Driver's license/ID

1

Suspensions/Revocations

Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated
Iowa's OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa:
  1. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
  2. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
  3. While having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.

Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

Suspensions/Revocations

Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated
Iowa's OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa:
  1. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
  2. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
  3. While having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.

Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

 


 

 

 

Iowa driver's license renewal and extensions

Renewing your Iowa driver's license or ID card

There are three ways to renew your driver's license or ID card: online, in-person, or at a kiosk.

Online renewal checkmark
If you meet the eligibility requirements, you may renew your driver's license or identification (ID) card online and skip a trip to the driver's license issuance location. You will need your current driver's license or ID card and a credit or debit card at your fingertips to complete the process. Fees will include your driver's license or ID card renewal fee plus a $1.50 online processing fee.

Renew your license/ID online.




In-person renewal checkmark
You can renew your driver's license or Identification card at any one of Iowa's 100 issuance sites.

Find a driver's license issuance site near you.




At a kiosk checkmark
You can renew your driver's license or Identification card at any one of Iowa's 24 kiosks.

Find a kiosk near you.





Expiration dates

Your license expires on the expiration date printed on the license. The license is valid for driving for an additional 60 days after the expiration date. After 60 days from the expiration date, you may be ticketed for driving with an expired license. (If you are a temporary foreign national, you are not entitled to the 60-day grace period.) 


After one year following expiration, you will be required to take the knowledge test and drive test. If you plan to travel or rent a car during the 60-day grace period, you should renew your driver's license; some entities may not recognize the grace period. You may renew your driver's license 30 days before its expiration date. If you demonstrate a good cause exists to renew earlier, you may renew your driver's license up to one year before the expiration date. You must pass the vision screening each time you renew your license.

transition from a five- year to eight-year driver’s license renewal process.
Watch videos to learn more about Iowa’s
transition from a five- to eight-year
driver’s license renewal process.

Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, and continuing through Dec. 31, 2018, Iowa will transition from a standard five-year license term to an eight-year license term. During this time, Iowa driver's licenses will be issued with a randomly assigned expiration date between five and eight years, as shown in the chart below.

Expiration dates will be limited according to age as shown in the chart below.

 

 


Age Expiration date
Younger than 17 years and 11 months Two years
Older than 17 years and 11 months through 66 years Five to eight years
(selected randomly)
67 years Five to seven years
(selected randomly)
68 years Five to six years
(selected randomly)
69 years Five years
70 years Four years
71 years Three years
72 years Two years
73 years Two years
74 years and older Two years


Iowa nonoperator's ID cards will be issued with an expiration date of eight years.

Licenses issued to persons under the age of 18 or persons who are temporary foreign nationals are not eligible for licenses with an expiration date between five and eight years. These individuals will be issued driver’s licenses with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law.

Electronic renewal notifiction sign upElectronic renewal notification
Receive an email reminder to renew your driver's license or identification card.


Real ID

If you want a REAL ID-marked card, you must complete a new application (assisted by the driver’s license issuance site representative) and present proof of identity. Regardless of whether you have held your driver’s license or ID card for a short time or many years, the same provisions apply.

To assist Iowans gather the necessary documents, there is a list of acceptable documents available on the Internet (Proof of Identity), or you can call 800-532-1121 to listen to a recorded message.

Temporary extension

If you are temporarily out of state, are unable to renew your driver's license in person and do not meet eligibility to renew online, you may apply for a temporary extension not to exceed six months. Please note: If you are eligible to renew your license online, you may not be eligible for a temporary extension. A request for extension must be made within 30 days before or 60 days after the expiration date. The request must also be in writing by mailing or faxing an Application for Temporary Extension of Motor Vehicle License to the Iowa DOT's Office of Driver Services. You must provide an out-of-state address and/or out-of-state fax number.

Temporary extension for military personnel

An extension of operating privileges may be given to military personnel who cannot return to Iowa to renew their driver's license in person and do not meet eligibility requirements to renew online. The extension is valid until six months following separation from active duty.

Iowa law also provides for an extension to dependents of active military personnel. This extension is valid for five years from the expiration date of the license. A copy of the dependent's military identification must accompany the written request.

A request for an Extension for Military Service may be faxed or mailed to:

Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204
Telephone: 515-244-8725
Fax: 515-239-1837

How to get a “veteran” designation on your driver’s license or nonoperator identification card
Sample driver's license showing Veteran designation

Honorably discharged veterans are eligible to have a “veteran” designation placed on their driver’s license (DL) or nonoperator identification (ID).

The veteran designation is a completely voluntary initiative designed to assist Iowa veterans. There are thousands of businesses throughout Iowa and the United States, including restaurants, hotels and even home improvement stores that give discounts to veterans. Some of those businesses require proof of veteran status. The veteran designation on a DL or ID card allows you to be quickly identified as a veteran, eliminating the need to carry official military papers for these purposes.

To be authorized to get the veteran designation placed on your DL or ID card, you must first present a copy of your DD 214 or applicable discharge document to your county Veterans Affairs office. That office will confirm your veteran status and complete the required Iowa DOT application form. Take the completed form with you to the DL issuance location. The veteran designation will be added to your DL or ID card when it is issued.

If you are applying for a new license or ID or are renewing a previous one, all usual fees apply.  If you are requesting a duplicate or adding the veteran’s designation to your current DL or ID, there will be a fee of $10.

To expedite the authorization process, you can also bring a completed Iowa DOT application form with you to the county VA office, along with your DD 214. The application form must be certified by the County Veterans Affairs Office or the Iowa Department of Veteran’s Affairs. Find a County Veterans Office near you..

 


 

 

 

Lost or stolen Iowa driver's licenses

Iowa driver's license
While in Iowa
If your Iowa driver's license has been lost or stolen, you may apply for a duplicate at any Iowa driver's license issuance site. The fee will be $10. You may need to provide proof of identity when applying for a duplicate license.

While out of state
If your Iowa driver's license has been lost or stolen and you are unable to apply for a duplicate because you are out of state, you may apply for a temporary driving permit (TDP).

Please note that a temporary driving permit is not valid for identification purposes.

You must make an application in writing and include the following:
  • Your full name.
  • Your signature.
  • Your driver's license or Social Security number.
  • Your date of birth.
  • An out-of-state address and/or out-of-state fax number.
  • Let us know if you want the TDP mailed to your out-of-state address or faxed to an out-of-state fax number.

Mail or fax your application to:
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa  50306-9204
Telephone: 515-244-8725
Fax: 515-239-1837

 


 

 

 

New Iowa residents obtaining a driver's license or ID


If you have never been licensed, you must:
If you have a valid out-of-state license, you must:
Minor’s at least 16 years but less than 18 years, transferring an out-of-state driver's license must:
If you were not born in the United States or are not an American Citizen you must:
  • Present acceptable proof of identity and residence. The Iowa DOT will not issue a DL or ID if your immigration document shows your remaining status time is less than 30 days.
  • Not be canceled, suspended or revoked in any state.
  • Provide proof of Social Security.  If you are a temporary foreign national not authorized for employment, you do not have to document a SSN, but the Iowa DOT will verify your USCIS number. Make sure you are not authorized for employment. If you are eligible for employment but do not have a SSN, you are required to obtain and present one.

    The Iowa DOT will electronically verify your name, date of birth and SSN with the Social Security Administration (SSA). Make sure your document is up to date and accurate to avoid delay. If you need to correct or update information at the SSA, do so several days before you apply for a DL or ID card. For information on how to do this, visit www.ssa.gov. Your SSN will not be listed on your DL or ID. The Iowa DOT will assign you a unique DL or ID number.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass all applicable written and driving test(s).
  • Pay applicable fees.

 


 

 

 

Under age 18

Below is information about the different types of licenses for drivers under age 18. Driving is an adult responsibility that you need to take seriously to keep you and others safe and protect your privilege to drive.

Iowa has a graduated driver’s license (GDL) system for drivers under age 18. GDL includes three steps that provide experience to improve driving skills. These steps include: GDL Process

 


 

 

 

Fees and license types

Note

Change in driver’s license renewal periods

Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, and continuing through Dec. 31, 2018, Iowa will transition from a standard five-year license term to an eight-year license term. During this time, Iowa driver's licenses will be issued with a randomly assigned expiration date between five and eight years. Learn more.
  • There is a $10 fee for a replacement license or nonoperator ID card (e.g., change of address, name change, lost or stolen).
  • Licenses issued to persons under the age of 18 or persons who are temporary foreign nationals will be issued driver's licenses with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law.
  • All nonoperator's ID cards will be valid for eight years with a cost of $8.
  • There is no charge to replace a defective license.
  • There are additional fees for commercial endorsements.
  • License issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

 


 

 

 

Accident reports

Drive test

Reporting an accident

An accident occurring anywhere within the State of Iowa causing death, personal injury, or total property damage of $1,500 or more must be reported on an Iowa Accident Report form. However, such report is not required when the accident is investigated by a law enforcement agency. Failure to return an accident report form within 72 hours may result in suspension of your driving privileges. Note: You must attempt to completely fill out this report.

Also, the insurance information on page four of the report must be completed.  Failure to complete insurance coverage information may result in the suspension of your driving and registration privileges.

The accident report form consists of the following four pages.
  • Page 1: Instructions for completing the form
  • Page 2: Accident codes used in the form
  • Page 3: Accident report form (steps 1 through 7)
  • Page 4: Accident report form (steps 8 through 10)
After signing and completion of the accident report form, mail pages 3 and 4 (you do not need to mail the instruction sheet nor accident code sheet) to:
  • Iowa Department of Transportation
  • Office of Driver Services
  • P.O. Box 9235
  • Des Moines, Iowa  50306-9235

PDF 2014 Investigating Officer's Report of Motor Vehicle Accident Code Sheet

PDF 2015 Investigating Officer's Report of Motor Vehicle Accident Code Sheet

PDF 2015 Investigating Officer's Crash Reporting Guide


Obtaining a copy of an accident report

Officer's report: A copy of the officer's report of an accident costs $4. State law allows these reports to be given only to persons involved in the accident, their attorney, insurance companies or insurance agents. To obtain a copy of the report, send a written request with the date of the accident, time, location, and names and driver license numbers of the drivers involved.

PDF Request for Copy of Investigating Officer’s Report of an Accident, form #431007

Driver's report: A copy of an accident report you completed for an accident that occurred in 1994 or after is 50 cents. For accidents that occurred prior to 1993 is $3.20. To obtain a copy of an accident report that you completed, send a written request with your driver's license number, complete mailing address and the date of the accident.

Mail your request to:
  • Iowa Department of Transportation
    Office of Driver Services
    P.O. Box 9204
    Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

Obtaining limited information of an accident

For limited information regarding an accident, such as date, time, specific location, and immediate facts and circumstances, contact:
  • Iowa Department of Transportation
    Office of Driver Services
    P.O. Box 9204
    Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204
    E-mail: ods@dot.iowa.gov

 


 

 

Suspensions/Revocations

Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated
Iowa's OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa:
  1. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
  2. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
  3. While having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.

Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

Obtaining a copy of an Iowa driving record, traffic ticket or other document

Get it online

Obtain a certified copy of your own driving record on our myMVD website. A certified driving record is your official driving record certified by the Iowa DOT and can be used for official or legal purposes. The fee is $5.50 plus a $1.50 service charge.
If you simply want to view your Iowa driving history or print a noncertified copy, you can do that for free through the myMVD website.

The myMVD online service is for individual use by persons conducting their own transactions. If you are a business or organization seeking driving record information, please go to www.iowaccess.net/iowadlr.


Get it by mail

Obtain a copy of your certified driving history through the mail. The fee is $5.50.

You can also obtain a traffic ticket(s), previously issued driver's license applications showing license history in Iowa, or any other document, for a cost of 50 cents per copy.

For all requests that are sent by mail, you will need to complete the Privacy Act Agreement For Request of Motor Vehicle Records form.  Please clearly state the type of record you are requesting.  If you are requesting this information for yourself, you only need to complete Section A and Section D. Send the completed form, a copy of your driver's license or non-driver identification card, a check for the appropriate amount made payable to "Treasurer, State of Iowa" and mail your request to the address below.

Mail your request to:
Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

 


 

 

Suspensions/Revocations

Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated
Iowa's OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa:
  1. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
  2. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
  3. While having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.

Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

Suspensions/Revocations

Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated
Iowa's OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa:
  1. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
  2. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
  3. While having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.

Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

 


 

 

 

Medical cannabidiol registration cards

Iowa Code 124D authorizes the Iowa Department of Public Health to approve the issuance of a cannabidiol registration card to a person who has intractable epilepsy or to a primary caregiver of a person who has intractable epilepsy.

Question markLearn more about cannabidiol registration card eligibility.


To legally possess and use cannabidiol (a medical marijuana extract) in Iowa, a patient or primary caregiver must submit an application to the Iowa Department of Public Health, and if approved, obtain a cannabidiol registration card from the Iowa Department of Transportation.
Medical Cannabidiol Process diagram
Step one  Submit application (Iowa Department of Public Health)
All applications for cannabidiol registration cards must be submitted to the Iowa Department of Public Health. The IDPH will review applications and notify the applicant of its decision. Apply for a cannabidiol registration card with the IDPH.

Step two  Receive approval (Iowa Department of Public Health)
The IDPH will review applications and notify the applicant of its decision. If you are approved for a registration card, IDPH will notify the Iowa Department of Transportation that a card may be issued to you.

Step two  Obtain cannabidiol registration card (Iowa Department of Transportation)
If you are approved for a cannabidiol registration card, you may obtain the card at any Iowa driver’s license issuance site. There is no charge for the card. You will need to bring your current driver’s license or identification card with you for proof of identity. Any updates to your driver’s license or identification card (e.g., change of address or name change) must be made prior to the issuance of the cannabidiol registration card. Learn more about requirements to update an Iowa driver’s license or identification card due to an address or name change.

If you are a primary caregiver from a state other than Iowa and are approved to obtain an Iowa cannabidiol registration card, you must present your driver’s license or identification card from your state of residence at any Iowa driver’s license issuance site. Any updates to your license or identification card must be made before you can obtain an Iowa cannabidiol registration card.

Keep in mind that cannabidiol registration cards will not be valid for identification purposes.

Renewal and changes

Question mark How do I renew my Iowa cannabidiol registration card?

Iowa cannabidiol registration cards are valid for one year from the date the card is issued. To renew your card, you must submit a renewal application to the Iowa Department of Public Health at least 60 days prior to the date your card expires. After you are approved for renewal by the IDPH, you may obtain a new card by visiting any Iowa driver’s license issuance location.

Question mark What do I do if I need to change my Iowa cannabidiol registration card or if I lose my original card?

If you need to change your Iowa cannabidiol registration card to update your address or name, you will need to bring your current registration card to any Iowa driver’s license issuance location to obtain a replacement card. Any updates to your information must also be changed on your Iowa driver’s license or identification card.

If your original Iowa cannabidiol registration card is lost, stolen, or destroyed, you will need to visit any Iowa driver’s license issuance station and present your driver’s license or identification card to obtain a replacement.

Question mark Primary caregiver cards: How do I add a patient to my Iowa cannabidiol registration card?

If you have been issued an Iowa cannabidiol registration card as a primary caregiver of a person or persons with intractable epilepsy and need to add a patient to your registration card, you must submit a new application to the Iowa Department of Public Health for review. After the application is approved by the IDPH, you will need to visit any Iowa driver’s license issuance location to obtain a replacement registration card.

 


 

 

Suspensions/Revocations

Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated
Iowa's OWI law states that it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle in Iowa:
  1. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
  2. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
  3. While having any amount of a controlled substance in one’s body.

Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

Identity fraud

Iowa older driver's information


CarFit

CarFit was developed by the American Society on Aging in collaboration with AARP, American Occupational Therapy Association, and AAA. Program events are designed to provide a quick but comprehensive check of how well you and your vehicle work together. A trained professional will ask you simple questions and complete a 12-point CarFit checklist. After visiting the trained volunteer professional, the driver will consult with an occupational therapist who, if needed, will discuss ways drivers can maintain and improve aspects related to their driving health. The entire process takes about 20 minutes. You leave with recommended car adjustments and adaptations, a list of resources in your area and a greater peace of mind.

Some of the discussion points during a CarFit event include:

  • Mirror adjustments. Properly adjusting the vehicle’s mirrors can greatly minimize blind spots for drivers when changing lanes.
  • Good foot positioning on the gas and brake pedals. Drivers who reach with their toes to press on the pedals can experience reduced reaction times and fatigue in their legs.
  • Position of the driver in relationship to the steering wheel. Drivers run a risk of serious injury if they are sitting closer than 10 inches to the steering wheel.

As we age, changes in our vision, flexibility, strength, range of motion, and even size and height may make us less comfortable and reduce our control behind the wheel. CarFit provides older adults with the tools to understand and apply the safety features of their vehicles. Having a car that “fits” the older driver is key. While older drivers are often considered safer drivers because they're more likely to wear seatbelts and less likely to speed or drink and drive, they are more likely to be seriously injured in a crash because their bodies are more fragile. Older drivers can improve their safety by ensuring their cars are properly adjusted for them. A proper fit in one's car can greatly increase not only the driver's safety but also the safety of others.

The Office of Driver Services supports CarFit by providing trained technicians and assistance in hosting CarFit checkups throughout the state.  Check the CarFit website at www.car-fit.org for an event in your community, or contact the Office of Driver Services at 800-532-1121 or email
ods@dot.iowa.gov to schedule an event. 

 


 

 

Live Tabs

 

License descriptions

Class C - Operator

This is the license most Iowans have. With this license, you may drive cars, pickups and trucks whose gross vehicle weight is 16,000 pounds or less. To get an operator’s license, you will have to pass the vision screening. You will also have to take the knowledge test and a driving test if you have an invalid or expired (over one year) out-of-state license, or if you have not had a driver’s license before. If you have a valid out-of-state license that allows you to drive by yourself, the driving test may be waived.

Class D - Chauffeur

This license covers operation of light straight trucks and small passenger-for-hire vehicles. This also includes persons exempted from commercial licensing, such as a farmer who is driving a farm truck-tractor semitrailer combination, a paid firefighter who is driving vehicles in excess of 16,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating, and a taxi driver. The Class D license has one of three endorsements allowing a driver to operate:
  • Endorsement 1: tractor-trailer combinations if a CDL farm exemption applies. Must pass General Knowledge exam and a driving test (and vision screening)
  • Endorsement 2: single-unit vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,001 pounds or more up through a 26,000-pound gross vehicle weight rating. Must pass General Knowledge exam and a driving test (and vision screening)
  • Endorsement 3: passenger vehicles which carry less than 16 passengers, such as taxis. No knowledge test required; no driving test required if you’ve had a valid license and clear driving record for the previous two years.

Class C - Instruction Permit

This gives you the chance to learn how to drive with the help of an experienced driver. To get an instruction permit you must be at least 14 years old and pass the vision screening and knowledge test.

Class D - Chauffeur’s Instruction Permit

This allows you to learn to drive a vehicle for which you need a Class D license, but not commercial motor vehicles that require a CDL. When driving, you must have someone who has a Class D or commercial license valid for that type of vehicle in the seat next to you. This restriction is added to your existing license. To get your chauffeur’s permit, you must be at least 18 years old and pass the vision screening and general knowledge test.

Class C - Minor's School License

To get a school license you must have successfully completed an Iowa-approved driver education course (unless you show a hardship exists) and live 1 mile or more from school. One of your parents must sign a consent form, and your school superintendent or chairperson of the school board must furnish a statement of need on a form provided by the DOT. This form is available from any Iowa driver’s license issuance site. You must pass a vision screening, but the driving test may be waived. You will also need to take the knowledge test unless your instruction permit is still valid. Get more information on minor school licenses.

Class C - Minor’s Restricted License

A “minor restricted license” (valid only for travel to and from work, or to transport dependents to and from temporary care facilities if necessary to hold a job) may be issued to a person age 16-18 who has completed an Iowa-approved driver education course and to whom any of the following apply:
  • is not in attendance at school;
  • has not completed the requirements for graduation in an accredited school; or
  • has not obtained a high school equivalency diploma.

Motorcycle Instruction Permit

A motorcycle instruction permit allows you to operate a motorcycle while accompanied by another person that has a license valid for motorcycles. The accompanying person must stay within sight and hearing distance and be on or in a different motor vehicle. Only one learner may be supervised by any one licensed driver. To get a motorcycle instruction permit, you must pass the motorcycle knowledge exam and a vision screening.

Note: If you are under age 18, a motorcycle instruction permit allows you to operate a motorcycle with a licensed parent/guardian or immediate member of your family who is at least 21 years old, but you must have written permission from your parent/guardian to operate a motorcycle with any other adult, who must be at least 25 years old and have a license valid for motorcycles.

Motorcycle endorsement (added to an existing license)

The motorcycle endorsement allows you to operate vehicles classified as motorcycles. To obtain a motorcycle endorsement you must pass the motorcycle knowledge test and a motorcycle skills (driving) test as well as a vision screening. The department may waive the skills test if you have successfully completed an Iowa-approved course in motorcycle education

Class M - Motorcycle license only

This license is for motorcycle driving only and is not valid for the operation of any other type of motor vehicle. To obtain a motorcycle-only license, you must pass the motorcycle knowledge test as well as the operator knowledge test, pass a skills (driving) test on your motorcycle, and complete a vision screening. The department may waive the skills test if you have successfully completed an Iowa-approved course in motorcycle education.

Moped (motorized bicycle) license only

This license allows you to operate moped (motorized bicycle). You will need to pass the vision screening and the operator knowledge test. The knowledge test may be waived if you already have a valid operator instruction permit or operator driver’s license. If you are under age 16 you must also have successfully completed an Iowa-approved course in moped education. A driving test may be required.

Identification card only

An identification card may be issued to any person regardless of their age. Learn about proof of identity documents required to obtain an Iowa identification card.

Class A commercial

A Class A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) is valid for the operation of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more pounds if the towed vehicle or vehicles have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or GCWR of 10,001 or more pounds. The license is also valid for the operation of vehicles with lower GCWRs and other vehicles, except motorcycles (which requires a motorcycle endorsement). To obtain a Class A CDL, you must pass the CDL General Knowledge test, CDL Combination Vehicles knowledge test, and any tests required to obtain any additional CDL endorsements. A skills (driving) test and an on-the-road driving test are also required, as well as a pre-trip inspection.

Federal regulations require all CDL holders and applicants to certify how they operate their commercial motor vehicle whenever they renew, upgrade, or obtain a CDL for the first time. A CDL holder must certify to one of four categories that apply to the type of driving they do. Learn more about CDL medical certification requirements.

Class B commercial

A Class B License is valid for the operation of a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 or more pounds. It is also valid for a combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more pounds if the towing vehicle has a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds and the towed vehicle or vehicles have a GVWR or GCWR of less than 10,001 pounds. A Class B CDL is also valid for the operation of vehicles with lower GVWR or GCWR, with the exception motorcycles (which requires a motorcycle endorsement). To obtain a Class B CDL, you must pass the CDL General Knowledge test and any tests required to obtain any additional CDL endorsements. A skills (driving) test and an on-the-road driving test are also required, as well as a pre-trip inspection.

Federal regulations require all CDL holders and applicants to certify how they operate their commercial motor vehicle whenever they renew, upgrade, or obtain a CDL for the first time. A CDL holder must certify to one of four categories that apply to the type of driving they do. Learn more about CDL medical certification requirements.

Class C commercial

This class of commercial license applies only to vehicles that are required to be placarded for hazardous materials or vehicles that are designed to transport 16 or more persons including the driver, or any redesigned or modified vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,001 or more pounds that has been redesigned or modified to transport less than 16 persons with disabilities.

A Class C Commercial Driver's License is valid for any vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 26,001 pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. To obtain a Class C CDL, you must pass the CDL General Knowledge test, either the hazardous materials examination or the passenger knowledge test (whichever applies to the type of license you seek), and any other knowledge tests required to obtain any additional CDL endorsements.

If you are operating a passenger vehicle or a hazardous material vehicle under 16,001 GVWR, you will be required to pass a CDL skills (driving) test. If you are operating a yellow school bus with a GVWR of 16,000 pounds or less, you will be required to pass a pre-trip inspection, skills (driving) test, and an on-the-road driving test.

Federal regulations require all CDL holders and applicants to certify how they operate their commercial motor vehicle whenever they renew, upgrade, or obtain a CDL for the first time. A CDL holder must certify to one of four categories that apply to the type of driving they do. Learn more about CDL medical certification requirements.

Commercial instruction permit

A commercial instruction permit allows for the operation of a commercial motor vehicle when accompanied by a person licensed for the vehicle being operated. It is valid for six months with no grace period and may be renewed once within two years from the date of issuance of the first instruction permit. This can be determined by reading the record. A commercial driver’s instruction permit is invalid upon the expiration date of the permit. No grace period is allowed.

A provision in the federal Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999 (MCSIA) prohibits a person from driving a vehicle with a Commercial Instruction Permit if the vehicle is transporting hazmat.

Requirements
  • The customer must be at least 18 years of age.
  • The customer must meet visual standards for licensing.
  • The customer must have a valid Class A, B, C, or D License, other than a Noncommercial Instruction Permit or motorized bicycle (moped).
  • The customer must pass CDL General Knowledge examination. If a customer possesses a valid CDL, they would not need to take the knowledge examination.
  • Must complete a CDL Certification form before issuance.
  • The customer may not transport any type of hazardous material that requires placarding.

CDL endorsements

Hazardous Material

Any driver who transports hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding must have a hazardous material endorsement added to his CDL. To obtain this endorsement you must pass the CDL Hazardous Material examination. This examination is required each time you renew your license. Additionally, federal regulations require that you must make application with Integrated Biometric Technology (IBT) for verification and fingerprinting. The fingerprint-based threat assessment is also required each time you renew your license and is also required if you are transferring an out-of-state license. Learn more about the fingerprint-based background checks.

Passenger Endorsement

Any driver who wishes to drive a motor vehicle having a design capacity to transport 16 or more persons, including the driver, must have a passenger endorsement on their CDL. This also includes a redesigned or modified vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,001 or more pounds used to transport less than 16 handicapped persons. To obtain this endorsement you must pass the CDL Passenger knowledge examination, as well as a pre-trip, skills, and a driving test in a passenger vehicle representative of the class of vehicle you wish to operate with the license. If you test in a vehicle less than 16,001 GVWR, you will only be required to pass the CDL road test.
Note: The Passenger endorsement alone is not valid for the operation of school buses. School bus operation requires both the passenger endorsement as well as the school bus endorsement.

School Bus Endorsement

Any driver who wishes to drive a school bus having a design capacity to transport 16 or more persons, including the driver, must have both a school bus endorsement as well as a passenger endorsements on their CDL. This includes a redesigned or modified school bus with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,001 or more pounds used to transport less than 16 handicapped persons. To obtain the school bus and passenger endorsements you must pass the CDL School Bus knowledge examination, Passenger knowledge examination, and a pre-trip, skills, and a driving test in a school bus representative of the class of vehicle you wish to operate with the license.

Tank Endorsement

Liquids in bulk can cause driving control problems because the cargo is heavy, prone to shifting, and has a high center of gravity. Drivers of any commercial motor vehicle designed to transport any liquid or gaseous materials within a tank or tanks that have an individual rated capacity of more than 119 gallons and an aggregate rated capacity of 1,000 gallons or more that is either permanently or temporarily attached to the vehicle or the chassis must obtain a tank endorsement on their CDL. To obtain the tank endorsement, you must pass the CDL Tanker knowledge examination.

Double/Triple Endorsement

Drivers who pull double or triple trailers must have an endorsement on their CDL. To obtain this endorsement you must pass a CDL Double and Triple Trailers knowledge examination. A double/triple endorsement is not required to operate a commercial motor vehicle with two or more towed vehicles that are not trailers. For example, a semi tractor pulling other tractors “piggy back”.
Note: Current Iowa law does not permit the operation of triple trailers; however, a driver whose home state is Iowa must be able to obtain the endorsement in order to haul a triple trailer in those jurisdictions where they are legal.

Removing the airbrake restriction

If you complete a driving test in a commercial vehicle that is not equipped with air brakes, you must have a restriction on your CDL indicating you cannot operate commercial motor vehicles that are equipped with air brakes. To remove this restriction, you must pass the CDL Air Brake knowledge examination, as well as a partial pre-trip (airbrakes only).

 


 

 

 

Obtaining a copy of an Iowa driving record, traffic ticket or other document

Get it online

Obtain a certified copy of your own driving record on our myMVD website. A certified driving record is your official driving record certified by the Iowa DOT and can be used for official or legal purposes. The fee is $5.50 plus a $1.50 service charge.

If you simply want to view your Iowa driving history or print a noncertified copy, you can do that for free through the myMVD website.

The myMVD online service is for individual use by persons conducting their own transactions. If you are a business or organization seeking driving record information, please go to www.iowaccess.net/iowadlr.


Get it by mail

Obtain a copy of your certified driving history through the mail. The fee is $5.50.

You can also obtain a traffic ticket(s), previously issued driver's license applications showing license history in Iowa, or any other document, for a cost of 50 cents per copy.

For all requests that are sent by mail, you will need to complete the Privacy Act Agreement For Request of Motor Vehicle Records form.  Please clearly state the type of record you are requesting.  If you are requesting this information for yourself, you only need to complete Section A and Section D. Send the completed form, a copy of your driver's license or non-driver identification card, a check for the appropriate amount made payable to "Treasurer, State of Iowa" and mail your request to the address below.

Mail your request to:
Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204

 


 

 

Live Tabs

 

Iowa's driving test

Drive test
In some cases, once you have passed the vision screening and knowledge test, you will be required to demonstrate your ability to drive safely.

The vehicle you drive for the test must be registered, the license plates must be properly displayed, and you must present the proof of financial liability (insurance) coverage card issued for the vehicle. The examiner will inspect the vehicle’s safety equipment: lights, signals, horn, tires, brakes and windshield wipers. If the registration, plates or insurance is not in order, or if any of the equipment does not work, you will not be able to take the driving test in that vehicle until the deficiencies are remedied.

During the driving test, you will not be asked to do anything unlawful. The examiner will sit in the front seat, give directions and score your driving ability.

Study manuals and practice tests are also available on this website.

 


 

 

Live Tabs

 

Driver's license practice tests - just like the real test

Test your knowledge of the rules of the road for the State of Iowa. These practice tests have been created by the Iowa DOT to provide new drivers with the foundation to safely meet their responsibilities on the road and to remind all drivers of safe driving habits.

App icon

  IA Driver Test - mobile apps
  Driver license practice test

Take the test as practice for the real thing, as a refresher or just for fun to see if you are as smart as a 14 year old – the youngest age in which someone in Iowa can get an instruction permit to drive.

Features

  • Randomly generates questions from the real DL knowledge test
  • Available for free on iPad, Android and Kindle Fire
Download Iowa Driver's Test app from iTunes Download Iowa Driver's Test app from Google Play Download Iowa Driver's Test app from Amazon

Support

We would like to hear your thoughts on the app and what information or features you would like to see in the future.

You can reach us directly to send along your comments, bugs, suggestions or questions. We’ll respond as quickly as we can.

App name: IA Driver Test
Created by:
Iowa Interactive in partnership with the Iowa Department of Transportation
App icon

  IA Driver Test - desktop version
  Driver license practice test

Take the test as practice for the real thing, as a refresher or just for fun to see if you are as smart as a 14 year old – the youngest age in which someone in Iowa can get an instruction permit to drive.

Features

  • Randomly generates questions from the real DL knowledge test
  • Free

 


 

 

Live Tabs

 


Iowa DOT Logo

Licencia de prueba de la práctica
de conducir de Iowa


Practique sus conocimientos de conducción!

Este examen de práctica genera un grupo 25 preguntas. Estas preguntas han sido seleccionadas al azar de un grupo más amplio de preguntas de conocimiento general ofrecidas en cualquier estación de licencia de conductor de Iowa o en la oficina del tesorero del condado. Usted puede repetir el examen de práctica con la frecuencia que desee. Cada examen de práctica generará otro grupo de 25 preguntas. Cuando usted haya terminado, una pantalla aparecerá mostrando los resultados de su examen.

Usted necesita una puntuación de 80% o superior para tener una calificación aprobatoria.



 


 

 

Live Tabs

 


Iowa DOT Logo

IA Driver's License Practice Test


Practice your driving knowledge!

This practice test generates 25 questions, randomly chosen from a larger group of sample questions that includes questions from the real knowledge test given at any Iowa driver’s license station or county treasurer’s office. You can repeat the practice test as often as you want. Each new test will generate another set of 25 questions. Once you have finished, a screen will appear showing your test results.

A score of 80% or higher is needed for a passing score.



 


 

 

Live Tabs

 

Identity fraud

Iowa older driver's information


CarFit

CarFit was developed by the American Society on Aging in collaboration with AARP, American Occupational Therapy Association, and AAA. Program events are designed to provide a quick but comprehensive check of how well you and your vehicle work together. A trained professional will ask you simple questions and complete a 12-point CarFit checklist. After visiting the trained volunteer professional, the driver will consult with an occupational therapist who, if needed, will discuss ways drivers can maintain and improve aspects related to their driving health. The entire process takes about 20 minutes. You leave with recommended car adjustments and adaptations, a list of resources in your area and a greater peace of mind.

Some of the discussion points during a CarFit event include:

  • Mirror adjustments. Properly adjusting the vehicle's mirrors can greatly minimize blind spots for drivers when changing lanes.
  • Good foot positioning on the gas and brake pedals. Drivers who reach with their toes to press on the pedals can experience reduced reaction times and fatigue in their legs.
  • Position of the driver in relationship to the steering wheel. Drivers run a risk of serious injury if they are sitting closer than 10 inches to the steering wheel.

As we age, changes in our vision, flexibility, strength, range of motion, and even size and height may make us less comfortable and reduce our control behind the wheel. CarFit provides older adults with the tools to understand and apply the safety features of their vehicles. Having a car that “fits” the older driver is key. While older drivers are often considered safer drivers because they're more likely to wear seatbelts and less likely to speed or drink and drive, they are more likely to be seriously injured in a crash because their bodies are more fragile. Older drivers can improve their safety by ensuring their cars are properly adjusted for them. A proper fit in one's car can greatly increase not only the driver's safety but also the safety of others.

The Office of Driver Services supports CarFit by providing trained technicians and assistance in hosting CarFit checkups throughout the state.  Check the CarFit website at www.car-fit.org for an event in your community, or contact the Office of Driver Services at 800-532-1121 or email
ods@dot.iowa.gov to schedule an event. 

 


 

 

Live Tabs

 

Important information for the parents of teens applying for an intermediate license

Iowa law restricts the number of passengers a teen driver can carry while driving with an intermediate license, unless the parent waives the passenger restriction when the license is issued. This means you decide – you can accept or waive the passenger restriction when we issue the license. Please read this before you make your decision.

What is the passenger restriction?

If you accept the passenger restriction, your child cannot drive with more than one unrelated minor (under 18) child when driving without adult supervision during the first six months of the intermediate license. The restriction does NOT apply to brothers and sisters, step brothers and sisters, and unrelated minor children that live in the same household as your child.

Why is the passenger restriction important?

It protects your child and your child’s passengers. Car crashes are the number one cause of teen deaths, and the first six months of unsupervised driving are the most dangerous. Young passengers distract teen drivers and increase the risk of crashes, injuries, and deaths -- by almost 50% for even one passenger, by more than 250% for two passengers, and by more than 300% for three or more passengers.

Limiting passengers during the first six months reduces the risk of crashes, injuries, and deaths while your child gains critical driving experience.

What happens if I accept the passenger restriction?

If you accept the passenger restriction, we will add the restriction to the back of your child's license. If your child violates the restriction, law enforcement can cite your child for violating the restriction, which may result in additional restrictions, or a suspension of your child's driving privilege. The twelve month violation free period will also re-start.

Can I waive the passenger restriction?

Yes, but only when the license is issued. If you do not waive the restriction when the license is issued and it is issued with the restriction, your child must obey the restriction until the end of the six month period. There is no legal penalty for waiving the restriction. 

When do I make the decision?

The driver's license clerk that helps you will ask you whether you accept or waive the passenger restriction. At the time, tell the clerk what your decision is:
  • Accept: Yes, I want the passenger restriction for the first six months.
  • Waive: No, I do not want the passenger restriction for the first six months.

 


 

 

 

When bad things happen to your good name

Identity fraud

Identity theft crimes are on the rise, causing nationwide concern. The Iowa DOT's Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection is taking an aggressive stand on identity theft relating to your driver's license, state issued ID card and motor vehicle title(s). When someone uses your identity to obtain an Iowa driver's license, ID card or vehicle title, the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection may be able to help you.

How does identity theft occur?

Identity thieves steal or obtain Social Security cards and numbers, birth certificates, immigration documents or personal information that is unique to you. The identity thief can then use this information to:

  • Obtain a driver's license or ID card.
  • Open a bank account or obtain credit in your name.
  • Purchase an automobile or real estate.
  • Drain personal financial accounts.
  • Obtain fraudulent driving and criminal records.
  • Secure fraudulent government benefits.
  • Obtain employment.

As a result, your driving privileges can be suspended and your credit rating destroyed. In addition, you may have trouble obtaining government benefits, and you may be held liable in civil suits or criminal cases for motor vehicle incidents. You may also be accused of not reporting wages, which can result in a substantial tax liability. All of these problems will require countless hours of telephone and written communications to resolve the problem.

How to protect yourself from becoming a victim.

  • Carry only those items needed in your purse or wallet. Avoid carrying your Social Security card, your birth certificate, blank checks, numerous credit cards or a motor vehicle title.
  • Check your driving and credit record on an annual basis.
  • Replace your Social Security number on your driver's license with an "assigned" number.
  • Shred all bills and records you no longer need that contain personal identifying information.
  • Check your Social Security records for unexplained earnings.
  • Report lost or stolen documents, such as driver's license, ID card or vehicle title(s), to law enforcement officials.
  • Place "fraud alerts" on your credit file to warn creditors not to open a new account until they contact you.
  • Use your "assigned" driver's license number on your checks.

Are you a victim of identity theft?

If you are a victim of identity theft relating to your Iowa driver's license, ID card or motor vehicle title, the Iowa DOT's Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection may be able to assist you with this crime. If an investigation is conducted, it may result in clearing your driving record and determining proper ownership of vehicles. If necessary, the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection may assist you by notifying other private and government agencies of the results of the investigation. In addition, the investigation may result in filing of criminal charges and administrative sanctions against the offender. Download the Identity Theft Complaint packet.

Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection

In order to deter identity theft, the Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection requests your assistance in reporting anyone you may know who is using a stolen identity. To report the misuse of someone's identity or to file a complaint, please contact:

Bureau of Investigation & Identity Protection
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny, IA 50021
Phone: 866-908-4636
Fax: 515-817-6619
E-mail: invbureau@dot.iowa.gov

More information can be obtained from:

Iowa's Office of the Attorney General
Consumer Protection Division
1305 E. Walnut St.
Hoover Building
Des Moines, Iowa  50319
Phone: 515-281-5926
Website: www.state.ia.us/government/ag

Additional government agencies to contact about identity theft are:

Federal Trade Commission
Consumer Response Center
600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC  20580
Phone: 877-438-4338
Website: www.ftc.gov

Social Security Administration
Office of Inspector General
210 Walnut St.
Des Moines, Iowa 50309
Toll-free: 800-772-1213

Internal Revenue Service
Criminal Investigation Division
P.O. Box 7909, Stop 900
Shawnee Mission, Kansas  66207-7909
Toll-free: 800-829-0433

To obtain information concerning your driving record, you must personally appear at your local driver's license issuance and be able to prove your identity.

To obtain information concerning registration and title records, you may contact your local county treasurer's office.

 


 

 

About the Motor Vehicle Division

Office of Driver Services

The Office of Driver Services is comprised of several groups that handle driver’s licensing, records, and identification credentials for Iowans as well as driver safety education. In addition to the 19 Iowa DOT driver's license issuance sites managed by the office, it supports 81 county treasurer’s office locations that also issue driver’s licenses and identification cards.

The nature of driver’s licensing and identification authentication is becoming more complex. To meet the challenge, this office has focused on taking an innovative approach. For instance, many services are now available online, including license or ID renewal, mailing address changes, driving record access.

Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services

The Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services oversees a wide range of regulations related to vehicle titling and registration, dealer licensing, salvage theft, personalized and specialty license plates, oversize/overweight permitting, transit fuel, intrastate travel authority, commercial vehicle registration, and the commercial fuel tax. The office also manages international agreements that allow carriers to operate in other member jurisdictions without contacting each jurisdiction individually.

Many other government agencies, as well as private companies, work closely with this office. For instance, the vehicle registration and titling system for the entire state network of counties and dealers is managed by this office.

Investigative Bureau

 

Office of Motor Vehicle Enforcement

Iowa motor vehicle enforcement officer duties

OMVE badge
A motor vehicle enforcement officer is a peace officer whose primary duty is to enforce all state and federal regulations that apply to commercial vehicles travelling Iowa's roadways. Some of the laws enforced relate to the following.
  • State and federal motor carrier safety regulations
  • State and federal hazardous materials regulations
  • Driver qualifications/driver licensing
  • Vehicle registration
  • Overweight and over-dimensional vehicles
  • Fuel tax compliance
  • Shipping papers
  • Travel authority
  • Liability insurance

Job duties include, but are not limited to:
  • Inspecting commercial vehicles and drivers to determine compliance with state and federal laws relating to driver qualification, hours of service, driver licensing, vehicle size, weight and vehicle safety compliance.
  • Enforcing traffic laws to promote safety, reduce crashes and expedite traffic flow.
  • Assisting other law enforcement officers when requested or when situation dictates.
  • Preparing and testifying in court to present the facts surrounding any civil, criminal or departmental action.

History of Iowa motor vehicle enforcement

OMVE badge
In 1941, engineers of the Iowa State Highway Commission became concerned with the increasing number of overweight trucks that would, over time, contribute greatly to a gradual destruction of Iowa highways. A decision was made to pursue legislation for the highway commission to designate certain employees as peace officers to enforce violations regarding weight and size. On April 16, 1941, such a proposal was signed into law by Governor Wilson, and on July 1 of that same year the traffic weight officer of the highway commission became reality.

The Iowa Department of Transportation was formed by an act of the Iowa Legislature effective July 1, 1975. Officers of the Iowa Commerce Commission, traffic weight officers of the highway commission, and the motor vehicle investigators from the Iowa Department of Public Safety were combined as the Office of Motor Vehicle Enforcement.

Responsibilities of the uniformed officer continued to include enforcement of the laws relating to size, weight, registration and authority. Responsibilities of the investigators included enforcement of the laws relating to vehicle registration, dealer licensing and motor vehicle inspection. All officers and investigators are required to successfully complete the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy's basic training requirements.

From the early 1980s to the present additional duties have been added to the uniformed officer's existing responsibilities, including Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, hazardous materials regulations, and the use of untaxed fuel. Investigators have taken on odometer tampering, driver license fraud, use tax investigations and salvage theft examinations.

Modern technology, including weigh-in-motion, portable scales, weapons, preliminary breath testers, pen-based computers and mobile data transmission capabilities in the patrol cars have been added to enhance the motor vehicle officer position.

Training, including the North American Standard Inspection class, hazardous materials and cargo tank courses, firearms training, self-defense classes, and a 14-week field training officer program for new officers, has added to the professionalism of the office.

In 1993, two new weigh stations were opened in Dallas and Jasper counties. These facilities include the latest in technology with computerized work stations, in-line ramp weigh-in-motion technology, and license plate readers. In 2000, a new state-of-the-art mainline weigh-in-motion scale was opened in Fremont County.

The Office of Motor Vehicle Enforcement includes 130 officers and investigators dedicated to highway safety.

Career opportunities for a motor vehicle enforcement officer

In order to become an Iowa motor vehicle enforcement officer, persons must successfully complete the following four required tests.
  1. Fitness (Cooper Standards)
  2. P.O.S.T (Peace Officer Selection Test)
  3. M.M.P.I (Minnesota Multiphasic Psychological Evaluation)
  4. Oral Board
  5. Polygraph

Certified Iowa peace officers are not required to a fitness test, as per Iowa Admin. Code r. 501-2.3(80B).  All applicants must successfully complete motor vehicle enforcement fitness requirements.

Applicants are responsible for all personal costs (e.g., transportation, lodging, meals) incurred during the testing process.

As peace officers with statewide jurisdiction, the primary job responsibility of a motor vehicle enforcement officer is enforcement of commercial motor vehicle laws, rules and regulations.

Law Enforcement Careers with Motor Vehicle Enforcement brochure


Minimum qualifications

Applicant must:
  • Be a United States citizen and become an Iowa resident.
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Possess a valid Iowa driver's license.
  • Possess a high school diploma or general education development (GED) diploma.
  • Be in acceptable physical and mental condition to perform his/her duties under physically demanding conditions.
  • Have uncorrected vision no worse than 20/100 in each eye, corrected to 20/20 in each eye.
  • Have normal color vision as prescribed by Iowa Law Enforcement Academy rules: Color vision is determined by the pseudoischromatic plates tests such as, but not limited to, the American Optical Co. (Required identification of 14 out of 18 plates.)
  • Have normal hearing in each ear. (Hearing is considered normal when tested by an audiometer and hearing sensitivity thresholds are within 25 db measured at 1000 hz, 2000 hz and 3000 hz averaged together.)
  • Have no history of epilepsy.
  • Have refrained from unlawful use or experimentation of any drug. Unlawful use or experimentation of marijuana or steroids may disqualify an applicant.
  • Not have a conviction of domestic assault.
  • Be willing to relocate.
  • Pass a background examination, including fingerprint search through state and national files.



Essential functions

If hired as a motor vehicle enforcement officer and with proper training, applicants shall be required to demonstrate the ability to perform the following essential functions.
  • Travel and stay out overnight approximately three to five times per month.
  • Meet or exceed minimum Iowa Law Enforcement standards with an issued firearm.
  • Successfully operate Windows-based computer programs.
  • Load, unload, carry and use 45-pound portable scales, which includes stooping, bending and twisting of the body on a frequent basis.
  • Effectively communicate with a diverse population in varying situations.
  • When warranted, use force, up to and including deadly force.
  • Perform multiple functions while attending to detail.
  • Work a rotating schedule, which includes days, nights and weekends.
  • Respond to short-notice schedule changes.
  • Climb in, on, under and around commercial vehicles.
  • Perform emergency functions (including, but not limited to, traffic control at floods, tornadoes, hazardous material incidents, traffic accidents, etc.) for extended periods of time in less than ideal conditions.



Salary

Pay scale under current contract (July 2010):
  • $1,479.20 to $2,212.80 (biweekly)
  • $38,459.20 to $57,332.80 (annual)



Benefits

  • Paid vacation
  • Paid sick leave
  • $20,000 paid life insurance
  • Medical and dental insurance
  • Pretax conversion program
  • Iowa Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS) with retirement available at 55 after 22 years of service.
  • Deferred compensation



Applications

If you believe you meet the minimum qualifications and with proper training can perform the essential functions of a motor vehicle enforcement officer with the Iowa DOT, you are encouraged to request an employment application packet during open application periods.