In light of COVID-19 - if your vehicle registration is expired or expiring you do not need to renew during this emergency, which currently extends to June 25 in Iowa. However, you may be able to renew your vehicle registration online or by mail by contacting your county treasurer’s office.
If you purchased a vehicle, you will not need to obtain the title and registration within 30 days. If you purchased your vehicle from a dealer, you will not be required to obtain license plates within 45 days. This will remain in effect until the declared disaster is over.
Get information about your options for receiving motor vehicle services
If your vehicle cannot be titled or registered by your county treasurer because you do not have the proper title documents, you may be able to file a bond as a condition of obtaining a title and registration plates.
Register a vehicle
Iowa law requires you to register your motor vehicle with the county treasurer's office in your county within 30 days from the date you establish residency. Iowa registration is required even though your license plates may still be valid in another state.
Requesting a motor vehicle record
Search records by vehicle identification number, name, title number and license plate number.
Salvage vehicle inspection
Iowa law requires that all vehicles that are designated "salvage" or have a "salvage" title to be physically examined by a "peace officer" who has been certified by the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy to conduct examinations.
Vehicle registration locations by county
Register or and pay vehicle renewals online.