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Regulatory Analysis

Notice of Intended Action to be published: lowa Administrative Code 761—Chapter 620
“OWI and Implied Consent”

Iowa Code section(s) or chapter(s) authorizing rulemaking: 307.12(1)*},” 321.193 and 321J.3
State or federal law(s) implemented by the rulemaking: lowa Code chapters 17A and 321J and
sections 125.84, 125.86, 321.193, 321.201, 321.215, 321.376 and 707.6A

Public Hearing

A public hearing at which persons may present their views orally or in writing will be held as
follows:

October 10, 2024 Microsoft Teams link
3t03:30 p.m. Or dial: 515.817.6093
Conference ID: 527 660 638

Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this Regulatory Analysis. Written
comments in response to this Regulatory Analysis must be received by the Department of

Transportation no later than 4:30 p.m. on the date of the public hearing. Comments should be directed
to:

Kasey Lee

6310 SE Convenience Boulevard
Ankeny, Iowa 50021

Email: kasey.lee@iowadot.us

Purpose and Summary

The purpose of the proposed chapter is to implement lowa Code chapter 321J and outline the
requirements for a person who has violated Iowa’s operating while intoxicated (OWI) laws. The
chapter also explains the issuance requirements for a temporary restricted license, the hearings and
appeals procedures, and the reinstatement requirements.

Analysis of Impact

1. Persons affected by the proposed rulemaking:

® C(lasses of persons that will bear the costs of the proposed rulemaking:

There are no costs or fees associated with this chapter; rather, it provides guidance and explanation
for individuals following an OWI conviction. The chapter does not require any fees or costs beyond
what is required by the underlying statute.

® C(lasses of persons that will benefit from the proposed rulemaking:

Persons who are seeking a temporary restricted license or to reinstate their driver’s license
following an OWI offense; persons who are seeking to appeal an OWI revocation; and persons who
are substance use disorder providers, drinking driving class providers, and law enforcement officials
who provide information to individuals following an OWI conviction will benefit.

2. Impact of the proposed rulemaking, economic or otherwise, including the nature and amount
of all the different kinds of costs that would be incurred:
e (Quantitative description of impact:


https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_NjFkMGM3NWQtMjkzNy00NGYwLTljNWItNDY2YTdmMWEwMjZh%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22a1e65fcc-32fa-4fdd-8692-0cc2eb06676e%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%220a0b5691-4cd7-4825-a86d-69aefc0d9b11%22%7d
mailto:kasey.lee@iowadot.us
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There are no additional quantitative impacts that were not already anticipated as a result of the
underlying statute.

® (Qualitative description of impact:

The result of reorganizing, streamlining, and reducing redundancy in the proposed chapter will
create a positive impact by producing a more user-friendly version of information the public relies on
for understanding the requirements for a driver following an OWI conviction.

3. Costs to the State:

e Implementation and enforcement costs borne by the agency or any other agency:

There are no additional implementation or enforcement costs in the proposed rules that were not
already required as a result of the underlying statutes. The statute requires the Department to adopt
rules for standards for requirements for a temporary restricted license and reinstatement following an
OWI conviction.

e Anticipated effect on state revenues:

There are no anticipated effects on state revenues beyond the underlying statute.

4. Comparison of the costs and benefits of the proposed rulemaking to the costs and benefits of
inaction:

The benefit of the proposed chapter is consistency and transparency for standards for driver
education courses provided in Iowa. The cost of the proposed rules is the same as the costs required by
the underlying statute.

The cost of inaction is the inability for the public to quickly and efficiently understand the
standards required for drivers following an OWI conviction. There is no benefit of inaction.

5. Determination whether less costly methods or less intrusive methods exist for achieving the
purpose of the proposed rulemaking:

There are no less costly or less intrusive methods to achieve the purpose of the proposed rules,
which is to quickly and efficiently provide information to the public regarding the required standards
for drivers following an OWI offense in Iowa.

6. Alternative methods considered by the agency:

e Description of any alternative methods that were seriously considered by the agency:

The Department did not consider alternatives to the proposed rules. Requirements for individuals
following an OWI offense are set forth in the Iowa Code.

e Reasons why alternative methods were rejected in favor of the proposed rulemaking:

No alternatives to the proposed rules were considered.

Small Business Impact

If the rulemaking will have a substantial impact on small business, include a discussion of whether
it would be feasible and practicable to do any of the following to reduce the impact of the rulemaking
on small business:

e [FEstablish less stringent compliance or reporting requirements in the rulemaking for small
business.

e [FEstablish less stringent schedules or deadlines in the rulemaking for compliance or reporting
requirements for small business.

e (onsolidate or simplify the rulemaking’s compliance or reporting requirements for small
business.

e [FEstablish performance standards to replace design or operational standards in the rulemaking
for small business.

e Exempt small business from any or all requirements of the rulemaking.

If legal and feasible, how does the rulemaking use a method discussed above to reduce the
substantial impact on small business?
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There is no impact on small business since the rules apply to individuals, not businesses or
entities. The proposed rules apply equally to all individuals following an OWI offense.

Text of Proposed Rulemaking
ITem 1. Rescind 761—Chapter 620 and adopt the following new chapter in lieu thereof:

CHAPTER 620
OWI AND IMPLIED CONSENT

761—620.1(307,321J) Information and location. Information relating to this chapter is available by
mail from the Motor Vehicle Division, lowa Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 9204, Des
Moines, Iowa 50306-9204; in person at 6310 SE Convenience Blvd., Ankeny, lowa; by telephone at
515.244.9124; by email at driver.services@iowadot.us; or by facsimile at 515.239.1837.

761—620.2(307,321,321J) Issuance of temporary restricted license.

620.2(1) Application.

a. An application for a temporary restricted license may be submitted, at any time before or
during the revocation period, by completing Form 430400. The application form should be furnished
by the arresting officer. It may also be obtained upon oral or written request to the motor vehicle
division in person or by mail at the address in rule 761—620.1(307,321J) or online at
www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/suspensions-and-revocations.

620.2(2) Additional requirements. A person applying for a temporary restricted license will
comply with all of the following requirements:

a.  Submit proof of financial responsibility under Iowa Code chapter 321A for all motor vehicles
owned or operated under the temporary restricted license.

b.  Provide certification of installation of an approved ignition interlock device on each vehicle
required pursuant to lowa Code section 321J.20(2).

c.  Pay the $200 civil penalty.

d. Pay the applicable reinstatement and license fees.

e. Pass the appropriate examination for the type of vehicle to be operated under the temporary
restricted license.

620.2(3) Restrictions. Upon receipt and approval of an application, the department will
determine the restrictions to be imposed by the temporary restricted license. The licensee is to apply to
the department in writing with a justification for any requested change in license restrictions.

620.2(4) Denial. A person who has been denied a temporary restricted license or who contests
the restrictions imposed by the department may contest the decision at any time in accordance with
rule 761—620.3(17A,307,321)).

761—620.3(17A,307,321J) Hearings and appeals.

620.3(1) Contested case hearing.

a. A person may request a contested case hearing by submitting Form 432034 to the department
or by submitting a written request to the motor vehicle division. The request is to include the person’s
name, date of birth, driver’s license number, complete address and telephone number.

b. A request for a hearing to contest a revocation is to be submitted within ten days following
receipt of the revocation notice. The request will be deemed timely submitted if it is delivered to the
motor vehicle division or properly addressed and postmarked within this time period.

c.  Failure to timely request a hearing on a revocation is a waiver of the right to a hearing under
Iowa Code chapter 321J, and the revocation shall become effective on the date specified in the
revocation notice.

d.  After a hearing, a written decision will be issued by the presiding officer.


mailto:driver.services@iowadot.us
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.620.1.pdf
http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/driverslicense/suspensions-and-revocations
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/761.620.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
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620.3(2) Appeal. A decision by a presiding officer shall become the final decision of the
department unless either party appeals the decision in accordance with this subrule.

a. An appeal is to be decided on the basis of the record made before the presiding officer in the
contested case hearing, and no additional evidence shall be presented.

b.  An appeal is to include a statement of the specific issues presented for review and the precise
ruling or relief requested.

c¢.  An appeal of the presiding officer’s decision shall be submitted in writing to the motor
vehicle division.

d. An appeal is deemed timely submitted if it is received by the motor vehicle division or
properly addressed and postmarked within ten days after receipt of the presiding officer’s decision.

e. The motor vehicle division will forward the appeal to the director of transportation or
director’s designee (director). The director may aftirm, moditfy, or reverse the decision of the presiding
officer or may remand the case to the presiding officer.

/- Failure to timely appeal a decision shall be considered a failure to exhaust administrative
remedies.

620.3(3) Final agency action. The decision of the director is the final decision of the department
and constitutes final agency action for purposes of judicial review. No further steps are necessary to
exhaust administrative remedies.

620.3(4) Default.

a. If a party fails to appear or participate in a contested case proceeding after proper service of
notice, the presiding officer may, if no continuance is granted, either enter a default decision or
proceed with the hearing and render a decision in the absence of the party.

b. Any party may move for default against a party who has requested the contested case
proceeding and who has failed to appear after proper service.

¢. A default decision or a decision rendered on the merits after a party has failed to appear or
participate in a contested case proceeding becomes final agency action unless, within ten days after
receipt of the decision, either a motion to vacate is filed and served on the presiding officer and the
other parties or an appeal of a decision on the merits is timely submitted in accordance with subrule
620.3(2). A motion to vacate is to state all facts relied upon by the moving party which establish that
good cause existed for that party’s failure to appear or participate.

d.  The time for further appeal of a decision for which a timely motion to vacate has been filed is
stayed pending a decision on the motion to vacate.

e. Timely filed motions to vacate are to be granted only for good cause shown. The burden of
proof is on the moving party. Adverse parties are to respond to a motion to vacate within ten days.

f “Good cause” for the purpose of this rule means surprise, excusable neglect, or unavoidable
casualty.

g. A decision denying a motion to vacate is subject to further appeal in accordance with subrule
620.3(2).

h. A decision granting a motion to vacate is subject to interlocutory appeal by the adverse party
in accordance with subrule 620.3(2).

i. If a motion to vacate is granted and no timely interlocutory appeal has been taken, the
presiding officer shall issue another notice of hearing and the contested case is to proceed accordingly.

620.3(5) Petition to reopen a hearing.

a. A petition to reopen a hearing pursuant to lowa Code section 17A.16 is to be submitted in
writing to the motor vehicle division. If a petition is based on a court order, a copy of the court order
shall be submitted with the petition. If a petition is based on new evidence, the petitioner shall submit
a concise statement of the new evidence and the reason(s) for the unavailability of the evidence at the
original hearing.

b. A petition to reopen a hearing may be submitted at any time even if a hearing to contest the
revocation was not originally requested or held.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/17A.pdf
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¢. A person may appeal a denial of the petition to reopen. A timely appeal is delivered to the
motor vehicle division or properly addressed and postmarked within 20 days after issuance of the
decision denying the petition to reopen.

761—620.4(321J) Reinstatement. The department may reinstate the driver’s license when the

9

revocation has ended if the person has satisfied the requirements under paragraphs 620.2(2) “a” and

9

¢” through “e” and Iowa Code section 321J.17.

761—620.5(307,321,321J) Issuance of temporary restricted license after revocation period has
expired. The department may issue a temporary restricted license under lowa Code section 321J.20(6)
for six months from the end of the original revocation, unless a longer period of time is necessary to
complete the requirements for driver’s license reinstatement.

620.5(1) An applicant for a temporary restricted license under this rule must demonstrate to the
satisfaction of the department one of the following:

a. That a course for drinking drivers was not readily available to the person during the
revocation period and that the applicant has enrolled in a course for drinking drivers. The applicant
must furnish the dates the class will begin and end.

b.  That substance use disorder evaluation and treatment have not been completed because of an
inability to schedule them or because they are ongoing.

c¢. That due to surprise, excusable neglect, or unavoidable casualty, the applicant has been
unable to meet the requirements under rule 761—620.2(307,321,321J) and needs additional time for
completion.

620.5(2) An applicant for a temporary restricted license under this rule must meet all other
conditions for issuance of a temporary restricted license under rule 761—620.2(307,321,321J) and
Iowa Code section 321J.20.

761—620.6(307,321J) Revocation for deferred judgment. The revocation period under lowa Code
section 321J.4(3) shall be 90 days.

761—620.7(125,321J) Substance use disorder evaluation and treatment. When the department
revokes a person’s driver’s license under lowa Code chapter 321J, the department shall also order the
person to submit to substance use disorder evaluation and, if recommended, substance use disorder
treatment. A provider of substance use disorder evaluation and treatment shall be licensed by the lowa
department of health and human services pursuant to lowa Code chapter 125.

620.7(1) Reporting.

a. When a person has satisfactorily completed substance use disorder evaluation and treatment,
the program provider shall electronically report completion to the department in a manner approved
by the department.

b. Reporting to the department shall be in accordance with Iowa Code sections 125.84 and
125.86 and 42 CFR §2.13 effective February 16, 2024.

620.7(2) Payment. Payment of substance use disorder evaluation and treatment shall be in
accordance with lowa department of health and human services rules.

761—620.8(321J) Drinking drivers course. When a person who has been ordered to enroll, attend,
and satisfactorily complete a course for drinking drivers under Iowa Code chapter 321J has
successfully completed the course, the program provider under lowa Code section 321J.22(2) “a”
shall electronically report completion to the department in a manner approved by the department.
These rules are intended to implement lowa Code chapters 17A and 321J and sections 125.84,

125.86,307.12(1) ), 321.193, 321.201, 321.215, 321.376 and 707.6A.
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