motor carriers

Chat online

Got a question about motor carrier services? Get the answer by chatting online with one of our customer service representatives.

Call us
Commercial motor carrier information

IFTA / IRP filing

IFTA/IRP filing

Oversize / Overweight / Trip permits

Oversize/Overweight permits

Front Counter Changes

Effective Jan. 1, 2019, all new accounts and reinstatements (older than 12 months) will no longer be processed at the front counter. All paperwork must be submitted by fax, email, mail, or dropped off. Once all necessary paperwork is filled out properly and documents received, the applications will be processed within three business days.

The timeline for transition is as follows:

  • Nov. 1 - Dec. 31, 2018 - we will recommend leaving the paperwork to be processed
  • Jan. 1, 2019 - it will be mandatory for all new applications and reinstatements (older than 12 months) to be emailed, faxed, mailed or, dropped off for processing.

New law for Taxicab Service Providers

Starting July 1, 2018, any taxicab service wishing to operate in Iowa is required to apply and be issued a passenger certificate and comply with the requirements in Iowa Code chapter 325A. Learn more.

Motor Carrier Responsible for Safety (MCRS)

All IRP commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) registered within a Performance and Registration Information Systems Management (PRISM) State must have a MCRS assigned to it. Learn more.

Transportation Network Companies (TNC)

Iowa has granted provisional authority for the following Transportation Network Companies (TNC) to operate in Iowa:

  • Uber – Effective-Jan. 12, 2017 – Expires-Jan. 12, 2018
  • Lyft – Effective-Feb. 24, 2017 – Expires-Feb. 24, 2018

Iowa fuel tax rates

See tax rates

Unified Carrier Registration (UCR)

The new UCR system launching Oct. 1

The new UCR National Registration System is on track to launch October 1 and will be ready to accept remaining 2018 UCR registrations. The new system will provide an improved registration experience for carriers and other entities required to participate in the program, as well as permit agents.


Watch our website for updates or go to for more information.

Form 2290 filing requirements and information

Form 2290 filing requirements 60-day rule
IRS Trucking Tax Center