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Regulatory Analysis

Notice of Intended Action to be published: 761—Chapter 524
“For-Hire Intrastate Motor Carrier Authority”

Iowa Code section(s) or chapter(s) authorizing rulemaking: 325A.3A, 325A.7A, 325A.10 and
325A.13

State or federal law(s) implemented by the rulemaking: lowa Code sections 321.515 and 321.519
and chapter 325A

Public Hearing

A public hearing at which persons may present their views orally or in writing will be held as
follows:

February 28, 2025 Microsoft Teams
9t0 9:30 a.m. Or dial: 515.817.6093
Conference ID: 262 987 526

Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this Regulatory Analysis, which
must be received by the Department of Transportation no later than 4:30 p.m. on the date of the public
hearing. Comments should be directed to:

Sara Siedsma

6310 SE Convenience Boulevard
Ankeny, Iowa 50021

Email: sara.siedsma@iowadot.us

Purpose and Summary

The purpose of the proposed chapter is to comply with lowa Code chapter 325A by outlining the
application and eligibility requirements to obtain a for-hire intrastate motor carrier permit or certificate
from the Department. A Department-issued motor carrier permit or certificate is required before a
motor carrier may begin operations in lowa.

Analysis of Impact

1. Persons affected by the proposed rulemaking:

® C(lasses of persons that will bear the costs of the proposed rulemaking:

There are no costs or fees associated with this chapter beyond what is required by the underlying
statute. Rather, the purpose of the rules is to establish the eligibility requirements and application
process for persons seeking motor carrier permits and certificates.

® C(lasses of persons that will benefit from the proposed rulemaking:

Persons seeking to obtain a motor carrier permit or certificate will benefit from this chapter by
knowing the eligibility criteria and application process.

2. Impact of the proposed rulemaking, economic or otherwise, including the nature and
amount of all the different kinds of costs that would be incurred:

e Quantitative description of impact:

There are no additional implementation or enforcement costs in the proposed chapter that were not
already required as a result of the underlying statutes. The statute requires the Department to issue
motor carrier permits and certificates to qualified applicants.


https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_YTUyMTNjNjgtMDViOS00MzhhLWE5NDQtOTA1NjIxZTEzZDZj%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22a1e65fcc-32fa-4fdd-8692-0cc2eb06676e%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%220a0b5691-4cd7-4825-a86d-69aefc0d9b11%22%7d
mailto:sara.siedsma@iowadot.us
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® Qualitative description of impact:
There are no anticipated effects on state revenues beyond the underlying statute.

3. Costs to the State:

e Implementation and enforcement costs borne by the agency or any other agency:

There are no additional implementation or enforcement costs resulting from the proposed chapter
that were not already required as a result of the underlying statute. The statute requires the Department
to issue motor carrier permits and certificates to qualified applicants.

e Anticipated effect on state revenues:

There are no anticipated effects on state revenues beyond the underlying statute.

4. Comparison of the costs and benefits of the proposed rulemaking to the costs and
benefits of inaction:

The benefit of the proposed rules is consistency and transparency in the processes and
requirements for obtaining a motor carrier permit or certificate in lowa.

The cost of inaction is the inability for qualified applicants to understand quickly and efficiently
what is required to obtain and maintain a motor carrier permit or certificate in lowa.

There is no benefit of inaction.

5. Determination whether less costly methods or less intrusive methods exist for achieving
the purpose of the proposed rulemaking:
There are no less costly or less intrusive methods to achieve the purpose of the proposed rules.

6. Alternative methods considered by the agency:

e Description of any alternative methods that were seriously considered by the agency:

The Department did not consider alternatives for the proposed rules. The Department is required
by the lowa Code to issue motor carrier permits and certificates to qualified applicants.

e Reasons why alternative methods were rejected in favor of the proposed rulemaking:

Not applicable.

Small Business Impact

If the rulemaking will have a substantial impact on small business, include a discussion of
whether it would be feasible and practicable to do any of the following to reduce the impact of
the rulemaking on small business:

e [Establish less stringent compliance or reporting requirements in the rulemaking for small
business.

e Establish less stringent schedules or deadlines in the rulemaking for compliance or reporting
requirements for small business.

e (Consolidate or simplify the rulemaking’s compliance or reporting requirements for small
business.

e Establish performance standards to replace design or operational standards in the rulemaking
for small business.

e Exempt small business from any or all requirements of the rulemaking.

If legal and feasible, how does the rulemaking use a method discussed above to reduce the
substantial impact on small business?

There is no small business impact beyond what was already anticipated under the statute. The
proposed rules apply equally to all persons seeking a motor carrier permit or certificate under the lowa
Code.

Text of Proposed Rulemaking
ITem 1. Rescind 761—Chapter 524 and adopt the following new chapter in lieu thereof:
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CHAPTER 524
FOR-HIRE INTRASTATE MOTOR CARRIER AUTHORITY

761—524.1(325A) Purpose and applicability.

524.1(1) This chapter establishes requirements concerning for-hire intrastate motor carriers as
authorized by lowa Code chapter 325A.

524.1(2) This chapter applies to motor carriers of household goods, bulk liquid commodities, all
other property, and passengers being transported for hire on any highway of this state other than a
transportation network company or transportation network company driver as both are defined in Iowa
Code section 321N.1 and provided for in 761—Chapter 540.

761—524.2(325A) General information.

524.2(1) Information and location. Applications, forms and information on motor carrier permits
and motor carrier certificates are available by mail from the Motor Vehicle Division, lowa Department
of Transportation, P.O. Box 10382, Des Moines, lowa 50306-0382; in person at 6310 SE Convenience
Blvd., Ankeny, lowa; by telephone at 515.237.3268; by facsimile at 515.237.3225; or by email at
omcs@iowadot.us.

524.2(2) Waiver of rules. In accordance with 761—Chapter 11, the director of transportation or
the director’s designee (director) may, in response to a petition, waive provisions of this chapter. A
waiver will not be granted unless the director finds that special or emergency circumstances exist.

“Special or emergency circumstances” means one or more of the following:

1. Circumstances where the movement is necessary to cooperate with cities, counties, other state
agencies or other states in response to a national or other disaster.

2. Circumstances where the movement is necessary to cooperate with national defense officials.

3. Circumstances where the movement is necessary to cooperate with public or private utilities
in order to maintain their public services.

4. Circumstances where the movement is essential to ensure safety and protection of any person
or property due to events such as but not limited to pollution of natural resources, a potential fire or an
explosion.

5. Circumstances where weather or transportation problems create an undue hardship for citizens
of the state of lowa.

6. Circumstances where movement involves emergency-type vehicles.

7. Uncommon or extraordinary circumstances where the movement is essential to the existence
of an Towa business and the move may be accomplished without causing undue hazards to the safety
of the traveling public or undue damage to private or public property.

524.2(3) Complaints. Complaints against motor carriers pertaining to the provisions of this
chapter can be submitted in writing to the motor vehicle division.

761—524.3(325A) Applications and supporting documents.

524.3(1) Application and fee. Application for a motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate
shall be made to the motor vehicle division on Form 441052, including the required safety self-
certification, and accompanied by the statutory fee. Acceptable payment methods include credit card,
cash, and check or money order made payable to the lowa Department of Transportation.

524.3(2) Supporting documents. The following documents must accompany the motor carrier
permit or motor carrier certificate application:

a. Proof of insurance.

b. A U.S. DOT number if required by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

c.  Financial statement if required by rule 761—524.10(325A).

d.  Tariff, only for motor carriers of household goods.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321N.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.540.pdf
mailto:omcs@iowadot.us
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.11.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.524.10.pdf
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e. All applicable documents identified in 761—subrule 380.4(2) and any other documentation,
if required by the department, necessary to assess the operational capabilities of any driverless-capable
vehicles the motor carrier intends to operate, including for the purpose of determining whether to
impose operational restrictions as authorized under rule 761—400.18(307,321).

761—524.4(325A) Issuance of motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate. When all
requirements are met, the department will issue the motor carrier permit or certificate, a copy of which
shall be carried in each motor vehicle at all times. The copy may be in either a physical or an
electronic format and shall be available for display to any peace officer upon request.

761—524.5(325A) Duplicate motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate. A motor carrier
seeking a duplicate motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate shall send a written request to the
motor vehicle division and include the carrier name, the permit number, certificate number, or U.S.
DOT number, and the statutory fee.

761—524.6(325A) Amendment to a motor carrier permit or motor carrier certificate.

524.6(1) Update to a motor carrier permit. A motor carrier seeking to change the commodities
being transported under a permit shall submit an updated application to the motor vehicle division,
including the permit number and statutory fee for a duplicate permit. Transporting of commodities not
listed on the permit is not authorized until a new permit or temporary permit has been issued and is
carried in the vehicle.

524.6(2) Change of name or address for a motor carrier permit or certificate. A motor carrier
seeking to change the name or address shall submit an updated application to the motor vehicle
division within 30 days after the change and include the permit or certificate number, old name or
address, new name or address and the statutory fee.

761—524.7(325A) Insurance.

524.7(1) Insurance. Each motor carrier shall do the following:

a. At all times maintain on file with the department the effective certificate(s) of insurance or a
surety bond on a form prescribed by the department.

b.  Ensure the insurance or the surety bond is written for a period of one year or more.

c.  Provide the department written notice 30 days prior to the cancellation of the insurance or the
surety bond.

d.  Submit all certificates of insurance to the department electronically in a format approved by
the department.

524.7(2) Self-insurance. Except as otherwise provided in subrule 524.7(1), the department may
allow a carrier to self-insure in lieu of maintaining insurance required under subrule 524.7(1) if the
following criteria is met:

a. The intrastate carrier also operates interstate and has been approved by a federal agency to
self-insure.

b.  The carrier submits a written request to self-insure to the motor vehicle division that includes
a copy of the federal agency’s approval to self-insure and copies of any information required by that
federal agency in approving the request to self-insure.

c¢.  The motor carrier agrees to immediately notify the department if there is any change in the
status of the self-insurance for interstate operation.

761—524.8(325A) Self-insurance for motor carriers of passengers.

524.8(1) Applications for self-insurance. A motor carrier of passengers with more than 25 motor
vehicles may request self-insurance by submitting a written request to the motor vehicle division,
including a copy of the carrier’s most recent audited financial statement and a vehicle list.

524.8(2) Review by the department. The department may request additional information to
evaluate the request to self-insure. A request to self-insure will be denied and an existing approval to


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.380.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.400.18.pdf
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self-insure will be suspended if the motor carrier fails to meet the self-insurance standard under 49
CFR 387.33T effective as of October 1, 2024. An approval to self-insure is continuous unless
canceled. The motor carrier shall annually file audited financial statements with the motor vehicle
division within 60 days after the end of the motor carrier’s fiscal year.

524.8(3) Cancellation of self-insurance approval. The department, upon five days’ notice prior
to any hearing to cancel approval, may cancel approval of a carrier to self-insure if the carrier fails to
file an audited financial statement as required under subrule 524.8(2) or for other reasonable grounds,
including but not limited to the failure of the carrier to pay a final judgment within 30 days.

761—524.9(325A) Safety regulations. All motor carriers shall follow the applicable safety
regulations in 661—Chapter 22 concerning operation, maintenance and inspection of vehicles.

761—524.10(325A) Financial statement. An application by a motor carrier of bulk liquid
commodities (nondairy) or regular-route passengers must include, on a form prescribed by the
department, a statement signed by an authorized agent of a lending institution or a certified public
accountant attesting to the financial capability of that carrier.

761—524.11(325A) Safety education seminar.

524.11(1) Requirement. Except as provided in subrule 524.11(4), persons responsible for the
safety records and driver training of applicable motor carriers are required to complete the safety
education seminar under lowa Code section 325A.3(5). Failure to attend an approved safety education
seminar within the required time frame will result in suspension of the motor carrier permit or
certificate.

524.11(2) Availability. The department provides an approved safety education seminar
periodically. Information on how to access the seminar is available from the Motor Vehicle Division in
person at 6310 SE Convenience Boulevard, Ankeny, lowa; by telephone at 515.237.3268; or by email
at omcs@iowadot.us.

524.11(3) Third-party safety education seminar approval. The motor vehicle division may
approve individuals outside the department to conduct safety education seminars. Only the department
is authorized to approve the course curriculum. At a minimum, the safety course curriculum is to
include the following information:

a. Commercial driver’s license regulations.

b. A general overview of the U.S. DOT’s motor carrier safety regulations and hazardous
materials regulations adopted annually by the department of public safety.

c. lowa Code sections 321.449 and 321.450 and all associated administrative rules.

d.  lowa Code section 321.463 and all associated administrative rules.

e.  Out-of-service criteria.

f. A general overview of the U.S. DOT’s Emergency Response Guidebook.

524.11(4) Exemption. Passenger carriers with vehicles not meeting the definition of a
commercial vehicle as defined in lowa Code section 321.1 are exempt from attending the safety
education seminar and paying the seminar fee. A motor carrier certificate issued for such a carrier
contains the following statement: “limited to noncommercial vehicles only.” If a motor carrier wishes
to start operating vehicles that meet the definition of a commercial motor vehicle, the motor carrier
must update its authority with the motor vehicle division. Upon paying the seminar fee and attending
the seminar within six months of updating the certificate, the department will issue a new motor
carrier certificate removing the limitation.

761—524.12(325A) Lease of a vehicle.

524.12(1) Lease defined. “Lease,” for the purpose of these rules, means a written document
providing for the exclusive possession, control and responsibility over the operation of a vehicle by
the lessee for a specific period of time as if the lessee were the owner. A copy of the lease must be


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/661.22.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.3.pdf
mailto:omcs@iowadot.us
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.449.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.450.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.463.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
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carried in the leased vehicle at all times. No motor carrier may have more than one lease covering a
specific vehicle in effect at a given time.

524.12(2) Lease of a vehicle to a shipper or a receiver. No motor carrier shall lease a vehicle
with or without a driver to a shipper or a receiver.

524.12(3) Marking of a motor vehicle. Each lessee shall properly identify each motor vehicle
during the period of the lease as specified in rule 661—22.9(325A).

524.12(4) Lease requirements. Any lease of a vehicle by any motor carrier except under the
following conditions is prohibited:

a. Every lease must be in writing and signed by the parties or their regular employees or agents
duly authorized to act for them.

b. Every lease shall specify the time that the lease begins and the time or circumstances on
which it ends.

761—524.13(325A) Tariffs.

524.13(1) Requirements. All motor carriers of household goods shall maintain on file with the
motor vehicle division a tariff stating the rates and charges that apply for the services performed under
the permit.

524.13(2) Printing. All tariffs and amendments or supplements must be in book, pamphlet or
loose-leaf form and be plainly printed or reproduced. No alteration in writing or erasure is to be made
in any tariff or supplement.

524.13(3) Filing date. All changes to tariffs and supplements are to be filed with the motor
vehicle division at least seven days prior to the effective date. Tariffs or supplements issued in
connection with applications for motor carriers of household goods may become effective on the date
the permits are issued.

524.13(4) Copy to department. To file a tariftf with the motor vehicle division, motor carriers of
household goods or their agents are to submit a transmittal letter listing all the enclosed tariffs and
include one copy of each tariff, supplement or revised page.

524.13(5) Title page. The title page of every tariff and supplement shall meet the following
requirements:

a.  Each tariff shall be numbered in the upper right-hand corner, beginning with number 1 and
shown as follows: Ia. DOT No. ...

b.  When a tariff is issued canceling a tariff previously filed, the Ia. DOT number of the canceled
tariff shall be in the right-hand corner under the Ia. DOT number of the new tariff.

¢.  Supplements or changes to a tariff shall be numbered beginning with number 1 in the upper
right-hand corner along with the number of any previous supplements canceled or changed by the
supplement.

d. The name of each motor carrier of household goods must be the same as it appears on the
permit. If the motor carrier of household goods is not a corporation and uses a trade name, the name of
the individual or partners needs to precede the trade name.

e.  Each tariff shall include a brief description of the territory or points from which and to which
the tariff applies.

/- Each tariff shall contain the issue and effective dates.

g. Each tariff shall include the name, title and street address of the motor carrier of household
goods or the agent by whom the tariff is issued.

524.13(6) Contents of tariff. Each tariff shall include the following:

a. A table of contents that is arranged alphabetically.

b. A complete index of all commodities, including the page number. However, no index or table
of contents is needed in tariffs of less than five pages or if the rates are alphabetically arranged by
commodities.

¢.  An explanation of all abbreviations, symbols and reference marks used.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/661.22.9.pdf
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d.  All rates in the tariff explicitly stated in cents or in dollars and cents per one hundred pounds,
per mile, per hour, per ton or two thousand pounds, per truck load (of stated amount) or other
definable measure. Where rates are stated in amounts per package or bundle, definite specifications of
the packages or bundles must be shown and ambiguous terms, rates, descriptions or plans for
determining charges will not be accepted.

524.13(7) Duplication of rates. Motor carriers of household goods or their agents shall not
publish duplicate or conflicting rates.

524.13(8) Tariff changes. All rates and charges that have been filed with the motor vehicle
division must be allowed to become effective and remain in effect for a period of at least seven days
before being changed, canceled or withdrawn. All tariffs, supplements and revised pages shall indicate
changes from the previous tariff. Changes may be indicated by providing a summary or by use of the
following symbols:

(R) to denote reductions

(A) to denote increases

(C) to denote changes, the result of which is neither an increase nor a reduction.

524.13(9) Posting regulations. Each motor carrier of household goods must post and file at its
principal place of business all of its tariffs and supplements. All tariffs must be kept available for
public inspection.

524.13(10) Application for special permission. When making application for permission to
establish rates, charges, or rules of the tariff on less than the statutory seven days’ notice, motor
carriers of household goods and their agents shall use the form prescribed by the department or other
form containing all of the required information.

524.13(11) Powers of attorney. An agent or other motor carrier of household goods has the
authority to file tariffs and supplements on behalf of a motor carrier if the motor carrier completes a
power of attorney granting the agent or other motor carrier authority to act on the motor carrier’s
behalf, subject to the following requirements:

a. The original power of attorney is on file with the motor vehicle division and a copy has been
sent to the agent or other motor carrier of household goods who was granted the authority to act by the
power of attorney.

b.  The motor carrier notifies the department in writing whenever the motor carrier wants to
cancel the authority granted to an agent or other motor carrier of household goods by power of
attorney. The notification may occur in writing to the department and state the power of attorney is
revoked with 60 days’ notice. For good cause, the department may authorize less than 60 days’ notice.
Copies of the notice must also be mailed to all interested parties by the motor carrier.

524.13(12) Nonconforming tariffs. The motor vehicle division will review tariffs that do not
conform with subrules 524.13(1) through 524.13(11) to determine if the tariffs contain the necessary
information and are acceptable. Tariffs that are unacceptable will be returned to the motor carrier with
an explanation.

761—524.14(325A) Denial, suspension, revocation, appeal and reinstatement.

524.14(1) Denial. The department will deny an application if the applicant fails to meet the
criteria for issuance of a permit or certificate under lowa Code chapter 325A or this chapter.

524.14(2) Suspension or revocation. The department may suspend or revoke a motor carrier
permit or certificate for a violation of lowa Code chapter 325A or this chapter. The suspension or
revocation shall continue until the motor carrier is no longer in violation.

524.14(3) Appeal. A person whose application for a motor carrier permit or certificate has been
denied for a reason other than noncompliance with insurance requirements or whose motor carrier
permit or certificate has been suspended or revoked for a reason other than noncompliance with
insurance requirements may contest the decision in accordance with lowa Code chapter 17A and
761—Chapter 13 by submitting an appeal request in writing to the director of the motor vehicle
division. To be considered timely, the request must be submitted within 20 days after the date of the


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/17A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.13.pdf
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notice of suspension, revocation or denial and include, as applicable, the motor carrier’s name, permit
or certificate number; complete address; and telephone number.

524.14(4) Reinstatement. Once the suspension or revocation is ended and the statutory fee is
paid, the department will issue a new permit or certificate.

These rules are intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.515 and 321.519 and chapter
325A.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.515.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.519.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf

