
 

 
 

Motor Vehicle Division Informational Memo # 20‐29 
Administrative Rule Updates for Electric Vehicle Fees 
 
DATE:   October 12, 2020   
FROM:  Sara Siedsma, Compliance Officer, MVD 
TO:    All Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services staff, Iowa County Treasurers and County Treasurer’s staff  
 
SUBJECT 
This informational memo explains updates to administrative rule chapters 761—400,  Vehicle 

Registration and Certificate of Title and 761—505, Interstate Motor Vehicle Fuel Licenses and Permits.   

 
SUMMARY 
The updates to these rule chapters aligns with changes to Iowa Code made during the 2019 legislative 

session to establish a special annual registration fee for an electric vehicle, including for a battery 

electric vehicle (BEV) or a plug‐in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV), that is in addition to the annual 

registration fee assessed based on a vehicle’s weight and value.   

 

There are three fee levels and three successive implementation dates for electric vehicles, depending 

upon vehicle type (BEV, PHEV or BEV/PHEV motorcycle) as demonstrated by the following table: 

Vehicle Type  January 1, 2020 Fee  January 1, 2021 Fee  January 1, 2022 

Fee 

BEV  $65.00  $97.50  $130.00 

PHEV  $32.50  $48.75  $ 65.00 

Motorcycle (BEV or PHEV)  $ 4.50  $ 6.75  $  9.00 

 

Additionally, the rules provide that the electric vehicle fee will apply to vehicles owned by nonresident 
members of the armed services if the nonresident is seeking to register a BEV or PHEV in Iowa under 
rule 761—400.32(321).  This is because the legislation did not authorize the department to waive 
electric vehicle registration fees for nonresident members of the armed services.   
 
The rules also provide that if multiple penalties for delinquent registration fees are assessed, such as if 
an applicant is delinquent on paying the regular annual registration fee and the electric vehicle annual 
registration fee, that the resultant penalty amounts will be added together first, and then the sum will 
be rounded to the nearest whole dollar. We will be revising IM 19‐27 to include more information on 
how the rounding works for multiple penalties, and will notify you when those changes have been 
added.  Finally, the rules provide that while there is no credit available for the unexpired portion of the 
electric vehicle annual registration fee, that fee will still be eligible for a refund under the provisions of 
rule 761—400.50. A refund is required in lieu of a credit to allow for the necessary accounting 
reconciliation. 
 
The proposed amendments to Chapter 505, relating to fuel permits and taxes for motor carriers, add 
definitions for “electric fuel,” “fuel supply tank,” and “hydrogen gallon” to conform with the legislation, 
which established new definitions for all those terms. The rules address how to determine electric 
vehicle fuel amounts and how to estimate kilowatt hours of electric vehicle used to determine tax 
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liability. These changes align with the new duty to compute and collect interstate motor fuel taxes on 
electric fuel.    
 
The rule amendments also incorporate a technical change striking the option to obtain a temporary fuel 
permit from a truck stop.  This is because truck stops are no longer designated by the department to 
issue temporary fuel permits.  
 
The administrative rule amendments are effective October 14, 2020. 
 
LINK TO ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/5178C.pdf  
 
CURRENT 

Current administrative rule chapters 761—400 and 761—505 do not address fees for electric vehicles or 

collection of fuel taxes on electric fuel. However, based on the 2019 legislative changes, we have already 

changed our processes to implement these new requirements. 

You may wish to review the previous informational memo (IM 19‐27) we issued when the 2019 

legislation became effective for more information about the background of the legislation.   

For internal DOT employees, you may find IM 19‐27 in the W drive at the address below: 

W:\MotorVehicle\Policy & Communications\Memorandums\Memos\Policy Memos  

For County Treasurers and staff, you may find IM 19‐27 at the link to the county treasurer’s manual 

below:  

https://iowadot.gov/mvd/ctmanual/memos/IM19‐27.pdf  

For the technical change striking the option to obtain a temporary fuel permit from a truck stop,  we 

have extensively updated our website to provide for an online application process for temporary fuel 

permits, in addition to still being able to apply by mail or fax.   

NEW 

As of October 14, 2020, the rules will align with Iowa Code and our current processes regarding 

assessment and collection of electric vehicle fees and determining tax liability on electric vehicle fuel.  

 

BUSINESS IMPACT 

This directive does not significantly impact the way that VMCS operates as we have already updated our 

processes to implement the new electric vehicle fees and determination of tax liability for electric 

vehicle fuel. Rather this directive is just informing you that the administrative rules have now been 

updated. 

  

 


