Office of Right of Way

RIGHT OF WAY SECTIONS


Administration

Martin J. Sankey, director
marty.sankey@iowadot.us

Tami Bailiff, secretary
Tami.Bailiff@iowadot.us
515-239-1216

Design

The Office of Right of Way's design section is responsible for the design of the rights of way along interstate and primary highways in Iowa.

Supervisor
Eric Wright
515-239-1551
eric.wright@iowadot.us

Coordinator
Nikki Cuva
515-239-1611
Nicole.Cuva@iowadot.us


Appraisal

The appraisal section is responsible for appraising property the Iowa DOT plans to purchase for highway right of way.

Supervisor
Mike Jackson
515-233-7707
mike.jackson@iowadot.us


Acquisition and Relocation

The acquisition unit is responsible for negotiating the purchase of the land needed for right of way along interstate and primary highways in Iowa.

The relocation unit is responsible for coordinating the relocation of property owners and their personal property from land purchased for right of way along interstate and primary highways in Iowa.

Supervisor
Mark E. Holm
515-233-7867
mark.holm@iowadot.us


Title and Closing

The title and closing unit of the fiscal and title section is responsible for coordinating the transfer, preparing the proper documents and sending payment for property purchased for right of way along interstate and primary highways in Iowa.

Supervisor
Eric Wright
515-239-1551
eric.wright@iowadot.us 


Condemnation

The condemnation unit of the fiscal and title section is responsible for coordinating hearings and preparing the proper documents for the property acquired under eminent domain along interstate and primary highways in Iowa.

Supervisor
Eric Wright
515-239-1551
eric.wright@iowadot.us 

Coordinator
Katie Johnson
515-239-1633
Katherine.Johnson@iowadot.us


Property Management

The property management section is responsible for sales of state-owned items, leasing of state-owned real estate, assistance provided to local governments (local public agencies), and land management records.

Supervisor
Mike Jackson
515-233-7707
mike.jackson@iowadot.us