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Regulatory Analysis

Notice of Intended Action to be published: 761—Chapter 607
“Commercial Driver Licensing”

Iowa Code section(s) or chapter(s) authorizing rulemaking: 321.187, 321.187A, 321.188, and
321M.6A

State or federal law(s) implemented by the rulemaking: Iowa Code chapter 17A and sections
22.11, 321.1, 321.12, 321.174, 321.176A, 321.176B, 321.177, 321.180, 321.182, 321.186, 321.186A,
321.187, 321.187A, 321.188, 321.189, 321.191, 321.193, 321.196, 321.199, 321.201, 321.207,
321.208, 321.208A, 321.449 and 321M.6A

Public Hearing

A public hearing at which persons may present their views orally or in writing will be held as
follows:

March 14, 2025 Microsoft Teams Link
2 to 2:30 p.m. Phone: 515.817.6093
Conference ID: 909 649 929

Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this Regulatory Analysis, which
must be received by the Department of Transportation no later than 4:30 p.m. on the date of the public
hearing. Comments should be directed to:

Sara Siedsma

6310 SE Convenience Boulevard
Ankeny, Iowa 50021

Email: Sara.Siedsma@iowadot.us

Purpose and Summary

The purpose of the proposed chapter is to comply with Iowa Code sections 321.187 and 321.188,
which require the Department to adopt rules to administer commercial driver’s licenses in compliance
with Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) regulations and designate third-party
testers to perform commercial driver’s license knowledge and skills tests. The rules outline the
application, eligibility, and testing requirements to obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and the
governance structure for third-party test examiners. A CDL is required to operate specified
commercial motor vehicles on lowa roadways and in interstate commerce.

Analysis of Impact

1. Persons affected by the proposed rulemaking:

® Classes of persons that will bear the costs of the proposed rulemaking:

There are no costs or fees associated with this chapter beyond what is required by the underlying
statutes.

® C(lasses of persons that will benefit from the proposed rulemaking:

Persons seeking to obtain a CDL or become a third-party CDL tester will benefit from these rules
by knowing the eligibility criteria, application process, and testing procedures for CDL issuance and
the guidelines for third-party CDL testers.


https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_Y2MyOGU5ZWEtOTRlNi00OGIzLWI2MzktNTM4YzZiNmYyNzMw%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22a1e65fcc-32fa-4fdd-8692-0cc2eb06676e%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%220a0b5691-4cd7-4825-a86d-69aefc0d9b11%22%7d
mailto:Sara.Siedsma@iowadot.us
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2. Impact of the proposed rulemaking, economic or otherwise, including the nature and
amount of all the different kinds of costs that would be incurred:

e Quantitative description of impact:

There are no additional quantitative impacts that were not already anticipated as a result of the
underlying statutes, which require the Department to adopt rules to administer CDLs in conformance
with FMCSA regulations and to designate third-party testers to perform CDL knowledge and skills
tests.

® Qualitative description of impact:

Reorganizing, streamlining, and reducing redundancy in the proposed chapter will create a positive
impact by producing a more user-friendly version of the chapter that includes information the public
relies on for understanding how to obtain a CDL or become a third-party CDL tester.

3. Costs to the State:

e Implementation and enforcement costs borne by the agency or any other agency:

There are no additional implementation or enforcement costs in the proposed chapter that were not
already required as a result of the underlying statutes. The statutes require the Department to adopt
rules to administer CDLs in conformance with FMCSA regulations and to designate third-party testers
to perform CDL knowledge and skills tests.

e Anticipated effect on state revenues:

There are no anticipated effects on state revenues beyond the underlying statutes.

4. Comparison of the costs and benefits of the proposed rulemaking to the costs and
benefits of inaction:

The benefit of the proposed rules is consistency and transparency regarding the processes and
requirements for obtaining a CDL or becoming a third-party CDL tester.

The cost of inaction is the inability for qualified applicants to understand quickly and efficiently
what is required to obtain a CDL or to become a third-party CDL tester.

There is no benefit of inaction.

5. Determination whether less costly methods or less intrusive methods exist for achieving
the purpose of the proposed rulemaking:
There are no less costly or less intrusive methods to achieve the purpose of the proposed rules.

6. Alternative methods considered by the agency:

e Description of any alternative methods that were seriously considered by the agency:

The Department did not consider alternatives for the proposed rules. The Department is required
by the Iowa Code to adopt rules to administer CDLs in conformance with FMCSA regulations and to
designate third-party testers to perform CDL knowledge and skills tests.

e Reasons why alternative methods were rejected in favor of the proposed rulemaking:

Not applicable.

Small Business Impact

If the rulemaking will have a substantial impact on small business, include a discussion of
whether it would be feasible and practicable to do any of the following to reduce the impact of
the rulemaking on small business:

e [FEstablish less stringent compliance or reporting requirements in the rulemaking for small
business.

e [FEstablish less stringent schedules or deadlines in the rulemaking for compliance or reporting
requirements for small business.

e (onsolidate or simplify the rulemaking’s compliance or reporting requirements for small
business.

e [FEstablish performance standards to replace design or operational standards in the rulemaking
for small business.
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e Exempt small business from any or all requirements of the rulemaking.

If legal and feasible, how does the rulemaking use a method discussed above to reduce the
substantial impact on small business?

There is no small business impact beyond what was already anticipated under the statute. The
proposed rules apply equally to all persons seeking to obtain a CDL or become a third-party CDL
tester.

Text of Proposed Rulemaking
ITem 1. Rescind 761—Chapter 607 and adopt the following new chapter in lieu thereof:

CHAPTER 607
COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSING

761—607.1(321) Scope. This chapter applies to licensing persons for the operation of commercial
motor vehicles. Unless otherwise stated, the provisions of this chapter are in addition to other motor
vehicle licensing rules in lowa Code chapter 321.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.188.

761—607.2(321) Information.

607.2(1) Information and location. Applications, forms and information about the commercial
driver’s license (CDL) are available at any driver’s license service center. Assistance is also available
by mail from the Motor Vehicle Division, lowa Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 9204, Des
Moines, lowa 50306-9204; in person at 6310 SE Convenience Boulevard, Ankeny, lowa; by telephone
at 515.244.8725; by facsimile at 515.239.1837; or on the department’s website at
www.iowadot.gov/mvd/cdl/CDL-homepage.

607.2(2) Manual. Copies of the study manual for the commercial driver’s license tests are
available upon request at any driver’s license service center and on the department’s website.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.188.

761—607.3(321) Definitions. The definitions in Iowa Code section 321.1 apply to this chapter of
rules. In addition, the following definitions are adopted:

“Air brake system” means a system that uses air as a medium for transmitting pressure or force
from the driver’s control to the service brake. “Air brake system” shall include any braking system
operating fully or partially on the air brake principle.

“Air over hydraulic brakes” means any braking system operating partially on the air brake and
partially on the hydraulic brake principle.

“Automatic transmission” means any transmission other than a manual transmission.

“CDLIS” means “commercial driver’s license information system” as defined in Iowa Code
section 321.1.

“Commercial driver’s license downgrade” or “CDL downgrade” means the same as defined in 49
CFR Section 383.5 (October 1, 2024).

“Commercial motor vehicle” or “CMV " as defined in Iowa Code section 321.1 does not include a
motor vehicle designed as off-road equipment rather than as a motor truck, such as a forklift, motor
grader, scraper, tractor, trencher or similar industrial-type equipment. “Commercial motor vehicle”
also does not include self-propelled implements of husbandry described in Iowa Code section
321.1(32).

“Controlled substance” as used in lowa Code section 321.208 means a substance defined in lowa
Code section 124.101.

“Hazardous materials” means any material that has been designated as hazardous under 49 U.S.C.
Section 5103 and is required to be placarded under 49 CFR Part 172, Subpart F, or any quantity of a
material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 CFR Part 73.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/cdl/CDL-homepage
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.208.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/124.101.pdf
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“Manual transmission” means a transmission utilizing a driver-operated clutch that is activated by
a pedal or lever and a gear-shift mechanism operated either by hand or by foot. All other
transmissions, whether semi-automatic or automatic, will be considered automatic.

“Medical examiner” means a person who is licensed, certified or registered, in accordance with
applicable state laws and regulations, to perform physical examinations. The term includes but is not
limited to doctors of medicine, doctors of osteopathy, physician assistants, advanced registered nurse
practitioners, and doctors of chiropractic.

“Medical examiners certificate” means a certificate completed and signed by a medical examiner
under the provisions of 49 CFR Section 391.43 and includes medical examiner’s certificate
information provided electronically by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration pursuant to 49
CFR Section 383.71 and 49 CFR Section 383.73.

“Medical variance” means a driver has received one of the following from the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration that allows the driver to be issued a medical certificate:

1. An exemption letter permitting operation of a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 CFR
Part 381, Subpart C; 49 CFR Section 391.62; or 49 CFR Section 391.64.

2. A skill performance evaluation certificate permitting operation of a commercial motor vehicle
pursuant to 49 CFR Section 391.49.

“National drug and alcohol clearinghouse” means the database maintained by the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration as defined in 49 CFR Section 382.107 (October 1, 2024).

“Passenger vehicle” means either of the following:

1. A motor vehicle designed to transport 16 or more persons including the operator.

2. A motor vehicle of a size and design to transport 16 or more persons including the operator
that has been redesigned or modified to transport fewer than 16 persons with disabilities. The size of a
redesigned or modified vehicle shall be any such vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001
or more pounds.

“School bus” means a commercial motor vehicle used to transport pre-primary, primary, or
secondary school students from home to school, from school to home, or to and from school-
sponsored events unless otherwise provided in lowa Code section 321.1(69). “School bus” does not
include a bus used as a common carrier.

“Self-certification” means a written certification of which category of type of driving an applicant
for a commercial driver’s license engages in or intends to engage in, from the following categories:

1. Non-excepted interstate. The person certifies that the person operates or expects to operate in
interstate commerce, is both subject to and meets the qualification requirements under 49 CFR Part
391 effective October 1, 2024, and is required to obtain a medical examiner’s certificate by 49 CFR
Section 391.45 effective October 1, 2024.

2. Excepted interstate. The person certifies that the person operates or expects to operate in
interstate commerce but engages exclusively in transportation or operations excepted under 49 CFR
Section 390.3(f), 391.2, 391.68 or 398.3 effective October 1, 2024, from all or parts of the
qualification requirements of 49 CFR Part 391 effective October 1, 2024, and is therefore not required
to obtain a medical examiner’s certificate by 49 CFR Section 391.45 effective October 1, 2024.

3. Non-excepted intrastate. The person certifies that the person operates only in intrastate
commerce and is subject to state driver qualification requirements.

4. Excepted intrastate. The person certifies that the person operates only in intrastate commerce,
but engages exclusively in transportation or operations excepted from all or parts of the state driver
qualification requirements as set forth in lowa Code section 321.449.

“State,” as used in this chapter and in “another state” in lowa Code section 321.174(2), “former
state of residence” in lowa Code section 321.188(5), or “any state” in lowa Code section 321.208(1),
means one of the United States or the District of Columbia unless the context means the state of lowa.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.1, 321.174, 321.188, 321.191, 321.193,
321.207 and 321.208.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.449.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.174.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.208.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.174.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.191.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.193.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.207.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.208.pdf
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761—607.4(22,321) Records. The department will maintain the operating record of a person issued a
commercial driver’s license or a commercial learner’s permit or a person who has been disqualified
from operating a commercial motor vehicle as provided in the department’s “Record Management
Manual” adopted in 761—Chapter 4.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 22.11, 321.12, 321.188 and 321.199.

761—607.5(321) Adoption of federal regulations.

607.5(1) Code of Federal Regulations. The department’s administration of commercial driver’s
licenses shall be in compliance with the state procedures set forth in 49 CFR Section 383.73, and this
chapter shall be construed to that effect. The department adopts the following portions of the Code of
Federal Regulations, which are referenced throughout this chapter of rules:

a. 49 CFR Section 391.11 as adopted in 661—Chapter 22.

b. 49 CFR Section 392.5 as adopted in 661—Chapter 22.

¢. 49 CFR Part 380, Subpart F (October 1, 2024).

d.  The following portions of 49 CFR Part 383 (October 1, 2024):

(1) Section 383.51, Disqualification of drivers.

(2) Subpart E—Testing and Licensing Procedures.

(3) Subpart F—Vehicle Groups and Endorsements.

(4) Subpart G—Required Knowledge and Skills.

(5) Subpart H—Tests.

e. 49 CFR Part 384, Subpart B (October 1, 2024).

607.5(2) Copies of regulations. Copies of the federal regulations may be reviewed at the state
law library or through the Internet at www.fmcsa.dot.gov.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.187, 321.188, 321.207, 321.208 and
321.208A.

761—607.6(321) Application. An applicant for a commercial driver’s license shall comply with the
requirements of lowa Code sections 321.180(2) “e, ” 321.182 and 321.188 and 761—Chapter 601, and
provide the proofs of citizenship or lawful permanent residence and state of domicile required by 49
CFR Section 383.71. If the applicant is domiciled in a foreign jurisdiction and applying for a
nondomiciled commercial driver’s license, the applicant must provide a document required by 49 CFR
Section 383.71(%).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.180, 321.182 and 321.188.

761—607.7(321) Commercial driver’s license (CDL).

607.7(1) Classes. The department may issue a commercial driver’s license only as a Class A, B
or C driver’s license. The license class identifies the types of vehicles that may be operated. A
commercial driver’s license may have endorsements that authorize additional vehicle operations or
restrictions that limit vehicle operations.

607.7(2) Validity.

a. A Class A commercial driver’s license allows a person to operate a combination of
commercial motor vehicles as specified in lowa Code sections 321.1(11) and 321.189(1) “a ”(1). With
the required endorsements and subject to the applicable restrictions, a Class A commercial driver’s
license is valid to operate any vehicle. Before the department administers the skills test for a Class A
commercial driver’s license to an applicant for the first time, the applicant must comply with the
entry-level driver training requirements as provided in lowa Code section 321.188.

b. A Class B commercial driver’s license allows a person to operate a commercial motor vehicle
as specified in lowa Code sections 321.1(11) and 321.189(1) “a ’(2). With the required endorsements
and subject to the applicable restrictions, a Class B commercial driver’s license is valid to operate any
vehicle except a truck-tractor semitrailer combination or a vehicle requiring a Class A commercial
driver’s license. Before the department administers the skills test for a Class B commercial driver’s


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/22.11.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.199.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/661.22.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/661.22.pdf
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.187.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.207.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.208.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.208A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.182.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.601.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.182.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
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license to an applicant for the first time, the applicant must comply with the entry-level driver training
requirements as provided in Iowa Code section 321.188.

¢. A Class C commercial driver’s license allows a person to operate a commercial motor vehicle
as specified in Iowa Code sections 321.1(11) and 321.189(1) “a”’(3) if the vehicle is designed to
transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is used in the transportation of hazardous
materials as defined in 49 CFR Section 383.5 effective October 1, 2024. With the required
endorsements and subject to the applicable restrictions, a Class C commercial driver’s license is valid
to operate any vehicle except a vehicle requiring a Class A or Class B commercial driver’s license.
Before the department administers the skills test for a Class C commercial driver’s license to an
applicant for the first time, the applicant must comply with the entry-level driver training requirements
as provided in Towa Code section 321.188 for the applicable endorsement sought (P/Passenger or S/
School Bus endorsements). Before the department administers the knowledge test for a Class C
commercial driver’s license to an applicant for the first time, the applicant must comply with the
entry-level driver training requirements provided in Iowa Code section 321.188 for the applicable
endorsement sought (H/Hazardous materials endorsement).

d. A commercial driver’s license is valid for operating a motorcycle as a commercial motor
vehicle only if the license has a motorcycle endorsement and a hazardous material endorsement. A
commercial driver’s license is valid for operating a motorcycle as a noncommercial motor vehicle
only if the license has a motorcycle endorsement.

e. A commercial driver’s license valid for eight years will be issued to a qualified applicant who
is at least 18 years of age but not yet 78 years of age. However, the expiration date of the license
issued shall not exceed the licensee’s 80th birthday.

f. A commercial driver’s license valid for two years will be issued to a qualified applicant 78
years of age or older. A two-year license may also be issued, at the discretion of the department, to an
applicant whose license is restricted due to vision or other physical disabilities.

g. A commercial driver’s license is valid for 60 days after the expiration date.

h. A person with a commercial driver’s license valid for the vehicle operated is not required to
obtain a Class D driver’s license to operate the vehicle as a chauffeur.

607.7(3) Age. The minimum age to obtain a commercial driver’s license is set out in 49 CFR
Part 391, Subpart B, effective October 1, 2024, except that, for a person operating solely intrastate, the
driver age qualifications are set out in lowa Code section 321.449(3).

607.7(4) License extension.

a. As provided in 49 CFR Section 383.153, a person may apply for a 60-day extension of a
commercial driver’s license if the person:

(1) Has a valid license,

(2) Is eligible for further licensing, and

(3) Istemporarily absent from Iowa or is temporarily incapacitated at the time for renewal.

b.  License extensions can be requested following the procedure in 761—subrule 605.15(2).

c¢. A 60-day extension will be added to the expiration date on the license. When the person
appears to renew the license, the expiration date of the renewed license will be computed from the
expiration date of the original license, notwithstanding the extension.

d.  Only one 60-day extension is allowed.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.1(8), 321.177, 321.182, 321.188,
321.189, 321.196, and 321.449.

761—607.8(321) Endorsements. All endorsements except the hazardous material endorsement
continue to be valid without retesting or additional fees when renewing or upgrading a license. The
endorsements that authorize additional commercial motor vehicle operations with a commercial
driver’s license are:

607.8(1) Hazardous material. A hazardous material endorsement (H) is required to transport
hazardous materials. The hazardous material endorsement is only valid when the applicant or holder


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.449.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.177.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.182.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.196.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.449.pdf
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of the endorsement complies with the Transportation Security Administration’s security threat
assessment standards specified in 49 CFR Sections 383.71(b)(8) and 383.141 effective October 1,
2024. Before the department administers the knowledge test for a hazardous material endorsement to
an applicant for the first time, the applicant shall comply with the entry-level driver training
requirements as provided in lowa Code section 321.188. To obtain or retain the hazardous material
endorsement, the applicant or holder must pass a knowledge test as required under 49 CFR Section
383.121 and pay the endorsement fee. Retesting and fee payment are also required when an applicant
transfers a commercial driver’s license from another state unless, as provided in 49 CFR Section
383.73, the transfer applicant provides evidence of passing the knowledge test as required under 49
CFR Section 383.121 within the preceding 24 months. Pursuant to 49 CFR Section 173.5 effective
October 1, 2024, a farmer or a person working for a farmer is not subject to the hazardous material
endorsement while operating either a pickup or a special truck within 150 air miles of the farmer’s
farm to transport supplies to or from the farm.

607.8(2) Passenger vehicle. A passenger vehicle endorsement (P) is required to operate a
passenger vehicle as defined in rule 761—607.3(321). Before the department administers the skills
test for a passenger vehicle endorsement to an applicant for the first time, the applicant shall comply
with the entry-level driver training requirements as provided in lowa Code section 321.188.

607.8(3) Tank vehicle. A tank vehicle endorsement (N) is required to operate a tank vehicle as
defined in Iowa Code section 321.1. A vehicle transporting a tank, regardless of the tank’s capacity,
that does not otherwise meet the definition of a commercial motor vehicle in lowa Code section 321.1
is not a tank vehicle.

607.8(4) Double/triple trailer. A double/triple trailer endorsement (T) is required to operate a
commercial motor vehicle with two or more towed trailers when the combination of vehicles meets
the criteria for a Class A commercial motor vehicle. Operation of a triple trailer combination vehicle is
not permitted in lowa.

607.8(5) Hazardous material and tank. A combined endorsement (X) authorizes both hazardous
material and tank vehicle operations.

607.8(6) School bus. A school bus endorsement (S) is required to operate a school bus as defined
in rule 761—607.3(321). An applicant for a school bus endorsement must also qualify for a passenger
vehicle endorsement. Before the department administers the skills test for a school bus endorsement to
an applicant for the first time, the applicant shall comply with the entry-level driver training
requirements as provided in Iowa Code section 321.188.

607.8(7) Exceptions for towing operations.

a. A driver who tows a vehicle in an emergency “first move” from the site of a vehicle
malfunction or accident on a highway to the nearest appropriate repair facility is not required to have
the endorsement(s) applicable to the towed vehicle. In any subsequent move, a driver who tows a
vehicle from one repair or disposal facility to another is required to have the endorsement(s)
applicable to the towed vehicle with one exception: A tow truck driver is not required to have a
passenger endorsement to tow a passenger vehicle.

b.  The double/triple trailer endorsement is not required to operate a commercial motor vehicle
with two or more towed vehicles that are not trailers.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.1, 321.176A, 321.188 and 321.189.

761—607.9(321) Restrictions. The restrictions that may limit commercial motor vehicle operation
with a commercial driver’s license are listed in 761—subrule 605.8(3) and are explained below:

607.9(1) Air brake. The air brake restriction (L, no air brake equipped CMV) applies to a
licensee who either fails the air brake component of the knowledge test or performs the skills test in a
vehicle not equipped with air brakes and prohibits the operation of a commercial motor vehicle
equipped with an air brake system until the licensee passes the required air brake tests and pays the fee
for upgrading the license. Retesting and fee payment are not required when the license is renewed.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.176A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.605.8.pdf
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607.9(2) Full air brake. The full air brake restriction (Z, no full air brake equipped CMV)
applies to a licensee who performs the skills test in a vehicle equipped with air over hydraulic brakes
and prohibits the operation of a commercial motor vehicle equipped with any braking system
operating fully on the air brake principle until the licensee passes the required air brake tests and pays
the fee for upgrading the license. Retesting and fee payment are not required when the license is
renewed.

607.93) Manual transmission. The manual transmission restriction (E, no manual transmission
equipped CMV) applies to a licensee who performs the skills test in a vehicle equipped with automatic
transmission and prohibits the operation of a commercial motor vehicle equipped with a manual
transmission until the licensee passes the required tests and pays the fee for upgrading the license.
Retesting and fee payment are not required when the license is renewed.

607.9(4) Tractor-trailer. The tractor-trailer restriction (O, no tractor trailer CMV) applies to a
licensee who performs the skills test in a combination vehicle for a Class A commercial driver’s
license with the power unit and towed unit connected with a pintle hook or aftermarket fifth wheel
connection and prohibits operation of a tractor-trailer combination connected by a fifth wheel that
requires a Class A commercial driver’s license until the licensee passes the required tests and pays the
fee for upgrading the license. Retesting and fee payment are not required when the license is renewed.

607.9(5) Class A passenger vehicle. The Class A passenger vehicle restriction (M, no Class A
passenger vehicle) applies to a licensee who applies for a passenger endorsement and performs the
skills test in a passenger vehicle that requires a Class B commercial driver’s license and prohibits
operation of a passenger vehicle that requires a Class A commercial driver’s license.

607.9(6) Class A and B passenger vehicle. The Class A and B passenger vehicle restriction (N,
no Class A and B passenger vehicle) applies to a licensee who applies for a passenger endorsement
and performs the skills test in a passenger vehicle that requires a Class C commercial driver’s license
and prohibits operation of a passenger vehicle that requires a Class A or Class B commercial driver’s
license.

607.9(7) Intrastate only. The intrastate only restriction (K, intrastate only) applies to a licensee
who self-certifies to non-excepted intrastate or excepted intrastate driving and prohibits the operation
of a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce.

607.9(8) Medical variance. The medical variance restriction (V, medical variance) applies to a
licensee when the department is notified pursuant to 49 CFR Section 383.73(0)(3) that the driver has
been issued a medical variance and indicates there is information about a medical variance on the
CDLIS driver record.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.189 and 321.191.

761—607.10(321) Commercial learner’s permit.

607.10(1) Validity.

a. A commercial learner’s permit allows the permit holder to operate a commercial motor
vehicle when accompanied as required by lowa Code section 321.180(2) “d.”

b. A commercial learner’s permit is valid for one year without retaking the general and
endorsement knowledge tests required by Iowa Code section 321.188.

¢. A commercial learner’s permit is invalid after the expiration date of the underlying
commercial or noncommercial driver’s license issued to the permit holder or the expiration date of the
permit, whichever occurs first.

d. The issuance of a commercial learner’s permit is a precondition to the initial issuance of a
commercial driver’s license. The issuance of a commercial learner’s permit is also a precondition to
the upgrade of a commercial driver’s license if the upgrade requires a skills test. If the permit holder is
subject to the requirement to complete entry-level driver training as provided in lowa Code section
321.188, the commercial learner’s permit will be necessary to complete the on-road segment of the
entry-level driver training as well as the required skills tests for a commercial driver’s license. The
holder of a commercial learner’s permit is not eligible to take a required driving skills test for the first


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.189.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.191.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
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14 days after the permit holder is issued the permit. The 14-day period includes the day the
commercial learner’s permit was issued.

ExamMpLE: The commercial learner’s permit is issued on September 1. The earliest date the permit
holder would be eligible to take the skills test is September 15.

e. A commercial learner’s permit is not valid for the operation of a vehicle transporting
hazardous materials.

607.10(2) Requirements.

a. An applicant for a commercial learner’s permit must hold a valid Class A, B, or C
commercial driver’s license, a Class D, endorsement 3 noncommercial driver’s license or a Class C
noncommercial driver’s license issued in this state that is not an instruction permit, a special
instruction permit, a motorized bicycle license or a temporary restricted license; must be at least 18
years of age; and must meet the requirements to obtain a valid commercial driver’s license, including
the requirements set forth in lowa Code section 321.188. However, the applicant does not have to
complete the driving skills tests required for a commercial driver’s license to obtain a commercial
learner’s permit.

b. The applicant must successfully pass a general knowledge test that meets the federal
standards contained in 49 CFR Part 383, Subparts F, G and H, for the commercial motor vehicle the
applicant operates or expects to operate, including any endorsement for which the applicant applies.

607.10(3) Endorsements. A commercial learner’s permit may include the following
endorsements. All other endorsements are prohibited on a commercial learner’s permit.

a. An applicant for a passenger endorsement (P) must take and pass the passenger endorsement
knowledge test. A commercial learner’s permit holder with a passenger endorsement is prohibited
from operating a commercial motor vehicle carrying passengers, other than federal/state auditors and
inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and the commercial driver’s license holder accompanying
the permit holder required by lowa Code section 321.180(2) “d.”

b. An applicant for a school bus endorsement (S) must take and pass the school bus
endorsement knowledge test. A commercial learner’s permit holder with a school bus endorsement is
prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle carrying passengers, other than federal/state
auditors and inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and the commercial driver’s license holder
accompanying the permit holder required by lowa Code section 321.180(2) “d.”

c¢. An applicant for a tank vehicle endorsement (N) must take and pass the tank vehicle
endorsement knowledge test. A commercial learner’s permit holder with a tank vehicle endorsement
may only operate an empty tank vehicle and is prohibited from operating any tank vehicle that
previously contained hazardous materials and that has not been purged of any residue.

607.10(4) Restrictions. A commercial learner’s permit may include the air brake (L), medical
variance (V), Class A passenger vehicle (M), Class A and B passenger vehicle (N) and intrastate only
(K) restrictions described in rule 761—607.9(321). In addition, a commercial learner’s permit may
include the following restrictions that are specific to the commercial learner’s permit:

a. Passenger. The passenger restriction (P, no passengers in CMV bus) applies to a permit
holder who has a commercial learner’s permit with a passenger or school bus endorsement and
prohibits the operation of a commercial motor vehicle carrying passengers, other than federal/state
auditors and inspectors, test examiners, other trainees, and the commercial driver’s license holder
accompanying the permit holder required by lowa Code section 321.180(2) “d.”

b.  Cargo. The cargo restriction (X, no cargo in CMV tank vehicle) applies to a permit holder
who has a commercial learner’s permit with a tank vehicle endorsement and prohibits the operation of
any tank vehicle containing cargo or any tank vehicle that previously contained hazardous materials
and that has not been purged of any residue.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.180, 321.186 and 321.188.

761—607.11(321) Examination and vision screening. In addition to the knowledge and skills tests
required under this chapter, an applicant for a commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.186.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
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permit is subject to the examination requirements, and must comply with the vision screening and
vision standards, in 761—Chapter 604.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.186 and 321.186A.

761—607.12(321) Knowledge tests.

607.12(1) General knowledge test. The general knowledge test for a commercial driver’s license
is a written test of topics such as vehicle inspection, operation, safety and control in accordance with
49 CFR Section 383.111.

607.12(2) Additional tests. In addition to the general knowledge test for a commercial driver’s
license, an additional knowledge test is required for each of the following:

a. Class A license for combination vehicle operation under 49 CFR Section 383.111.

b. Hazardous material endorsement under 49 CFR Section 383.121. The knowledge test for a
hazardous material endorsement shall not be administered orally or in a language other than English.

c. Passenger vehicle endorsement under 49 CFR Section 383.117.

d.  Tank vehicle endorsement under 49 CFR Section 383.119.

e.  Double/triple trailer endorsement under 49 CFR Section 383.115.

/- School bus endorsement under 49 CFR Section 383.123. The applicant must also qualify for
a passenger vehicle endorsement.

2. Removal of the air brake restriction under 49 CFR Section 383.111.

607.12(3) Test methods. All knowledge tests will be administered in compliance with 49 CFR
Section 383.133(b). All tests other than the hazardous material endorsement test may be administered
in written form or verbally in an automated format and can be administered in a foreign language,
provided no interpreter is used in administering the test.

607.12(4) Waiver. A waiver of any knowledge test is permitted only as provided in lowa Code
section 321.188(5) and this chapter.

607.12(5) Military waiver. The department may waive the requirement that an applicant pass a
required knowledge test for an applicant who is a current or former military service member as
defined in 49 CFR Section 383.5 effective October 1, 2024. An applicant for a waiver of the
knowledge test under this subrule shall certify and provide evidence, as required by the department,
that the following apply:

a. The applicant is regularly employed or was regularly employed within the past year in a
military position specifically designated in 49 CFR Section 383.77.

b.  The applicant is or was operating a vehicle representative of the commercial motor vehicle
the applicant operates or expects to operate immediately preceding honorable separation from military
service as evidenced by the applicant’s certificate of release or discharge from active duty, commonly
referred to as a DD Form 214.

¢.  The applicant has not had more than one driver’s license, other than a military license.

d.  The applicant has not had any driver’s license suspended, revoked, or canceled.

e. The applicant has not been convicted of an offense committed while operating any type of
motor vehicle that is listed as a disqualifying offense in 49 CFR Section 383.51(b).

f. The applicant has not had more than one conviction for an offense committed while operating
any type of motor vehicle that is listed as a serious traffic violation in 49 CFR Section 383.51(c).

g.  The applicant has not had a conviction for violation of a military, state, or local law relating
to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a parking violation, arising in connection with any traffic
accident, and has no record of an accident in which the applicant was at fault.

607.12(6) Requirement. An applicant must pass the applicable knowledge test(s) before taking
the skills test. Passing scores for a knowledge test shall meet the standards contained in 49 CFR
Section 383.135(a).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.186 and 321.188.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/761.604.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.186.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.186A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.186.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
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761—607.13(321,321M) SKkills test.

607.13(1) Content. The skills test for a commercial driver’s license is a three-part test as required
in 49 CFR Part 383, Subparts E, G and H.

607.13(2) Test methods. All skills tests will be administered in compliance with 49 CFR Section
383.133(c). Interpreters are prohibited during the administration of skills tests. However, American
Sign Language interpreters are allowed to interpret during the instruction portion preceding
administration of the skills test. Applicants must be able to understand and respond to verbal
commands and instructions in English by a skills test examiner. Neither the applicant nor the examiner
may communicate in a language other than English during the skills test.

607.13(3) Order. The skills test must be administered and successfully completed in the
following order: pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control skills, on-road skills. If an applicant fails
one segment of the skills test, the applicant cannot continue to the next segment of the test, and scores
for the passed segments of the test are only valid during initial issuance of the commercial learner’s
permit.

607.13(4) Vehicle. The applicant shall provide a representative vehicle for the skills test.
“Representative vehicle” means a commercial motor vehicle that meets the statutory description for
the class of license applied for.

a. To obtain a passenger vehicle endorsement applicable to a specific vehicle class, the applicant
must take the skills test in a passenger vehicle satisfying the requirements of that class, as required in
49 CFR Section 383.117.

b. To obtain a school bus endorsement, the applicant must qualify for a passenger vehicle
endorsement and take the skills test in a school bus in the same vehicle class as the applicant will
drive, as required in 49 CFR Section 383.123.

c. To obtain a tank endorsement, the applicant must take the skills test in a representative
vehicle for the class of license applied for, but the representative vehicle is not required to be a tank
vehicle.

d. To remove an air brake or full air brake restriction, the applicant must take the skills test in a
vehicle equipped with an air brake system and as required in 49 CFR Section 383.113.

e. To remove a manual transmission restriction, the applicant must take the on-road segment of
the skills test in a vehicle equipped with a manual transmission.

607.13(5) Skills test scoring. Passing scores for a skills test shall meet the standards contained in
49 CFR Section 383.135(b).

607.13(6) Military waiver. The department may waive the requirement that an applicant pass a
required skills test for an applicant who is on active duty in the military service or who has separated
from such service in the past year, provided the applicant meets the requirements of lowa Code section
321.188(6).

607.13(7) Locations. The skills test for a commercial driver’s license will be given only at
approved locations where adequate testing facilities are available as specified by the department
pursuant to 49 CFR Section 383.131(b)(1). An applicant may contact any driver’s license service
center for the location of the nearest skills testing center.

607.13(8) Fees. Fees authorized pursuant to lowa Code sections 321.187A and 321M.6A may be
collected by the department or a county treasurer location offering commercial driver’s license skills
tests.

a. Except as provided in paragraph 607.13(8) “c,” the fee for an applicant to schedule the pre-
trip vehicle inspection segment of the skills test with the department is $25. No fees are due to the
department for scheduling the basic vehicle control skills or on-road skills segment of the test.

b.  Except as provided in paragraph 607.13(8)“c,” the fee to schedule the pre-trip vehicle
inspection segment of the skills test with a county treasurer is $25. The fee for a county treasurer to
administer the basic vehicle control skills segment is $25, and the fee to administer the on-road skills
segment of the test is $25. However, if the applicant fails one segment of the driving skills test, no fee
shall be due for a subsequent segment of the test.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.188.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.187A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321M.6A.pdf
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c. If the applicant is an employee or volunteer of a government agency as defined in lowa Code
section 553.3, the following apply:

(1) The department will not charge the pre-trip inspection scheduling fee under paragraph
607.13(8) “a.”

(2) A county treasurer may charge only the pre-trip inspection fee under paragraph 607.13(8)
“p.”

(3) An applicant must provide the department or county treasurer with reasonable proof that the
applicant is an employee or volunteer of a qualifying government agency and that a commercial
driver’s license is necessary for the applicant’s employment or volunteer duties. Reasonable proofis to
be provided on Form 430311. Alternatively, if the applicant is seeking a skills test from a county
treasurer, reasonable proof may include payment of the pre-trip inspection fee by a government
agency on behalf of the applicant.

d. If an applicant fails to appear for the pre-trip inspection segment of the skills test, the
appointment will be canceled and no other applicable fees are due.

e. Except as provided in paragraph 607.13(8) “g, ” new fees will apply if an applicant schedules
a new skills test appointment.

f. The department or a county treasurer may collect any fees due and owed for the skills test at
the same time any fees are collected as part of the commercial driver’s license issuance transaction.

2. Any fees collected under this subrule are nonrefundable. However, nothing in this paragraph
shall be construed as preventing the department or a county treasurer from transferring a fee charged
for a pre-trip inspection to a new pre-trip inspection if rescheduling the appointment is determined
necessary or appropriate as determined by the department or county treasurer upon a showing of good
cause.

h. A skills test fee charged under this subrule that remains unpaid may be collected at the
person’s next driver’s license renewal or replacement.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.186, 321.187A, 321.188 and 321M.6A.

761—607.14(321) Third-party testing.

607.14(1) Purpose and definitions. The knowledge tests required by rule 761—607.12(321) and
the skills test required by rule 761—607.13(321) may be administered by third-party testers and third-
party test examiners approved and certified by the department. For the purpose of administering third-
party testing and this rule, the following definitions are adopted:

“College or university” means an lowa postsecondary school established under lowa Code
chapter 261B.

“Community college” means an lowa community college established under lowa Code chapter
260C.

“Government agency” means the same as defined in lowa Code section 553.3.

“lowa business” means a corporation, association, partnership, company, firm, or other
aggregation of individuals that has a principal place of business in this state and that is authorized to
conduct business in this state.

“Knowledge test” means the knowledge tests required by rule 761—607.12(321).

“Motor carrier” means the same as defined in 49 CFR Section 390.5 effective October 1, 2024.

“Nonprofit” means a corporation or association that satisfies the requirements under lowa Code
chapter 498 or 504.

“Permanent commercial driver training facility” means a facility dedicated to a program of
commercial driving instruction that is offered to employees or potential employees of the motor carrier
as incident to the motor carrier’s commercial operations, that requires at least 40 hours of instruction,
and that includes fixed and permanent structures and facilities for the off-road portions of commercial
driving instruction, including classroom, pretrip inspection, and basic vehicle control skills. A
permanent commercial driver training facility must include a fixed and paved or otherwise hard-


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/553.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.13.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/261B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/260C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/553.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.12.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/498.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/504.pdf
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surfaced area for basic vehicle control skills testing that is permanently marked and capable of
inspection and measurement by the department.

“Principal place of business” means a building actually occupied where the public and the
department may contact the owner or operator during regular business hours. The principal place of
business must be located in this state.

“Public transit system”” means the same as defined in lowa Code section 324A.1.

“Regional transit system” means the same as defined in lowa Code section 324A.1.

“Regular business hours” means to be consistently open to the public on a weekly basis at hours
reported to the motor vehicle division.

“Skills test” means the skills test required by rule 761—607.13(321).

“Subsidiary” means a company that is partly or wholly owned by a motor carrier that holds a
controlling interest in the subsidiary company.

“Third-party test examiner” means the same as defined in lowa Code section 321.187.

“Third-party tester” means the same as defined in Iowa Code section 321.187.

607.14(2) Certification of third-party testers.

a. The department may certify any of the following entities as a third-party tester to administer
knowledge and skills tests:

(1) A college or university.

(2) A community college.

(3) A government agency.

(4) An Iowa business.

(5) A nonprofit.

(6) A public transit system or regional transit system.

b.  An entity seeking certification as a third-party tester shall contact the motor vehicle division
and schedule a review of the proposed testing program, including the proposed testing courses and
facilities, and provide information sufficient to identify all proposed third-party test examiners, and
any other information necessary to demonstrate compliance with 49 CFR Parts 383 and 384 as
amended to October 1, 2024, applicable to knowledge and skills testing.

c¢.  No entity will be certified to conduct third-party testing unless and until the entity enters an
agreement with the department that meets the requirements of 49 CFR Section 383.75 and
demonstrates, to the satisfaction of the department, sufficient ability and facilities to conduct
knowledge and skills tests in a manner that consistently meets the requirements of 49 CFR Part 383,
Subpart E, and 49 CFR Part 384, Subpart B, applicable to knowledge and skills testing.

d.  The department will issue a certified third-party tester a certificate of authority that identifies
the classes and types of vehicles for which knowledge and skills tests may be administered. The
certificate is valid for the duration of the agreement executed pursuant to paragraph 607.14(2) “c,”
unless revoked by the department for engaging in fraudulent activities related to conducting
knowledge and skills tests or failing to comply with the requirements, qualifications, and standards of
this chapter, the agreement, or 49 CFR Part 383, Subpart E, and 49 CFR Part 384, Subpart B,
applicable to knowledge and skills testing.

e. The department will revoke a certificate of authority originally issued after July 1, 2023, to a
third-party tester if the third-party tester fails to administer a minimum of 50 percent of all knowledge
and skills tests given in a calendar year to lowa applicants. However, the department will not revoke a
certificate of authority of a third-party tester who administers a minimum of 10 percent of all
knowledge and skills tests given in a calendar year to lowa applicants if the remainder of the tests are
given to current or prospective employees of the third-party tester. For the purpose of this paragraph,
an “Iowa applicant” is defined as an individual who holds a valid commercial learner’s permit,
commercial driver’s license, noncommercial driver’s license, or nonoperator identification card issued
by the department or who otherwise qualifies as a resident of this state under Iowa Code section
321.1A(1).

607.14(3) Certification of third-party test examiners.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/324A.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/324A.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.607.13.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.187.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.187.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.1A.pdf
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a. A certified third-party tester shall not employ or otherwise use as a third-party test examiner a
person who has not been approved and certified by the department to administer knowledge or skills
tests. Each certified third-party tester shall submit for approval the names of all proposed third-party
test examiners to the department. The department will not approve as a third-party test examiner a
person who does not meet the requirements, qualifications, and standards of 49 CFR Part 383, Subpart
E, and 49 CFR Part 384, Subpart B, applicable to knowledge and skills testing, including but not
limited to all required training and examination, who has been barred from conducting commercial
driver’s license testing in another state, or who has not passed a nationwide criminal background
check. The criteria for passing the nationwide criminal background check means no felony
convictions within the last ten years and no convictions involving fraudulent activities.

b.  The department will issue a certificate of authority for each person certified as a third-party
test examiner that identifies the certified third-party tester for which the person will administer
knowledge or skills tests and the classes and types of vehicles for which the person may administer
knowledge or skills tests. The certificate is valid for a period of four years from the date of issuance of
the certificate.

c. The department will revoke the certificate of authority for a third-party test examiner to
administer skills tests if the person holding the certificate does not administer skills tests to at least ten
different applicants, each of whom has successfully passed all three segments of the skills test, per
calendar year; does not successfully complete the refresher training required by 49 CFR Section
384.228 every four years; is involved in fraudulent activities related to conducting knowledge or skills
tests as determined by the department; or otherwise fails to comply with and meet the requirements,
qualifications and standards of this chapter or 49 CFR Part 383, Subpart E, and 49 CFR Part 384,
Subpart B, applicable to knowledge and skills testing. Notwithstanding anything in this paragraph to
the contrary, as provided in 49 CFR Section 383.75, if the person does not administer skills tests to at
least ten different applicants per calendar year, the certificate will not be revoked for that reason if the
person provides proof of completion of the examiner refresher training in 49 CFR Section 384.228 to
the department and successfully completes one skills test under the observation of a department
examiner or attends and passes with a score of 80 percent or better a certified commercial examiner
training test and successfully completes one skills test under the observation of a department
examiner.

d. The department will revoke the certificate of authority for a third-party test examiner to
administer knowledge tests if the person holding the certificate does not successfully complete the
refresher training required by 49 CFR Section 384.228 every four years, is involved in fraudulent
activities related to conducting knowledge or skills tests or otherwise fails to comply with and meet
the requirements, qualifications and standards of this chapter or 49 CFR Part 383, Subpart E, and 49
CFR Part 384, Subpart B, applicable to knowledge testing.

e. A third-party test examiner certified by the department to administer skills tests who is also a
skills instructor shall not administer a skills test to an applicant who received skills training from that
third-party test examiner.

f- A third-party test examiner may only administer CDL tests for the examiner’s primary
employer, unless authorized by the department to administer CDL tests for another county or third-
party tester.

607.14(4) Bond. As a condition of certification in accordance with 49 CFR Section 383.75, a
third-party tester that is not a government agency as defined in Iowa Code section 553.3 must
maintain a bond in the amount of $50,000 to pay for the retesting of drivers in the event that the third-
party tester or one or more of its third-party test examiners are involved in fraudulent activities related
to conducting tests of CDL applicants.

607.14(5) Training and refresher training for third-party test examiners. All training and
refresher training required under this rule shall be provided by the department, in form and content
that meet the recommendations of the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators’
International Third-Party Examiner/Tester Certification Program.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/553.3.pdf
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This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.187.

761—607.15(321) Test results.

607.15(1) Period of validity. Passing knowledge and skills test results remain valid for a period
of one year.

607.15(2) Retesting. Subject to rule 761—607.13(321), an applicant will be required to repeat
only the knowledge test(s) or part(s) of the skills test that the applicant failed, unless the department
requires the applicant to retake the test as part of an audit. An applicant who fails a test is not
permitted to repeat that test the same day. An applicant may be required to repeat a test if the
department determines the test was improperly administered.

607.15(3) Skills test results from other states. As required by 49 CFR Section 383.79, the
department will accept the valid results of a skills test administered to an applicant who is domiciled
in the state of lowa and that was administered by another state, in accordance with 49 CFR Part 383,
Subparts F, G and H, in fulfillment of the applicant’s testing requirements under 49 CFR Section
383.71 and the state’s test administration requirements under 49 CFR Section 383.73 provided the
results are transmitted directly from the testing state to the department as required by 49 CFR Section
383.79.

607.15(4) Knowledge and skills test results from certified third-party testers. A third-party tester
shall transmit the results of tests administered by the third-party tester through secure electronic means
determined by the department. The department may retest any person who has passed a knowledge or
skills test administered by a certified third-party tester if the department believes the knowledge or
skills test was administered fraudulently or improperly, and as needed to meet the third-party test
examiner oversight requirements of 49 CFR Parts 383 and 384 applicable to knowledge and skills
testing.

607.15(5) Downgrade or cancellation when retesting is required.

a.  When retesting is required under subrule 607.15(2) or 607.15(4), the department will notify
the person to retake the applicable knowledge or skills test, which may include an immediate retest if
part of an audit.

b.  If the person fails to contact the department within 30 days after receipt of the notice, fails to
appear for a scheduled retest, or fails the knowledge or skills test, the department will, in accordance
with the authority in 49 CFR Section 383.5 and lowa Code section 321.201, take one of the following
actions:

(1) Downgrade the person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit if the
person held valid noncommercial driving privileges prior to obtaining the license or permit.

(2) Cancel the person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit pursuant to
761—subrule 615.7(3) if the applicant did not hold valid noncommercial driving privileges prior to
obtaining the license or permit.

c.  All applicable retesting and licensure requirements apply to a person seeking to regain the
person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit after a downgrade or
cancellation.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.180, 321.186, 321.187, 321.188 and
321.201.

761—607.16(321) Knowledge and skills testing of nondomiciled military personnel.

607.16(1) Role of state of duty station. The department may accept an application for a
commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit, including an application for waiver of the
knowledge test as provided in subrule 607.12(5), if the applicant is an active duty military service
member stationed, but not domiciled, in Iowa, and the department has an agreement to accept such
applications with the applicant’s state of domicile as provided in 49 CFR Section 383.79.

a. The applicant shall certify and provide evidence that the following apply:


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.187.pdf
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(1) The applicant is regularly employed or was regularly employed within the past year in a
military position requiring operation of a commercial motor vehicle.

(2) The applicant has a valid driver’s license from the applicant’s state of domicile.

(3) The applicant has a valid active duty military identification card.

(4) The applicant has a current copy of either the applicant’s military leave and earnings
statement or the applicant’s orders.

b.  If the applicant meets the requirements of paragraph 607.16(1) “a” and the department has an
agreement with the applicant’s state of domicile as provided in this subrule, the department may do
either of the following:

(1) Administer the knowledge and skills tests to the applicant as appropriate in accordance with
49 CFR Part 383, Subparts F, G, and H, if the state of domicile requires those tests; or

(2) Waive the knowledge and skills tests in accordance with 49 CFR Section 383.77 and this
chapter if the state of domicile also permits waiver of the knowledge and skills test.

c.  The department may destroy the applicant’s driver’s license on behalf of the state of domicile
unless the state of domicile requires the driver’s license to be surrendered to the state of domicile’s
driver’s licensing agency.

607.16(2) Electronic transmission of application and test results. The department will transmit
to the state of domicile the applicant’s application, any supporting documents and the results of any
skills or knowledge tests administered as provided under this rule.

607.16(3) Role of state of domicile. If the department has an agreement with the applicant’s state
of duty station, upon completion of the applicant’s application pursuant to 49 CFR Section 383.71 and
any testing administered by the applicant’s state of duty station pursuant to 49 CFR Sections 383.71
and 383.73, the department may do all of the following:

a. Accept the completed application, any supporting documents, and the results of the
knowledge and skills tests administered by the applicant’s state of duty station.

b.  Issue the applicant a CLP or CDL.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.180, 321.186, 321.187, and 321.188.

761—607.17(321) Commercial driver’s license renewal. The department will administer
commercial driver’s license renewals as required by 49 CFR Section 383.73.

607.17(1) Licensee requirements. Unless eligible for electronic renewal pursuant to subrule
761—605.25(8), to renew a commercial driver’s license, the licensee shall apply at a driver’s license
service center and complete the following requirements:

a. Provide a written self-certification of type of driving as required by rule 761—607.23(321)
and, if required, provide a current medical examiner’s certificate unless the person’s medical
examiner’s certificate is provided to the department electronically by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration.

b.  If the licensee currently holds and wants to retain a hazardous material endorsement, pass the
test required in 49 CFR Section 383.121 and comply with the Transportation Security Administration
security threat assessment standards specified in 49 CFR Section 383.71(b)(8) and 49 CFR Section
383.141 effective October 1, 2024, for such endorsement. A lawful permanent resident of the United
States must also provide the licensee’s U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services alien registration
number.

¢.  Provide proof of citizenship or lawful permanent residency and state of domicile as required
by rule 761—607.6(321) and 49 CFR Section 383.73(d)(7) unless proof of citizenship or lawful
permanent residency was previously provided and the department has a notation on the licensee’s
record confirming that the required proof of legal citizenship or legal presence check was made and
the date on which it was made.

d. If the licensee is domiciled in a foreign jurisdiction and renewing a non-domiciled
commercial driver’s license, provide a document required by 49 CFR Section 383.71(f) at each
renewal.
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607.17(2) Early renewal. A valid commercial driver’s license may be renewed 90 days before
the expiration date. If this is impractical, the department for good cause may renew a license earlier,
not to exceed 364 days prior to the expiration date. The department may allow renewal earlier than
364 days prior to the expiration date for active military personnel being deployed due to actual or
potential military conflict.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.186, 321.188 and 321.196.

761—607.18(321) Transfers from another state. Upon initial application for an lowa license, an
Iowa resident who has a valid commercial driver’s license from a former state of residence is not
required to retest except as specified in lowa Code section 321.188(5) but is required to pay the
applicable endorsement and restriction removal fees.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.188 and 321.191.

761—607.19(17A,321) Disqualification.

607.19(1) Date. A disqualifying act, action or offense under lowa Code section 321.208, that
occurred before July 1, 1990, shall not be grounds for disqualification from operating a commercial
motor vehicle.

607.19(2) Notice. A 30-day advance notice of disqualification shall be served by the department
in accordance with rule 761—615.37(321). Pursuant to Iowa Code section 321.208(12), a peace
officer on behalf of the department may serve the notice of disqualification immediately.

607.19(3) Hearing and appeal process. A person who has received a notice of disqualification
may contest the disqualification in accordance with 761—615.38(17A,321).

607.19(4) Reduction of lifetime disqualification.

a. As permitted by 49 CFR Section 383.51, a person subject to lifetime disqualification of the
person’s commercial driving privileges may apply to the department for reinstatement. The approval is
subject to the discretion of the department and subject to the following requirements:

(1) The request may not be made prior to ten years from the effective date of the lifetime
disqualification.

(2) The person must submit the request in a manner prescribed by the department.

(3) If the driving record contains alcohol-related or drug-related offenses that resulted in the
lifetime disqualification, the person must have completed an alcohol or drug evaluation and have
completed any recommended treatment that meets or exceeds the minimum standards approved by the
Iowa department of health and human services. Evidence of a completed evaluation and treatment
must be on file with the department or submitted with the application for reinstatement.

(4) Within the ten years preceding the request, the person must not have any of the following
moving violation convictions:

1. A drug or alcohol offense.

2. Leaving the scene of an accident.

3. A felony involving the use of any motor vehicle.

4.  Any moving violation while operating a commercial motor vehicle.

(5) The department may request, and the person shall provide, any additional information or
documentation necessary to determine the person’s eligibility for reinstatement or general fitness for
licensure.

b.  If the department finds the person is eligible for reinstatement under this subrule, the person
shall do all of the following prior to reinstatement:

(1) Pay all outstanding reinstatement fees.

(2) Meet all outstanding reinstatement requirements.

(3) Pass the required knowledge, vision, and skills tests as specified in lowa Code section
321.188.

(4) Complete any other courses or requirements as required by the director.
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c¢.  As provided in 49 CFR Section 383.51(a)(6), a person who has been disqualified for life for
offenses committed under 49 CFR Section 383.51(b)(9) and (10), and a person who has previously
had the person’s commercial driving privileges reinstated pursuant to this subrule but is convicted of a
new disqualifying offense, is not eligible to apply for reinstatement.

d.  If the department determines the person is not eligible for reinstatement as provided in this
subrule, the department will send notice by first-class mail to the person’s mailing address as shown
on departmental records that the lifetime disqualification remains in effect.

607.19(5) Fraud related to testing and issuance.

a. As required by 49 CFR Section 383.73(k) and lowa Code section 321.201(2)“h,” the
department will disqualify the commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit of a person
convicted or suspected of fraud related to the testing for or issuance of a commercial driver’s license
or commercial learner’s permit.

b.  Upon receipt of a person’s conviction of fraud related to the issuance of the commercial
driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit, the department will disqualify the person’s
commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit for one year.

c.  Upon receipt of credible evidence that a person is suspected of committing fraud relating to
the issuance of a commercial driver’s license or a commercial learner’s permit, the department will
notify the person of the requirement to retake the applicable knowledge or skills test. Within 30 days
of receiving notice from the department, the person is required to contact the department to retake the
knowledge or skills test. If the person fails to contact the department within 30 days after the notice, or
the person fails the knowledge or skills test, or does not take the test, the department will disqualify
the person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit.

d. Once a person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit has been
disqualified, a new application for license will be required following the usual procedures as provided
in lowa Code section 321.188 and this chapter.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A and section 321.208.

761—607.20(321) Sanctions. When a person’s motor vehicle license is denied, canceled, suspended,
revoked or barred, the person is also disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.208.

761—607.21(321) Reinstatement. To reinstate a commercial driver’s license after completion of a
period of disqualification, a person must appear at a driver’s license service center, meet the vision
standards for licensing, pass the applicable knowledge test(s) and the skills test, and pay the required
reinstatement fee and the fees for a new license.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.191 and 321.208.

761—607.22(321) Restricted commercial driver’s license.

607.22(1) Scope. This rule pertains to the issuance of restricted commercial driver’s licenses to
employees of the following designated farm-related service industries: agrichemical businesses,
custom harvesters, farm retail outlets and suppliers and livestock feeders as permitted by 49 CFR
Section 383.3(f). A restricted commercial driver’s license shall meet all requirements of a regular
commercial driver’s license, as set out in lowa Code chapter 321 and this chapter, except as specified
in this rule.

607.22(2) Validity.

a. A restricted commercial driver’s license allows the licensee to drive a commercial motor
vehicle for agricultural input purposes. The license is valid to:

(1) Operate Class B and Class C commercial motor vehicles, including tank vehicles and
vehicles equipped with air brakes, except passenger vehicles.

(2) Transport the hazardous materials listed in paragraph 607.22(2) “b.”

(3) Operate only during the current, validated seasonal period.
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(4) Operate between the employer’s place of business and the farm currently being served, not to
exceed 150 miles.

b. A restricted commercial driver’s license is not valid for transporting hazardous materials
requiring placarding, except as follows:

(1) Liquid fertilizers such as anhydrous ammonia may be transported in vehicles or implements
of husbandry with total capacities of 3,000 gallons or less.

(2) Solid fertilizers such as ammonium nitrate may be transported, provided they are not mixed
with any organic substance.

(3) A hazardous material endorsement is not needed to transport the products listed in the
preceding subparagraphs.

c¢.  When not driving for agricultural input purposes, the license is valid for operating a
noncommercial motor vehicle that may be legally operated under the noncommercial license held by
the licensee.

607.22(3) Requirements.

a. The applicant must have two years of previous driving experience. This means that the
applicant held a license that permits unaccompanied driving for at least two years, including an
intermediate license issued pursuant to lowa Code section 321.180B. This does not include a
motorized bicycle license, a special minor’s restricted license or a minor’s restricted work license.

b.  The applicant must have a good driving record for the most recent two-year period as defined
in subrule 607.22(4).

¢.  An applicant who currently holds an unrestricted commercial driver’s license is not eligible
for issuance of a restricted commercial driver’s license.

607.22(4) Good driving record. A “good driving record” means a driving record showing:

a.  No multiple licenses.

b.  No driver’s license suspensions, revocations, disqualifications, denials, bars, or cancellations
of any kind.

¢.  No convictions in any type of motor vehicle for:

(1) Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

(2) Leaving the scene of an accident.

(3) Committing any felony involving a motor vehicle.

(4) Speeding 15 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.

(5) Reckless driving, drag racing, or eluding or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer.

(6) Improper or erratic lane changes.

(7) Following too closely.

(8) A moving violation that contributed to a motor vehicle accident.

(9) A violation deemed serious under rule 761—615.17(321).

d.  No record of contributive accidents as defined in rule 761—615.1(321).

607.22(5) Issuance.

a. The knowledge and skills tests described in rules 761—607.12(321) and 761—607.13(321)
are waived.

b. A restricted commercial driver’s license will be coded with restriction “W” on the face of the
driver’s license, with the restriction explained in text on the back of the driver’s license. In addition,
the license will be issued with a restriction stating the license’s period of validity.

c.  The expiration date for a restricted commercial driver’s license that is converted from another
Iowa license will carry the same expiration date as the previous license.

d. A restricted commercial driver’s license may be renewed for the period of time specified in
Iowa Code section 321.196. The licensee’s good driving record will be confirmed at the time of
renewal.

e. A licensee may have up to three individual periods of validity for a restricted commercial
driver’s license, provided the cumulative period of validity for all individual periods does not exceed
210 days in any calendar year. An individual period of validity may be 70, 105, or 210 consecutive
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days, at the election of the licensee. A licensee may add 35 days to an individual period of validity by
applying for an extension, subject to the 210-day cumulative maximum period of validity. A request
for extension must be made no later than the date of expiration of the individual period of validity for
which an extension is requested; a request for extension made after that date will be treated as a
request for a new individual period of validity. An extension will be calculated from the date of
expiration of the individual period of validity for which an extension is requested. Any period of
validity authorized previously by another state’s license will be considered a part of the 210-day
cumulative maximum period of validity.

f- A restricted commercial driver’s license must be validated for commercial motor vehicle
operation for each individual period of validity. This means the department will confirm the person’s
good driving record at each application for an individual period of validity. Upon confirmation, the
department will issue a replacement license with a restriction validating the license for that individual
period of validity, provided the person is otherwise eligible for the license.

g The requirements of this subrule must be met for each individual period of validity within a
calendar year.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.176B.

761—607.23(321) Self-certification of type of driving and submission of medical examiner’s
certificate.

607.23(1) Applicants for a commercial learner’s permit, a restricted commercial driver s license,
or a duplicate, new, transferred, renewed or upgraded CDL.

a. A person shall provide to the department a self-certification of type of driving if the person is
applying for:

(1) A commercial learner’s permit.

(2) An initial commercial driver’s license.

(3) A transfer of a commercial driver’s license from a prior state of domicile to the state of lowa.

(4) Renewal of a commercial driver’s license.

(5) A license upgrade for a commercial driver’s license or an endorsement authorizing the
operation of a commercial motor vehicle not covered by the current commercial driver’s license.

(6) A restricted commercial driver’s license.

(7) A duplicate of any of the credentials listed in subparagraphs (1) through (6) above.

b. The self-certification shall be on a form or in a format, which may be electronic, as
determined by the department.

607.23(2) Submission of medical examiner’s certificate by persons certifying to non-excepted
interstate driving. Every person who self-certifies to non-excepted interstate driving must give the
department a copy of the person’s current medical examiner’s certificate, unless the person’s medical
examiner’s certificate is provided to the department electronically by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration. The department will not issue, transfer, renew, or upgrade a license until the
department receives a medical examiner’s certificate that complies with the requirements of this
subrule, or unless the person changes the person’s self-certification of type of driving to a type other
than non-excepted interstate driving. When the department receives a current medical examiner’s
certificate, the department will post information required by 49 CFR Section 383.73 and a medical
certification status of “certified” on the person’s CDLIS driver’s record. A person who self-certifies to
a type of driving other than non-excepted interstate will not have a medical certification status on the
CDLIS driver’s record.

607.23(3) Maintaining certified status. To maintain a medical certification status of “certified,” a
person who self-certifies to non-excepted interstate driving must give the department a copy of each
subsequently issued medical examiner’s certificate valid for the person unless the person’s medical
examiner’s certificate is provided to the department electronically by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration.
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607.23(4) CDL downgrade. If the medical examiner’s certificate or medical variance for a
person self-certifying to non-excepted interstate driving expires or if the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration notifies the department that the person’s medical variance was removed or rescinded,
the department will post a medical certification status of “not certified” to the person’s CDLIS driver’s
record and will initiate a downgrade of the person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial
learner’s permit. The medical examiner’s certificate of a person who fails to maintain a medical
certification status of “certified” as required by subrule 607.23(3) is deemed expired on the date of
expiration of the last medical examiner’s certificate filed for the person as shown by the person’s
CDLIS driver’s record. The downgrade will be initiated and completed as follows:

a. The department will provide the person written notice that the person’s medical certification
status is “not certified” and that the commercial motor vehicle privileges will be removed from the
person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit 60 days after the date the medical
examiner’s certificate or medical variance expired or the medical variance was removed or rescinded
unless the department receives a current medical certificate or medical variance or the person self-
certifies to a type of driving other than non-excepted interstate.

b.  If the department receives a current medical examiner’s certificate or medical variance before
the end of the 60-day period, the department will post a medical certification status of “certified” on
the person’s CDLIS driver’s record and will terminate the downgrade of the person’s commercial
driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit.

c.  If the person self-certifies to a type of driving other than non-excepted interstate before the
end of the 60-day period, the department will not remove the commercial motor vehicle privileges
from the person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit, and the person will
have no medical certification status on the person’s CDLIS driver’s record.

d.  If the requirements in either paragraph 607.23(4) “b” or “c” are not met before the end of the
60-day period, the department will remove the commercial motor vehicle privileges from the person’s
commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit and will leave the person’s medical
certification status as “not certified” on the person’s CDLIS driver’s record.

607.23(5) Establishment or reestablishment of “certified” status. A person who has no medical
certification status or whose medical certification status has been posted as “not certified” on the
person’s CDLIS driver’s record may have the person’s status established or reestablished as “certified”
if the department receives a current medical examiner’s certificate or medical variance. A person who
has failed to self-certify to a type of driving or has self-certified to a type of driving other than non-
excepted interstate must also make a self-certification of type of driving to non-excepted interstate
driving. The department will then post a medical certification status of “certified” on the person’s
CDLIS driver’s record.

607.23(6) Reestablishment of the CDL privilege. A person whose commercial motor vehicle
privileges have been removed from the person’s commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s
permit under the provisions of paragraph 607.23(4)“d” may have the person’s commercial motor
vehicle privileges reestablished if either of the following occurs:

a. The department receives the person’s current medical examiner’s certificate or medical
variance. A person who has failed to self-certify to a type of driving must also make an initial self-
certification of type of driving to non-excepted interstate driving. The department will then post a
medical certification status of “certified” on the person’s CDLIS driver’s record and reestablish the
commercial motor vehicle privileges, provided that the person otherwise remains eligible for a
commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit.

b. The person self-certifies to a type of driving other than non-excepted interstate. The
department will then reestablish the commercial motor vehicle privileges, provided that the person
otherwise remains eligible for a commercial driver’s license or commercial learner’s permit; the
person will have no medical certification status on the driver’s CDLIS driver’s record.

607.23(7) Change of type of driving. A person may change the person’s self-certification of type
of driving at any time. As required by subrule 607.23(2), the department must receive a copy of the
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person’s current medical examiner’s certificate prepared by a medical examiner for a person certifying
to non-excepted interstate driving.

607.23(8) Recordkeeping. The department will comply with the medical recordkeeping
requirements set forth in 49 CFR Section 383.73.

607.23(9) Medical examiners certificate conflict. As required by 49 CFR Sections 383.71 and
383.73, in the event of a conflict between the medical certification information provided electronically
by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration and a paper copy of the medical examiner’s
certificate, the medical certification information provided electronically by the Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Administration shall supersede.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.182, 321.188 and 321.207.

761—607.24(321) National drug and alcohol clearinghouse.

607.24(1) Applicability. This rule applies to:

a.  An applicant for or holder of a commercial learner’s permit,

b.  An applicant for or holder of a commercial driver’s license,

¢.  An applicant seeking to transfer a commercial driver’s license from a prior state of domicile
to the state of Iowa,

d.  An applicant seeking renewal of a commercial driver’s license,

e. An applicant seeking to upgrade a commercial driver’s license or add an endorsement
authorizing the operation of a commercial motor vehicle not covered by the current commercial
driver’s license, or

f- An applicant for or holder of a restricted commercial driver’s license.

607.24(2) Issuance procedures. Prior to issuing the license or permit, the department will request
information from the national drug and alcohol clearinghouse to determine if the person is prohibited
from operating a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 CFR Section 382.501(a). The department
will not issue, renew, transfer, or upgrade the license or permit if the person is prohibited from
operating a commercial motor vehicle pursuant to 49 CFR Section 382.501(a). However, this subrule
is not in effect prior to the date established by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration in 49
CFR Section 383.73 for state driver’s license agency compliance with national drug and alcohol
clearinghouse requirements.

607.24(3) CDL downgrade. Upon receiving notification that pursuant to 49 CFR Section
382.501(a) the person is prohibited from operating a commercial motor vehicle, the department will
downgrade the license or permit and record the downgrade on the CDLIS driver record within 60 days
of the department’s receipt of such notification. However, this subrule is not in effect prior to the date
established by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration in 49 CFR Section 383.73 for state
driver’s license agency compliance with national drug and alcohol clearinghouse requirements. The
downgrade will be initiated and completed as follows:

a. The department will give the person written notice that the person is prohibited from
operating a commercial motor vehicle due to notification the department received from the national
drug and alcohol clearinghouse that the person has engaged in conduct prohibited by 49 CFR Section
382.501(a) and that upon receipt of the notification, the department initiated a downgrade of the
person’s CLP or CDL.

b.  If the department receives notification that the person is no longer prohibited from operating
a commercial motor vehicle before the downgrade is completed, the department will terminate the
downgrade process without removing the CLP or CDL privilege from the driver’s license, transmit the
information to the person’s CDLIS driver record, and send written notice to the person.

c. 1If, after the downgrade is completed, the department receives notification from the national
drug and alcohol clearinghouse that a driver is no longer prohibited from operating a commercial
motor vehicle, the department will record the end of the downgrade on the person’s CDLIS driver
record, reinstate the CLP or CDL privilege to the driver’s license, and send written notice to the
person.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.182.pdf
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IAB TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT|761] 23

d. If, after the downgrade is completed, the department receives notification from the national
drug and alcohol clearinghouse that the person was erroneously identified as prohibited from
operating a commercial motor vehicle, the department will reinstate the CLP or CDL privilege to the
driver’s license as expeditiously as possible and remove from the CDLIS driver record and driving
record any reference related to the person’s erroneous prohibited status.

607.24(4) Limitation on hearing and appeal. An informal settlement, hearing, or appeal to
contest the downgrade is limited to a determination of whether the facts required by lowa Code
sections 321.188 and 321.207 and this rule are true. The merits of the information conveyed by the
national drug and alcohol clearinghouse to the department shall not be considered.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 321.188 and 321.207.

761—607.25(321) Determination of gross vehicle weight rating.

607.25(1) Actual weight prohibited. In determining whether the vehicle is a representative
vehicle for the skills test and the group of commercial driver’s license for which the applicant is
applying, the vehicle’s gross weight rating or gross combination weight rating must be used, not the
vehicle’s actual gross weight or gross combination weight. For purposes of this rule, “gross weight
rating” and “gross combination weight rating” mean the same as defined in 49 CFR Section 383.5
effective October 1, 2024.

607.25(2) Vehicle without legible manufacturer’s certification label. To complete a skills test
using a vehicle that has no legible manufacturer’s certification label, whether a power unit or towed
vehicle, the applicant must provide documentation of the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight rating, such as
a manufacturer’s certificate of origin, a title, or the vehicle identification number information for the
vehicle. In the absence of such documentation, the vehicle may not be used, either alone or in
combination.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 321.1.
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