#### IOWA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

### PUBLIC INPUT MEETING DELEGATION SUMMARY

Iowa State Capitol | Des Moines, IA | February 12, 2019

#### **Iowa Public Transit Association**

Carl Lingen, Executive Director, will present on the state of transit in Iowa including initiatives and need.

# **Iowa Public Airports Association**

Rhonda Chambers, Airport Director of the Fort Dodge Regional Airport and William Kyle, Airport Manager of the Northeast Iowa Regional Airport and President of Charles City Aeronautics Inc. will give a presentation on the importance of airports. This includes the impacts to business, military, agriculture and recreation. They will also discuss the various aviation funding programs.

#### Iowa Shortline Railroads

Scott Bannister, Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel for the Iowa Northern Railway Company will present on the importance of shortline railroads. The presentation will include an overview of the rail network, jobs impact of shortline railroads, customers and the impact of state funding on improvements.

## Iowa Association of Council of Governments

Kevin Blanshan, Chair of IACOG and Executive Director of the Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments will present on the activities associated with the council of governments across the state.

## Byways of Iowa Coalition

Jan Gammon, Lincoln Highway Heritage Byway Coordinator will present on the evolution of lowa's Scenic Byways. In addition, she will address the economic benefits of the byways and past and current plans.

## **Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation**

Andrea Boulton, Director of Trails and Greenways, Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation will present on the foundations involvement in trails. This includes information on several trails around the state and funding needs.

# **Iowa Bicycle Coalition**

Mark Wyatt, Executive Director, will present on the ongoing efforts of the coalition to promote cycling as safe recreation and transportation.

## **Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization**

Todd Ashby, Executive Director, will discuss transportation initiatives in the Des Moines metro area.