Purchasing Section

General Purchasing Phone Number: 515-239-1310


Director of Purchasing: Renee R. Shirley

Phone: 515-239-1578
Email: renee.shirley@iowadot.us


Purchasing Agents and their assigned commodities

Jody McNaughton
Senior purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1298
Email: jody.mcnaughton@iowadot.us

  • Building & general facility construction (non road)
  • Hoop Storage Buildings

Carrie May
Senior purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1168
Email: carrie.may@iowadot.us

  • IT hardware/software
  • IT consulting services and contracts
  • GIS systems
  • Network copiers, fax machines
  • Software as a Service (SaaS)

Zachary Gillen
Senior purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1347
Email: zachary.gillen@iowadot.us

  • Adaptive traffic signal systems
  • Dynamic message signs
  • Fleet vehicles
  • Intelligent transportation systems/fiber optics
  • IT consulting services and contracts
  • Light, medium, and heavy duty trucks
  • Portable GPS devices
  • Road maintenance and snow removal equipment
  • Snow removal/mowing services
  • Survey Equipment
  • Tractors, mowers, mowing equipment
  • Trailers

Rhonda Ruark
Senior purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1285
Email rhonda.ruark@iowadot.us

  • Building and facility renovations (general construction)
  • Herbicides
  • Modular office systems
  • Road aggregates
  • Roadside vegetation/seeds
  • Rock salt (highway de-icing)
  • Specialized training
  • Traffic paint and reflectorizing spheres (beads)


Jean Gustafson
Senior purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1173
Email: jean.gustafson@iowadot.us

  • Automotive test equipment
  • Cell phones/two-way radios
  • Cutting edges (snow plow blades)
  • Fuel
  • Lamps, luminaries-automotive, house
  • Large power equipment and power tools
  • License plates raw material
  • LP gas
  • Petroleum products
  • Lamps, automotive & house
  • Repair parts and maintenance items (auto, truck, road, snow removal equipment, and mowers)
  • Traffic signals and supplies

David Doolittle
Purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1374
Email: david.doolittle@iowadot.us

  • Commercial printing & printed items
  • Enforcement uniforms and clothing
  • Hardware items, electrical, batteries, and general shop supplies
  • Janitorial and housekeeping supplies
  • Mechanic uniform rentals
  • Office supplies
  • Parts washer services
  • Photography supplies
  • Publications
  • Safety and environmental supplies and PPE

Julie Randall
Purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1572
Email: Julie.randall@iowadot.us

  • Construction projects
  • Central inventory warehouse – miscellaneous items


Julie Brown
Purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1892
Email: julie.brown@iowadot.us

  • Central inventory warehouse — miscellaneous items
  • Engraving
  • Janitorial services
  • Persons with disabilities windshield placards
  • Paint and paint supplies


Tiffany Stupp
Purchasing agent
Phone: 515-239-1429
Email: tiffany.stupp@iowadot.us

  • Auction services
  • Central inventory warehouse — miscellaneous items
  • Calcium chloride
  • Lab supplies (small)
  • Light poles