Customers who purchased a vehicle on or before January 30 are not affected under this provision of 

the Governor’s Proclamation.  This is because the 45-day deadline for these customers expired prior 

to the Governor’s Proclamation or any extension.  These customers will face enforcement as normal.   

 

Customers who purchased a vehicle on or after July 26 are not affected under this provision of the 

Governor’s Proclamation.  This is because the Governor’s Proclamation expires at 11:59 p.m. on July 

25 and Iowa Code § 321.25 will operate as normal for transactions after that date.   

 

WHAT IS THE PENALTY TO A CUSTOMER IF FOUND IN VIOLATION OF IOWA CODE § 321.25?  

Under Iowa Code § 321.98, a customer who operates a vehicle without valid registration plates is 

guilty of a simple misdemeanor punishable as a scheduled violation.  The exception is Iowa Code § 

321.25, which allows the customer 45 days to acquire registration plates after the date of delivery of 

the vehicle.  The Governor’s Proclamation gives certain customers additional time to acquire the 

registration plates.  If the Governor’s Proclamation does not apply to a customer, or the customer 

exceeds the additional time provided, enforcement action may be taken against the customer.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT COUNTIES?  

Counties should continue to encourage customers to attach their registration plates as soon as they 

are able.  Counties should continue to educate customers of the additional time to receive the 

registration plates before enforcement action can be taken.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT ARTS?  

No programming is anticipated in ARTS to address this suspension.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT VEHICLE DEALERS?  

Dealers will continue to be responsible for submitting the title and registration transaction in a 

timely manner so that a customer is not negatively affected by the 45-day deadline or any extension 

of the deadline.  Dealers remain subject to Iowa Code 321.70 for a vehicle that is delinquent at the 

time of acquisition.   
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HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT LAW ENFORCEMENT?  

Law enforcement is responsible for enforcing Iowa Code § 321.25 against any person who does not 

have the registration plate within the 45-day period.  We will provide the chart in Appendix B to our 

law enforcement partners but otherwise defer to law enforcement on enforcement of this provision 

in light of the Governor’s suspension.   

 

HOW WILL THE GOVERNOR’S MARCH 16 PROCLAMATION AFFECT REGISTRATION RENEWAL 

TRANSACTIONS? 

The Governor’s March 16 Proclamation and subsequent extensions suspended Iowa Code § 321.39, 

which states in relevant part “…every vehicle registration, registration card, and registration plate 

shall expire as follows: 1. For vehicles registered by the county treasurer, at midnight on the la st day 

of the registration year.  A person shall not be considered to be driving a motor vehicle with an 

expired registration for a period of one month following the expiration date of the vehicle 

registration.”   

 

This suspension applies to all customers whose registration renewals expired 60 days prior to the 

Proclamation and who expired during the Proclamation or any extensions.  Therefore, the 

Governor’s Proclamation paused the registration expiration and renewal period for certain 

customers for the duration of the Proclamation and subsequent extensions.  This means that certain 

customers will have an extended period of time to renew their registration before penalties are 

imposed.   

 

WHICH CUSTOMERS ARE AFFECTED BY THE SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION RENEWAL S AND HOW 

ARE THEY AFFECTED? 

Customers with registration expiration dates of January 31, February 29, March 31, April 30, May 31, 

and June 30 are affected by this suspension.  These customers will have an expiration date of July 31 

and a grace period for the month of August.  If a customer does not pay by or on August 31, the 

customer will pay the August penalty.  The legal effect of the Governor’s Proclamation is that these 

customers will never have to pay past penalties for February, March, April, May, June, or July.   

 

The following is an example using Appendix C for a customer with a registration renewal date of 

April 30.   

• Column 1 shows a registration expiration date of April 30, 2020.   

• Column 2 shows whether a January penalty applies.  Because the registration expiration date is 

after January, this column does not apply.     

• Column 3 shows whether, if the customer renews on or after September 1, the customer should 

pay penalties for February, March, April, May, June, and July.  The answer is no.  Because of the 

Governor’s proclamation, these penalties are waived.   

• Column 4 shows whether, if the customer renews on or after September 1, the customer should 

pay the penalty for August.  The answer is yes.  Because the Governor’s proclamation expires 

July 25, this customer has a grace period for the month of August to pay.  But this customer did 

not pay by August 31, and therefore will be assessed the August penalty.  
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IF THE CUSTOMERS AFFECTED BY THE SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION RENEWALS ALSO HAVE 

PERSONALIZED PLATES TO RENEW, WILL THE CUSTOMERS HAVE TO PAY THE RE-ISSUANCE FEE 

FOR THE PERSONALIZED PLATE? 

No, a customer who qualifies for the suspension of registration renewals will not owe the re -

issuance fee.  Iowa Administrative Code 761-401.2(3) states that a new application and a new 

issuance fee is required if a renewal is delinquent for more than one month.   

ARTS will identify these customers as having a delinquent renewal.  But these customers are not 

delinquent under the Governor’s Proclamation.  The customer should be charged a special plate 

renewal fee but should not be charged a special plate reissue fee.   

Counties should refer to the email sent from Sharon Gonzalez, ISCTA President, to all counties on 

Friday May 1, 2020 with further instructions on how to process this situation in ARTS.   

 

WHICH CUSTOMERS ARE NOT AFFECTED BY THE SUSPENSION OF REGISTRATION RENEWALS?  

Customers with a renewal date of December 31 are not entitled to a registration penalty waiver 

under the Governor’s Proclamation because the registration expired prior to the Governor’s 

Proclamation or any extension.  These customers will accrue penalties as normal.   

 

Customers with a renewal date of July 31 will not be entitled to a registration penalty waiver under 

the Governor’s Proclamation.  This is because the Governor’s Proclamation expires on July 25 and 

Iowa Code § 321.39 will operate as normal after that date.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT COUNTIES? 

We have worked with Iowa Tax & Tags and GovTech to calculate registration penalty waivers for 

these customers.  Counties should continue to encourage customers to pay registration as soon as 

they are able.  Counties should also continue to educate customers on their deadlines to pay 

without penalties or if customers are not entitled to the registration penalty waiver.  Please refer to 

Appendix C to determine this information.   

 

HOW WILL THIS SUSPENSION IMPACT ARTS?  

We have added programming in ARTS to permanently waive the monthly registration fee penalties 

for February, March, April, May, June, and July 2020 for eligible vehicles, as those waivers will exist 

in perpetuity.    

 

WHO WILL BE THE BEST CONTACT PERSON REGARDING QUESTIONS? 
Daniel Yeh 

Manager, Vehicle Services 
Daniel.Yeh@iowadot.us 

 

 

 

 
 

mailto:Daniel.Yeh@iowadot.us
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APPENDIX A: Deadline for County-Registered and Titled Vehicles to Apply for 

Title and Registration and Applicable Penalties 
Vehicle Purchase Date Day of cycle on  

March 16 (this day is 

repeated on July 26, 

which shifts to July 27 

because of the weekend) 

Last Day to Title 
and Register 

Without Penalty 

Date the County Can No Longer 
Waive Title and Registration 

Penalty 

On or before February 12 At least 30 days have 
passed 

0  Immediately 

February 13 30 July 27 (weekend) July 28 (weekend) 

February 14 30 July 27 (weekend) July 28 (weekend) 

February 15 30 July 27 (weekend) July 28 (weekend) 

February 16 29 July 27  July 28  

February 17 28 July 28 July 29 

February 18 27 July 29 July 30 

February 19 26 July 30 July 31 

February 20 25 July 31 August 1 

February 21 24 August 3 

(weekend) 

August 4 (weekend) 

February 22 23 August 3 

(weekend) 

August 4 (weekend) 

February 23 22 August 3 August 4 

February 24 21 August 4 August 5 

February 25 20 August 5 August 6 

February 26 19 August 6 August 7 

February 27 18 August 7 August 8 

February 28 17 August 10 
(weekend) 

August 11 (weekend) 

February 29 16 August 10 

(weekend) 

August 11 (weekend) 

March 1 15 August 10 August 11 

March 2 14 August 11 August 12 

March 3 13 August 12 August 13 

March 4 12 August 13 August 14 

March 5 11 August 14 August 15 

March 6 10 August 17 

(weekend) 

August 18 (weekend) 

March 7 9 August 17 
(weekend) 

August 18 (weekend) 

March 8 8 August 17 August 18 

March 9 7 August 18 August 19 

March 10 6 August 19 August 20 

March 11 5 August 20 August 21 

March 12 4 August 21 August 22 
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March 13 3 August 24 

(weekend) 

August 25 (weekend) 

March 14 2 August 24 

(weekend) 

August 25 (weekend) 

March 15-July 25 1 August 24 August 25 

July 26 to present 0 Standard 30-day 

requirement 

Standard 30-day requirement 
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APPENDIX B: Expiration Date for Temporary Plates Based on Governor 

Proclamation 

Vehicle Purchase Date Day of cycle on  
March 16 (this day is 

repeated on July 26) 

Last day to acquire 
plates without 

enforcement action 

First Enforcement Date 

On or before January 30 Suspension does not 

apply- enforcement 

action is proper 

Suspension does not 

apply- enforcement 

action is proper 

Suspension does not 

apply- enforcement 

action is proper 

January 31 45 July 25 July 26 

February 1 44 July 26 July 27 

February 2 43 July 27 July 28 

February 3 42 July 28 July 29 

February 4 41 July 29 July 30 

February 5 40 July 30 July 31 

February 6 39 July 31 August 1 

February 7 38 August 1 August 2 

February 8 37 August 2 August 3 

February 9 36 August 3 August 4 

February 10 35 August 4 August 5 

February 11 34 August 5 August 6 

February 12 33 August 6 August 7 

February 13 32 August 7 August 8 

February 14 31 August 8 August 9 

February 15 30 August 9 August 10 

February 16 29 August 10 August 11 

February 17 28 August 11 August 12 

February 18 27 August 12 August 13 

February 19 26 August 13 August 14 

February 20 25 August 14 August 15 

February 21 24 August 15 August 16 

February 22 23 August 16 August 17 

February 23 22 August 17 August 18 

February 24 21 August 18 August 19 

February 25 20 August 19 August 20 

February 26 19 August 20 August 21 

February 27 18 August 21 August 22 

February 28 17 August 22 August 23 

February 29 16 August 23 August 24 
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March 1 15 August 24 August 25 

March 2 14 August 25 August 26 

March 3 13 August 26 August 27 

March 4 12 August 27 August 28 

March 5 11 August 28 August 29 

March 6 10 August 29 August 30 

March 7 9 August 30 August 31 

March 8 8 August 31 September 1 

March 9 7 September 1 September 2 

March 10 6 September 2 September 3 

March 11 5 September 3 September 4 

March 12 4 September 4 September 5 

March 13 3 September 5 September 6 

March 14 2 September 6 September 7 

March 15 1 September 7 September 8 

March 16- July 25 0 September 8 September 9 

July 26- present 0 Standard 45-day 

deadline 

Standard 45-day 

deadline 
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APPENDIX C: Registration Renewal Deadline Based on Governor’s Proclamation 

Registration 

Expiration Date 

Should the 

customer pay the 

January penalty?  

If customer 

renews on or after 

September 1, 

should the 

customer pay the 
Feb-Mar-Apr-May-

June-July 

penalties? 

If customer 

renews on or after 

September 1, 

should the 

customer pay the 
August penalty?  

December 31, 2019 Yes Yes, standard 

penalties apply 

Yes, standard 

penalties apply 

January 31, 2020 NA No Yes 

February 29, 2020 NA No Yes 

March 31, 2020 NA No Yes 

April 30, 2020 NA No Yes 

May 31, 2020 NA No Yes 

June 30, 2020 NA No Yes 

July 31, 2020 NA No Yes 

August 31, 2020 NA NA Standard penalties 

apply 

 

 


