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1. The Driver’s License
Who Needs a License?
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motorcycle or 
moped on public streets and roads in Iowa is required to 
have a license. You are considered an Iowa resident for 
purposes of driver licensing if you have: 
	 •	 registered to vote in this state;
	 •	enrolled your children in public school;
	 •	accepted a permanent job in the state; or
	 •	 lived in Iowa continuously for 30 days.

You do not need an Iowa driver’s license if you: 
	 •	� are driving a military motor vehicle while on duty with 

the U.S. Armed Forces;
	 •	� are driving farm equipment between the home farm 

and any nearby (not more than two miles) farmland or 
farm operation; or

	 •	� are a student or visitor and have a current license from 
your home state or country.

If you have any questions, contact the Motor Vehicle 
Information Center by calling 515-244-8725 (toll-free).

You may obtain a driver’s license if you:
	 •	� are at least 16 years of age; (see Iowa’s graduated 

licensing system, page 6)
	 •	are able to submit proof of name and age;
	 •	� have successfully completed an approved driver 

education course if you are under age 18;
	 •	have parent’s/guardian’s consent if under age 18;
	 •	pass required driver’s license tests;
	 •	� turn in any other driver’s license or identification card 

you have;
	 •	� have not had your license suspended, revoked,  

denied, canceled, disqualified or barred;
	 •	� have not been found incapable of safely operating a 

motor vehicle due to a mental or physical disability; 
and

	 •	have no unpaid fines for moving traffic violations.

Vision
Vision is so important that Iowa requires that you pass 

a vision screening before you get a driver’s license or 
permit, or when you renew your license. This screening is 
to make sure you have at least 20/40 vision in at least one 
eye, with or without corrective lenses.
 
Other important aspects of vision are:
	 •	� Side vision - You need to see “out the corner of your 

eye.” This lets you spot vehicles and other potential 
trouble on either side of you while you look ahead. 
Because you cannot focus on things to the side, you 
also must use your side mirrors and glance to the side 
if necessary.

	 •	� Judging distances and speeds - Even if you can see 
clearly, you still may not be able to judge distances 
or speeds very well. In fact, you are not alone, many 
people have problems judging distances and speeds. 
It takes a lot of practice to be able to judge both. It 
is especially important to know how far you are from 
other vehicles, and to be able to judge safe gaps 
when merging, and when passing on two-lane roads.

	 •	Night vision - Many people who can see clearly in 
the daytime have trouble seeing at night. All people have 
more trouble seeing at night than in the daytime, but some 
drivers have problems with glare while driving at night, 
especially the glare of oncoming headlights. If you have 
problems seeing at night, do not drive more than is neces-
sary; and when you do, be very careful.

Because it is so important to safe driving that you see 
well, you should have your eyes checked every year or 
two by an eye specialist. You may never know you have 
poor vision unless your eyes are tested.

If you need to wear glasses or contact lenses for  
driving, remember to:
	 •	� Always wear them when you drive, even if you are 

only going a short distance. If your driver’s license 
says you must wear corrective lenses and you don’t, 
you could get a ticket if you are stopped by a law 
enforcement officer.

	 •	� Try to keep an extra pair of glasses in your vehicle. 
Then if your regular glasses get broken or lost, you 
can drive safely. This also can be helpful if you do not 
wear glasses all the time and you forget to take them 
with you when driving.

	 •	� Don’t wear dark glasses or tinted contact lenses at 
night, even if it is to help with glare. The problem is 
that they shut out too much light, light you need to 
see clearly.

Vision Screening
You may decide to go directly to your doctor and have 

your doctor check your vision if you are applying for a 
noncommercial license. The information can be on a form 
furnished by the department or it can be a letter from your 
doctor if the doctor has measured your vision within 30 
days of when you apply for a license.

Hearing
Hearing can be helpful to safe driving. Do not drive 

with headphones or earphones that cover or go in both 
ears. They make it too hard to hear emergency horns or 
sirens. The sound of horns, sirens or screeching tires can 
warn you of danger. Hearing problems, like bad eyesight, 
can come on so slowly that you do not notice it. Drivers 
who know they are deaf or have hearing problems can 
adjust and be safe drivers. They learn to rely more on their 
vision and stay alert. Studies have shown that the driv-
ing records of hearing impaired drivers are just as good 
as those drivers with good hearing. A hearing impairment 
may be indicated on your driver’s license; ask the exam-
iner at the driver’s license station for details.
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Vision Standards

Acuity
	 20/40	 No restrictions unless you wear 	
		  glasses or contacts.

	 Less than 20/40 	 No driving when headlights are 
	 but at least 20/70	 required.

	 Less than 20/70	 Not eligible for licensing.*

Field of Vision
	 140° or better	 No restrictions.

	 Less than 140° but at	 Left and right outside rearview 	
	 least 110° in both eyes	 mirrors will be required.

	 Less than 140° but at	 Left and right outside rearview
	 least 100° in one eye	 mirrors will be required.

	 Less than 100°	 Not eligible for licensing.*

*Not eligible for licensing means suspension of your driving 
privileges as specified in Section 321.210(1c) of the Iowa Code, 
or denial of driving privileges as required by Iowa Code Section 
321.177(7).

Knowledge Test
The operator knowledge test shows how well you 

understand road signs, traffic laws, and safe-driving prac-
tices. Everything you must know to pass the knowledge 
test is in this guide. Testing is administered by automated 
testing equipment using a touch screen. (Audio assist is 
available.)

Driving Test
The driving test shows how well you can control your 

vehicle. Unless you can already legally drive in Iowa, you 
will need to have a licensed driver bring you and your test 
vehicle to the test site. That driver should wait for you in 
case you do not pass the test. He or she will not be able 
to be in the vehicle when you are taking the driving test.

Before you start on the driving test, the examiner will 
inspect your vehicle’s safety equipment. Safety equip-
ment includes, but is not limited to, seat belts, lights, turn 
signals, horn, brake lights, tires and windshield wipers. If 
the safety equipment does not work, you will not be able 
to take the test unless the equipment is not needed; for 
example, if it is a sunny day and your vehicle’s windshield 
wipers do not work, you can use your vehicle for the test. 
Your vehicle should also have a current registration sticker 
on the license plate. Iowa registration laws require both a 
front and back plate on most vehicles. You should have 
the registration receipt in the vehicle since the examiner 
may ask to see it. Evidence of liability insurance is also 
required.

During the test, the examiner will sit in the front seat 
with you. The examiner will give you directions and score 
your driving ability. After the test, the examiner will explain 
the results. If you did not pass the test, the examiner will 
explain when and how you may take the test again.

 
Proof of Age and Identity

To establish identity and date of birth, a person must 
submit at least one of the following documents.  The 
department may require additional documentation if the 
department believes that the documentation submitted is 
questionable or if the department has reason to believe 
that the person is not who the person claims to be: 
	 1.	 A valid, unexpired U.S. passport or U. S. passport 

card. 
	 2.	 Certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a state 

of the United States.  (“State” includes the District 
of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, 
American Samoa, or the Commonwealth of North-
ern Mariana Islands.) It must be a certified copy and 
have the stamp or raised seal of the issuing author-
ity.  A hospital-issued certificate is not acceptable.  
A certified birth certificate issued by Puerto Rico 
must be certified as being issued on or after July 1, 
2010.  

	 3.	 A Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the 
U.S. Department of State (Form FS-240, DS-1350 or 
FS-545.

	 4.	 Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-550, N-570 or 
N-578). 

	 5.	 Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560, N-561 or 
N-645).  

	 6.	 Unexpired Permanent Resident Card (form I-551).  
	 7.	 Unexpired Employment Authorization Document 

(Form I-766).  
	 8.	  Record of Arrival and Departure (I-94) with attached 

photo and stamped “Temporary Proof of Lawful 
Permanent Resident.”    

	 9.	 Record of Arrival and Departure (I-94) stamped 
“Refugee,” Parolee” or “Asylee.” 

	 10.	 Unexpired foreign passport accompanied by the 
approved I-94 documenting most recent admittance 
into the United States.  

	 11.	 Valid foreign passport stamped “Processed for 
I-551.” 

	 12.	 Permit to Reenter the United States (I-327).
	 13.	 Refugee Travel Document (I-571).  
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Social Security Number
You must present the Social Security Administration’s 

account number card; or if a Social Security account 
number card is not available, you may present any of the 
following documents bearing the Social Security account 
number: 
	 1.	 A W-2 form. 
	 2.	 Social Security Administration 1099 form displaying 

full Social Security number
	 3.	 Non-Social Security Administration 1099 form dis-

playing full Social Security number
	 4.	 A pay stub with your name and Social Security  

account number on it.  
A person who establishes identity by presenting an 

unexpired foreign passport with a U.S. visa affixed and 
accompanied by the approved I-94 form documenting 
the most recent admittance into the United States must 
document the person’s Social Security account number, 
or demonstrate nonwork authorized status.  

If you need to correct or update information at the 
Social Security Administration, do so several days before 
you apply for a driver’s license or ID card.  For information 
on how to do this, visit www.ssa.gov.  Your SSN will not 
be listed on your driver’s license or ID.  The Iowa DOT will 
assign you a unique driver’s license or ID number.    

Certification of Iowa Residency 
and Residential Address

To establish Iowa residency and residential address, 
you must present two documents that show your current 
name and Iowa residential address.  The address must be 
a physical address where you reside and not a post office 
box.  Printouts of services paid or transacted electroni-
cally are acceptable.  Acceptable items are: 
	 •	 Iowa voter registration card.
	 •	Valid Iowa vehicle registration certificate. 
	 •	� Valid insurance card or certificate of coverage (life, 

health, auto, homeowner’s or renter’s). 
	 •	� Second valid insurance card or certificate of coverage 

(different than first). 
	 •	� Utility hookup or bill (water, gas, electric, or garbage 

removal). 
	 •	Second utility hookup or bill (different than the first).  
	 •	� Telephone hookup, service agreement or bill (landline 

or mobile). 
	 •	� Statement from a financial institution (bank, credit 

union or other financial institution). 
	 •	� Second statement from a financial institution (different 

from the first). 
	 •	� Personal check or deposit slip issued by a financial 

institution (you may mark this “VOID.” 
	 •	Credit, debit or charge card statement. 
	 •	� Iowa residential mortgage, lease or rental agreement 

(lease and rental agreements must include the land-
lord’s name and contact information). 

	 •	� Application for homestead tax credit for Iowa residen-
tial property. 

	 •	� Application for military tax credit for Iowa residential 
property. 

	 •	� Valid real estate tax statement or receipt for Iowa resi-
dential property. 

	 •	Pay stub from your employer. 
	 •	� Your current school enrollment papers for an Iowa 

public or private school.  
	 •	� Current school enrollment papers for a dependent 

child in an Iowa public or private school.
	 •	� A federal, State of Iowa or local government docu-

ment (such as a receipt, license, permit, assessment, 
professional or trade license, or other document).   

	 •	� Second federal, State of Iowa or local government 
document (different than the first). 

	 •	� An envelope, box, postcard or magazine that includes 
a postmark or stamped date. 

	 •	� Iowa driver’s license or ID  card that has not been 
expired for more than one year. 

		  If you are under 18 and not married, your parent, 
guardian or custodian will document your Iowa residency 
and residential address by signing a Parent’s Written 
Consent form.  The form is available at any driver’s license 
issuance site or download it at https://forms.iowadot.gov/
FormsMgt/External/430018.pdf.
	 •	Parent’s Written Consent form. 
		  (If you are under 18 and married, also bring a certified 
copy of your marriage certificate.  Your marriage certifi-
cate lets you apply for the driver’s license or ID without a 
Parent’s Written Consent form.)  

Types of Driver’s Licenses
Graduated Driver’s License

Iowa has a graduated driver’s license (GDL) system for 
drivers under the age of 18. GDL includes three steps that 
allow for increased driving privilege as the driver accu-
mulates more skill and demonstrates responsible driving 
practices. The three steps are: the instruction permit; 
intermediate license; and the full license. Driver educa-
tion is part of the GDL system, as well as a remedial driver 
improvement program if traffic violations occur or if the 
driver contributes to or is the cause of a crash or accident.

Instruction Permit
	 •	Available at age 14
	 •	Must be held for a minimum of 12 months
	 •	Requires written approval of parent/guardian
	 •	Requires vision screening and knowledge test
	 •	� All driving must be supervised. May drive only with 

parent/guardian, family member over 21, driver edu-
cation teacher, or driver over 25 with written permis-
sion of parent/guardian

	 •	� Number of passengers limited to the number of seat 
belts in the vehicle

	 •	Must complete approved driver education course
	 •	� Must log 20 hours of supervised driving; minimum of 

two hours must be between sunset and sunrise
	 •	� Must drive accident- and violation-free for six con-

secutive months immediately prior to applying for an 
intermediate license
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Driver Education
	 •	Available at age 14
	 •	Must have instruction permit
	 •	� Thirty hours of classroom to include four hours sub-

stance abuse education, minimum of 20 minutes on 
railroad crossing safety, information on organ dona-
tion, and information on bicycle and motor cycle 
awareness

	 •	� Six hours laboratory; minimum three hours must be 
behind the wheel

	 •	No parental waiver of any behind-the-wheel drive time

Intermediate License
	 •	Available at age 16
	 •	Must meet all conditions of instruction permit
	 •	Written approval of parent/guardian
	 •	Must be held for a minimum of 12 months
	 •	� May drive without supervision from 5 a.m. to 12:30 

a.m.; driving is permitted between 12:30 a.m. and 5 
a.m. only with a parent/guardian, family member over 
21, or designated adult over 25; with a waiver, may 
drive to and from work or school-related extracurricu-
lar activities

	 •	� Must log 10 hours of supervised driving; minimum of 
two hours must be between sunset and sunrise

	 •	� For the first six months, passengers are limited to only 
one unrelated minor passenger unless this restriction 
is waived by the parent/guardian at the time the inter-
mediate license is issued. Unrelated minor passenger 
means a passenger who is under 18 years of age and 
who is not a sibling or stepsibling of the driver, or a 
child who resides in the same household as the driver.    

	 •	� Passengers limited to the number of seat belts in the 
vehicle

	 •	� Must drive accident- and violation-free for 12 con-
secutive months immediately prior to applying for a 
full license

	 •	� Intermediate license will have the words “intermediate 
license”

Remedial Driver Improvement
	 •	Applies to all drivers under age 18
	 •	� Driver will be referred if involved in one moving viola-

tion or involvement in an accident to which the driver 
contributed

	 •	� DOT may impose additional driving restrictions or 
impose a suspension

	 •	� Instruction permit holders must be accident- and 
violation-free for six consecutive months immediately 
preceding upgrade to Intermediate license. 

	 •	� Intermediate license holders must be accident- and 
violation-free for 12 consecutive months immediately 
prior to applying for a full license.

	 •	� Must begin six-month or 12-month accident- and 
violation-free driving period again to qualify for next 
licensing level

Full License
	 •	Available at age 17
	 •	Must meet all conditions of intermediate license
	 •	Written approval of parent/guardian

	 •	Full driving privileges with no restrictions
	 •	� For drivers under age 18 or age 21, the license shall 

have the words “under eighteen” or “under 21”

Class C - Operator (Noncommercial)
This is the license most Iowans have. With this license, 

you may drive cars, pickups and trucks whose gross ve-
hicle weight is 16,000 pounds or less. To get an operator’s 
license, you will have to take the vision screening. You will 
also have to take the knowledge test if you have an invalid 
or expired (over one year) out-of-state license, or if you 
have not had a driver’s license before. If you have a valid 
out-of-state license that allows you to drive by yourself, 
the driving test may be waived.

The DOT may also issue this license or a Class M 
(Motorcycle) license to you if you are 16 or 17 years old, 
and, if before you became an Iowa resident, you had a 
valid driver’s license for at least one year as a resident of 
another state. To be eligible you must:
	 •	 live with a parent or guardian;
	 •	have no moving violations on your driving record;
	 •	pass the vision screening; and
	 •	pass the required written and driving tests.

If you meet all of these requirements, you do not have 
to take a driver education course to get your license. The 
license may be restricted as an intermediate license under 
Iowa’s Graduated Driver Licensing law.

Your license will be issued with a randomly assigned 
expiration date. Expiration dates will be limited according 
to age as shown in the chart below..

Certain medical conditions and disabilities may restrict 
license issuance to only a two-year period, regardless of 
your age.

Licenses cost $4 per year. The license expires on your 
birthday, but remains valid for another 60 days. For more 
information, see the summary chart of license expiration 
dates on page 12. 

Class D - Chauffeur (Noncommercial)	
This license covers operation of light straight trucks 

and small passenger-for-hire vehicles. This also includes 
persons exempted from commercial licensing, such as 
a farmer who is driving a farm truck-tractor semitrailer 
combination, a paid  or volunteer firefighter who is driving 
vehicles in excess of 16,000 pounds gross vehicle weight 
rating, and a taxi driver.

The Class D license has one of three endorsements 
allowing a driver to operate:
	 •	Endorsement 1:  tractor-trailer combinations if a 

CDL farm exemption applies.
	 •	Endorsement 2:  single-unit vehicles with a gross 

vehicle weight rating of 16,001 pounds or more up 
through a 26,000-pound gross vehicle weight rat-
ing.

	 •	Endorsement 3:  passenger vehicles which carry 
less than 16 passengers, such as taxis.

To get a chauffeur’s license you must be at least 18 
years old. You must pass the vision screening and must 
have passed the general knowledge test. You will also be 
required to turn in any out-of-state licenses you have.
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Under the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 
1986, it is a violation of federal law for the driver of a com-
mercial motor vehicle to have more than one license. A 
Class D license is not valid for operating commercial motor 
vehicles. If you need a commercial license, you will need to 
study the commercial driver’s manual available at your local 
driver’s license station.

You will be required to take the driving test in the largest 
class of vehicle you want to drive. This also allows you to 
operate smaller class vehicles.

If you currently have an out-of-state license valid for the 
same driving privilege you require in Iowa, the knowledge 
and driving tests may be waived. 

Your chauffeur’s license will be issued will be issued with 
a randomly assigned expiration date. Expiration dates will 
be limited according to age as shown in the chart below.

Certain medical conditions and disabilities may restrict 
license issuance to only a two-year period, regardless of 
your age.

Licenses cost $8 per year. The license expires on your  
birthday, but remains valid for another 60 days. For more 
information, see the summary chart of license expiration 
dates on page 11. 

Class M - Motorcycle	
Motorcycle riders must have a license valid for mo-

torcycle before being able to ride by themselves. If riding 
with a qualified operator, a motorcycle instruction permit 
is necessary. (See motorcycle instruction permit.) To get 
motorcycle added to your current license, you must pass 
a written test and a motorcycle skills test.

If you wish to have a Class M license without another 
license class, you will be required to pass written tests for 
both a Class C noncommercial license and motorcycles. 
The driving test will be a motorcycle skill test and an on-
the-road test with the motorcycle. If an on-the-road test is 
required with the motorcycle, the examiner will ride in or 
on another vehicle and give you directions by prearranged 
signals.

If you are under age 18, in addition to driver education, 
you must have passed an approved motorcycle rider edu-
cation course. (The skills test may be waived.) A motor-
cycle instruction permit may be necessary for the course 
if street riding is part of the motorcycle rider education 
course.

Adding the motorcycle class to an existing class costs 
$2 for each year the license is valid.

There is a separate manual for motorcycles; motor-
cycle study manuals are available at any driver’s license 
station.

Motorcycle Instruction Permit - Restriction 1
For operating a motorcycle with a motorcycle permit, 

the person instructing you must have a license valid for 
motorcycles. The accompanying person must stay within 
sight and hearing distance and be on or in a different mo-
tor vehicle. Only one learner may be supervised by any 
one licensed driver. 

To add the motorcycle instruction permit to an existing 
class, the cost is $2 for each year the license is valid. 

A motorcycle instruction permit will be issued for one 
four-year term with no renewal permitted.

Operator Instruction Permit - Class C 
Restriction 2

This gives you the chance to learn how to drive with the 
help of an experienced driver. To get an instruction per-
mit you must be at least 14 years old and pass the vision 
screening and knowledge test. You must present a paren-
tal consent form available at any Iowa driver’s license sta-
tion, prove your age and identity (page 5), and your social 
security number (page 6).

If you are 14 through 17 years old and have a valid 
permit, you can drive with the following people:
	 •	a driver education instructor;
	 •	a prospective driver education instructor;
	 •	a licensed parent or guardian;
	 •	� a member of your immediate family who is licensed 

and at least 21 years old; or
	 •	� another licensed adult who is at least 25 years old and 

has your parent’s/guardian’s written permission to ac-
company you while you drive.

If you are at least 18 years old and have a valid permit, 
you can drive with:
	 •	a driver education instructor
	 •	a prospective driver education instructor
	 •	� a licensed member of your immediate family who is at 

least 21 years old
	 •	another licensed adult who is at least 25 years old

An instruction permit is issued for four years, expiring 
on your birthday, with a 60-day grace period after your 
birthday. The cost is $6.

Chauffeur’s Instruction Permit - Restriction 4
This allows you to learn to drive a vehicle for which you 

need a Class D license, but not commercial motor vehicles 
that require a CDL. When driving, you must have someone 
who has a Class D or commercial license valid for that type 
of vehicle in the seat next to you. This restriction is added 
to your existing license.

To get your chauffeur’s permit, you must be at least 
18 years old and pass the vision screening and general 
knowledge test. 

Moped License - Restriction 5
If you are 18 or older and already have valid Iowa 

license, you are already valid to operate a moped and do 
not need to apply for a moped license.  At age 18 or older 
you only need to apply for a moped license if you want 
to operate a moped and don’t have a valid Iowa license. 
If you are under 18, you must apply for a moped license 
even if you already have a valid Iowa license or instruction 
permit.

You have to be at least 14 years old to obtain a moped 
license.  If you are at least 14 but under 16, you must pass 
an approved moped education course and present your 
certificate of completion from the course when you apply 
for the moped license.

If you are at least 16, you do not have to complete a 
moped education course to obtain a moped license, but 
for your safety we encourage you to do so.

All applicants for a moped license that don’t already 
have an Iowa license must pass a vision screen and the 
knowledge test, and present proof of age, identity, and 
social security number.

All applicants that are under 18 must also present a 
parental consent form.
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Minor’s Restricted License - Restriction 6
A “minor restricted license” (valid only for travel to 

and from work, or to transport dependents to and from 
temporary care facilities if necessary to hold a job) may 
be issued to a person age 16-18 who has completed an 
Iowa-approved driver education course and to whom any 
of the following apply:
	 •	 is not in attendance at school;
	 •	� has not completed the requirements for graduation in 

an accredited school; or
	 •	has not obtained a high school equivalency diploma.

The minor’s restricted license is not valid for driving 
during work or as an instruction permit.

To get a minor’s restricted license, your school district 
superintendent or principal and your employer must 
complete a form available from any driver’s license station. 
If you quit or lose your job for any reason, your employer 
is required to notify the DOT and your license will be 
canceled.

You must also pass the vision screening and driving 
test. You may not have to take the knowledge test if you 
have a permit that is valid or has not been expired for more 
than 60 days.

Minor School License - Restriction 7
This license allows you to drive at any time with adult 

supervision. It also allows you to drive without adult super-
vision between the hours of 5 a.m. and  
10 p.m. for the following:
	 •	� Drive from your home to your school(s) of enroll-

ment or school sponsored activities using the most 
direct and accessible route.  Activities must be at the 
school(s) you are enrolled in.

	 •	� Drive to a school that is not your school of enrollment 
to participate in extracurricular activities.  Activities 
must be in a contiguous (bordering) school district 
for public school students, or within a 25 mile driving 
distance for private school students, and must be held 
at a site, facility, or school designated for the activ-
ity under a sharing agreement between schools or 
conducted at a site or facility that the school you are 
enrolled in has designated to accommodate extracur-
ricular activities.  

	 •	� Drive to and from your home to the closest school bus 
stop.

	 •	� Stop for fuel while on route or at the closest filling sta-
tion off route.

To get a school license you must have successfully 
completed an Iowa-approved driver education course 
(un¬less you show a hardship exists) and live 1 mile or 
more from school. One of your parents must sign a con-
sent form, and for public school students, your school 
superintendent or chairperson of the school board must 
furnish a statement of need on a form provided by the 
DOT. For private school students, one of your parents must 
sign a consent form and one of the authorities in charge of 
your accredited nonpublic school must furnish a statement 
of need on a form provided by the DOT.  This form is avail-
able from any Iowa driver’s license issuance site. 

You must pass a vision screening, but the driving test 
may be waived. You will also need to take the knowledge 
test unless your instruction permit is still valid. 

The license will be issued for a maximum of two years 
and expires on your birthday. You do not need an instruc-
tion permit when you have a school license because the 

school license will be valid as an instruction permit when 
not driving to and from school. 

You must hold an instruction permit for six months and 
be conviction and accident-free during that period before 
the school license is issued. 

When operating without supervision on the minor 
school license, you must limit the number of unrelated 
minor passengers in the vehicle to one. Unrelated minor 
passenger means a passenger who is under 18 years of 
age and who is not a sibling, stepsibling, or a child who 
resides in your household.

Commercial Learner’s Permit
A commercial learner’s permit (CLP) allows you to gain 

behind-the-wheel training in a commercial vehicle.  You 
must be accompanied by a person who has a CDL valid 
for the same type of commercial vehicle.  The permit 
identifies the class and type of commercial vehicle you 
may operate when accompanied.  To get this permit you 
must pass the vision screening and all required knowledge 
tests.  Study materials are found in the commercial driver’s 
manual, which can be obtained at any driver’s license loca-
tion.  If you do not have a license when you apply for the 
CLP, you will be required to obtain at least the noncom-
mercial Class C license (operator’s license). 

The CLP is valid for one year from the date of issuance, 
with no renewal period. To obtain a full CDL you will be 
required to pass the appropriate skills tests.  The cost of 
the CLP is $12.

It is important to know that a CLP may not be used to 
operate a vehicle transporting hazardous materials in any 
amount requiring placarding.

All first-time CDL applicants must obtain a CLP, and 
any existing CDL holder that would like to upgrade, 
add an endorsement, or remove a restriction on their 
existing CDL must obtain a CLP if the upgrade or 
change requires a skills test.  If a CLP is required, you 
cannot take the skills test for the full CDL until you 
have had a CLP for at least 14 days.

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
Class A  For a combination vehicle with a gross com-

bination weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds where the 
gross vehicle weight rating of the towed unit is 10,001 or 
more pounds.

Class B  For a single-unit vehicle with a gross vehicle 
weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds. A unit can be 
towed with this class of license if the gross vehicle weight 
rating of the towed unit is less than 10,001 pounds.

Class C  For a single unit vehicle with a gross vehicle 
weight rating of 26,000 pounds or less, is designed to 
carry 16 or more persons--including the driver, or is carry-
ing hazardous material that requires placarding.

Commercial licenses cost $8 per year. The removal of 
an air brake restriction or addition of endorsements will be 
added to this base fee.

Commercial driver’s license study manuals are avail-
able at the local driver’s license stations. Explanations of 
special endorsements or restrictions are included in this 
manual.

Beginning July 8, 2015, a CLP is required before you 
obtain your first CDL, or before you upgrade, add an 
endorsement or remove a restriction on your existing CDL.  
See “Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP)” above.”

1. The Driver’s License
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Restricted Commercial Driver’s License 
The restricted CDL allows suppliers or applicators of 

agricultural chemicals, fertilizer, seed or animal feed to 
drive Class B or Class C commercial vehicles. Class B or 
C vehicles are generally single vehicles that normally do 
not pull a trailer or semitrailer. The only hazardous materi-
als a holder of a restricted CDL can carry are liquid fertil-
izer such as anhydrous ammonia (3,000 gallons or less) 
and solid fertilizer such as ammonium nitrate (provided it 
is not mixed with any organic substance).

The restricted CDL is only valid if the distance between 
the business and the farm being served is 150 miles or 
less. To obtain the restricted CDL, a person must have a 
good driving record for two years before applying for the 
license. A good driving record is defined as:

	 •	holding no more than one license;
	 •	� no loss of license (suspension, revocation, etc.) for 

any reason;
	 •	� no convictions for driving under the influence of alco-

hol or drugs (no test refusals), leaving the scene of an 
accident, any felony involving a motor vehicle, driving 
while privileges are withdrawn, speeding 15 mph or 
more over the posted speed limit, reckless driving, im-
proper or erratic lane changes, following too closely, 
driving a CMV without a CDL or proper endorsements, 
driving a CMV without a CDL in  
possession; and

	 •	� no convictions for accident-connected traffic law 
violations, and no record of accidents in which the ap-
plicant was determined to be at fault.

A licensee may have up to three individual periods of 
validity, provided all individual periods do not exceed 180 
days in any calendar year. An individual period of validity 
may be 60, 90, or 180 consecutive days and the licensee 
may add 30 days to an individual period of validity by ap-
plying for an extension. A restricted CDL must be validat-
ed for each individual period of validity.  This means the 
driver must have their good driving record confirmed and 
a new card issued at each application for an individual pe-
riod of validity.  The cost of a restricted CDL is $8 per year.  
Each time the driver comes in to update the validation 
period there will be a $10 charge and a complete search 
of the applicant’s driving record.

License Renewal
 There are three ways to renew your driver’s license or 

ID card: online, in-person, or at a kiosk.  
Your license expires on the expiration date printed on 

the license; however, the license is valid for driving for an 
additional 60 days after the expiration date. After 60 days 
from the expiration date, you may be ticketed for driving 
with an expired license. (The 60-day grace period does 
not apply to licenses that are issued to temporary foreign 
nationals.) A vision screening is required for a license 
renewal. 

If your license has been expired for more than one year 
and 60 days, you will have to pass the vision screening, 
and the knowledge and driving tests. 

You can apply for your license renewal from 30 days to 
one year before the expiration on your license.

Online Renewal
You may also renew your driver’s license online if you 

meet these qualifications:
	 •	 If you have a valid Iowa driver’s license.

	 •	� You are at least 18 years old, but younger than 70 
years old.

	 •	� Your license has not been expired for more than a 
year.      

	 •	� It is less than 180 days to the renewal date on your 
current license.

	 •	You are a U.S. citizen.
	 •	� You do not have any medical or vision conditions that 

would impact your ability to drive.
	 •	� You do not need to change your name printed on your 

license.
	 •	 If your current driver’s license was not renewed online.

To renew your license online visit: www.iowadot.gov

Additional License Information
Change of Address

If your address changes, you must report the address 
change to the DOT within 30 days. Any driver’s license sta-
tion can make an address change on your license for $10. 
Your license will always show your residence address, but 
your mailing address will also be requested.

Name Changes
Individuals wishing to change their name must pay 

a $10 fee and provide acceptable proof for any name 
changes. Acceptable items are:
	 1. 	Court-ordered name change containing full name, 

date of birth and court seal.
	 2. 	Divorce decree.
	 3. 	Marriage certificate.

Driver Education
To get your license before you are 18 years old, you 

must pass an Iowa approved driver education course. Take 
your certificate of completion to the driver license issuance 
site. 

If you have successfully completed an out-of-state 
driver education course, you should take your certificate or 
transcript to the driver education instructor at your school. 
The instructor will verify that the course meets Iowa’s stan-
dards and may issue an Iowa Completion Certificate.  
See page 7 for information on licensing for persons under 
age 18 who have had a license in another state.

Duplicates, Replacements, and Validations
If your license or permit is lost or destroyed, you may 

get a duplicate from any driver’s license issuance site. You 
must prove your age and identity (see page 5) and pay a 
$10 fee.

License Number
The DOT will assign a number to be used as your driv-

er’s license number. However, you must give your Social 
Security number on your driver’s license application. 

License and Permit Possession
You should have your license or permit with you at 

all times while driving. If you are arrested for not having 
your noncommercial driver’s license with you, you will not 
be penalized if you can produce your license or permit 
in court and show that it was valid at the time. You are 
required to have your commercial driver’s license in your 
immediate possession when operating a commercial mo-
tor vehicle.

Military Service
If your Iowa license expires while you are on active 

duty with the Armed Forces, it can be extended until six 
months after you leave active duty. A five-year extension 1. The Driver’s License
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may apply to your spouse and children if they are living 
with you outside of Iowa. You may obtain military service 
extensions by writing the Driver & Identification Services, 
P.O. Box 9204, Des Moines, IA 50306-9204. You can also 
request the department restore your license to its records 
by showing you are in the military and were at the time the 
license expired.

Organ Donor/Medical Alert
Anyone 18 years of age or older may become an organ 

donor. A person under 18 years of age may become a 
donor with parental consent.

When you apply or reapply for any type of license, the 
clerk will ask you if you would like to become an organ do-
nor. This information will print on the front of your license 
to the right of your address. You can obtain a uniform do-
nor card at the driver’s license station. For further informa-
tion, consult your physician.

A medical alert designation may be placed on the front 
of your license to indicate a medical condition that may 
need special attention.

Medical Advance Directive
There is a growing concern about how medical care 

decisions will be made when people are unable to make 
decisions for themselves. An increasing number of people 
are stating their health care choices in writing while they 
are still able to make these decisions. These legal docu-
ments are called advance directives, more commonly 
known as a living will and durable power of attorney for 
health care. These are documents stating your health care 
choices or naming someone to make the choices for you 
if you become unable to do so. When you apply or reapply 
for any type of license, the clerk will ask you if you would 
like to have medical advance directives indicated on the 
face of your license. Ask your physician for more informa-
tion on advance directives.

Veteran designation
Honorably discharged veterans may request the “Vet-

eran” designation be placed on their driver’s license or 
nonoperator identification card. The veteran must pres-
ent a copy of their DD 214 or Department Form 432035 
directly to any department driver’s license station or 
county treasurer driver’s license issuance site in order 
to obtain the veteran designation.  If submitting Form 
432035, the veteran must first have their eligibility certified 
by the county Veterans Affairs Office.  For members of the 
national guard and reserve forces, the DD form 214 must 
indicate that the individual was honorably discharged after 
serving a minimum aggregate (total) of 90 days of active 
duty for purposes other than training.  If the individual was 
a member of the national guard or reserve forces and has 
a discharge document other than a DD form 214, the indi-
vidual must receive certification of veteran status from the 
county Veterans Affairs Office prior to applying to the de-
partment for a license or nonoperator’s identification card 
with a veteran designation. Note: Veterans may request the 
“veteran” designation anytime they seek a new card, not 
just at the time of renewal. The cost for a duplicate driver’s 
license or ID card is $10.

Voter Registration
If you are not registered to vote, you may apply to regis-

ter electronically when you apply for your license. Voter reg-
istration application cards are also available. The forms can 
be filled out and mailed by the applicant, or DOT employees 
will mail the cards to the proper office after they have been 
completed. You may also update your voter registration.

Driver’s Privacy Protection Act
Certain personal information about you will not be released 
except to authorized recipients under the provisions of the 
federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act and state statutes. 
Personal information includes your photograph, Social 
Security number, driver’s license number, name, address, 
telephone number, and medical or disability information.

Special Restrictions
For safety reasons it is sometimes necessary to limit 
driving privileges. You may be limited to certain types of 
vehicles, special mechanical controls, or certain other 
operating restrictions. Your license is good only under 
those conditions and can be suspended if you violate the 
restrictions.

Selective Service Registration
If you are a male age 18 through 25, your application for a 
driver’s license or nonoperator identification card will serve 
as consent to be registered with the United States Selec-
tive Service System. If you refuse to give consent, your 
license or ID can still be issued. However, DOT will provide 
consent or refusal information to Selective Service. 

Summary Chart of License  
Expiration Dates

The expiration date listed on your license is the length 
of time your license is valid and is based on your age at the 
time you receive it. See the chart below. 

	 •	� Iowa nonoperator’s ID cards will be issued with an 
expiration date of eight years.

	 •	� Temporary foreign nationals will be issued driver’s 
licenses with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law. 

Age Expiration date

Younger than 17 years and  
11 months Two years

Older than 17 years and 11 
months through 66 years Eight years

67 years Seven years

68 years Six years

69 years Five years

70 years Four years

71 years Three years

72 years and older Two years
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License class Minimum age Tests required Cost

A Commercial 18 See CDL Manual $8 per year*

B Commercial 18 See CDL Manual $8 per year*

C Commercial 18 See CDL Manual $8 per year*

C Noncommercial - operator 16 Knowledge, vision, driving $4 per year

D Noncommercial - chauffeur 18 See CDL Manual $8 per year

L
Motorcycle license - added to 
existing license

16
Knowledge, vision, driving 
See Iowa Motorcycle 
Operator Manual 

$2 per year

Restriction 1 (motorcycle instruction permit)  
Must be added to an existing license

14 Knowledge, vision $2 per year

C
Restriction 1 (motorcycle permit only 
- new issuance)

14 Knowledge, vision $14

C Restriction 2 (instruction permit) 14 Knowledge, vision $6

Commercial Learner’s Permit 
(must be added to an existing license)

18 Knowledge, vision $12

C
Restriction 4 (chauffeur’s instruction 
permit)

18 Knowledge, vision $12

C
Restriction 5 (motorized bicycle 
license - moped)

14 Knowledge, vision $8

C
Restriction 6 (minor’s restricted 
license)

16 Knowledge, vision, driving $8

C Restriction 7 (minor’s school license) 14 Knowledge, vision, driving $8

Upgrade from operator license to chauffer or 
commercial license

18 Knowledge, vision, driving $4 per year

The following endorsements are used exclusively in conjunction with a commercial driver’s license.

Double/Triple trailers $5

Passenger $10

Tank vehicles $5

Hazardous materials* $5*

School bus $10

Remove air brake restriction $10

*The hazardous material endorsement fee must be paid each time a CDL with this endorsement is renewed.   
The hazardous material knowledge examination is also required at each renewal.  

Summary Chart of License Types 


