Access Permits

Permits Resources

Information on how to read DOT Roadway Plans with links to the following Powerpoint files:

Utility Accommodation Permits

  • Form 810025 - Utility Accommodation Permit **
  • Form 810051 - Freeway Longitudinal Utility Accommodation Permit

Other permits

  • Form 810028 - Application to Perform Work Within State Highway Right-of-Way **

** These permit forms are available to download directly from DOT forms website.

All forms are also available from the appropriate engineering operations technician (EOT) listed below.

Contact Us

District Contacts
  • Contacts by district and county
  • Engineering Operations Technicians Area of Responsibility maps for permits

Policy manuals

Iowa Primary Highway Access Management Policy

Download Iowa Primary Access Management Policy

Policy For Accommodating and Adjustment of Utilities On the Primary Road System

Download Policy for Accommodating and Adjustment of Utilities on the Primary Road System

District 1 Contacts

Boone, Greene, Hamilton, Webster, Story, Grundy, Hardin
Brian Whaley
Office phone: 515-663-6363 or 800-251-2708
Cell phone: 515-460-1187
Fax: 515-817-6643
Address: 57073 E. U.S. 30, Ames, IA  50010
Jeff Cunningham
Office phone: 515-986-5461 or 800-251-2702
Cell phone: 515-290-9028
Email: jeffrey.cunningham@iowadot.us
Fax: 515-986-5735
Address: 2300 S.E. 17th St., Grimes, IA  50111
Jasper, Poweshiek, Marshall, Tama
Deanna Smyth-Peters
Office phone: 515-986-5460 or 800-251-2702
Email: deanna.smyth-peters@iowadot.us
Address: 2300 S.E. 17th St., Grimes, IA  50111


District 1 contact area of responsibility map for permits



Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Howard, Winneshiek
Jess Ellingson
Office phone: 641-394-3161
Cell phone: 563-380-0106
Address: 2224 225th Street, New Hampton, IA 50659
Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, Worth, Wright
Michael Frank
Office phone: 641-422-9476
Cell phone: 641-430-1846
Address: 428 43rd St. SW, Mason City, IA 50401


District 2 contact area of responsibility map for permits



Plymouth, Woodbury
Kelly Mulvihill
Office phone: 712-274-5828 or 800-284-4368
Cell phone: 712-539-1268
Fax: 712-276-2822
Address: 2800 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, IA 51102
Emmet, Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Sioux, O'Brien
Alex Wiertzema
Office phone: 712-472-2315 or 800-373-7347
Cell phone: 712-539-1285
Fax: 712-472-2310
Address: 1204 N. Second Ave. E. - P.O. Box 430, Rock Rapids, IA 51246
Ida, Sac, Calhoun, Monona, Crawford, Carroll
Wayne Brensel
Office phone: 712-263-8488 or 800-683-8900
Cell phone: 712-263-5629
Address: U.S. 30 W. - P.O. Box 70, Denison, IA 51442
Clay, Palo Alto, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas
Michael Thayer
Office phone: 712-732-4549 or 800-373-7348
Cell phone: 515-357-1796
Fax: 712-732-7957
Address: 1303 West Milwaukee, Storm Lake, IA 50588

District 3 contact area of responsibility map for permits


Harrison, Shelby, Pottawattamie, Mills, Montgomery, Fremont, Page
Richard Moraine
Office phone: 712-323-6125
Cell phone: 712-310-8002
Fax: 712-323-6195
Email: richard.moraine@iowadot.us
Address: 300 W. Broadway, Suite 12, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Audubon, Guthrie, Dallas, Cass, Adair, Madison, Adams, Union, Taylor, Ringgold
Nick Mocha
Office phone: 712-388-6898
Cell phone: 712-250-0282
Fax: 712-323-6195
Address: 300 W. Broadway, Suite 12, Council Bluffs, IA 51503


District 4 contact area of responsibility map for permits



Warren, Marion, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Decatur, Wayne, Appanoose
Dale O’Brien
Office phone: 641-774-2420
Cell phone: 641-344-0055
Fax: 641-774-5057
Email: Dale.OBrien@iowadot.us
Address: U.S. 34 W. - P.O. Box 733, Chariton, IA 50049

Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Wapello, Jefferson, Davis, Van Buren
Nora Lind
Office phone: 641-683-3331
Cell phone: 641-919-2238
Address: 2930 N. Court Ave., Ottumwa, IA 52501
Muscatine, Louisa, Henry, Des Moines, Lee
Bryan Archer
Office phone: 641-469-4025
Cell phone: 641-777-1758
Fax: 641-472-3622
Address: 205 E. 227th Street, Fairfield, IA 52556


District 5 contact area of responsibility map for permits



Cedar, Clinton, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, and Scott
Sheila Lee
Office phone: 563-391-4643 or 800-262-5143
Cell phone: 563-349-5016
Fax: 563-388-9266
Address: 8723 Northwest Blvd. - P.O. Box 2646, Davenport, IA 52809-2646
Benton, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Jones, and Linn
Terry Kluesner
Office phone: 563-875-2375 or 800-262-5142
Cell phone: 515-815-2831
Fax: 563-875-2388
Address: 14117 Rt 136 N. / P.O. Box 325, Dyersville, IA 52040-0325


District 6 contact area of responsibility map for permits