Your license expires on the expiration date printed on the license. The license is valid for driving for an additional 60 days after the expiration date. After 60 days from the expiration date, you may be ticketed for driving with an expired license.
One year following expiration, you will be required to take the knowledge test and drive test. If you plan to travel or rent a car during the 60-day grace period, you should renew your driver's license; some entities may not recognize the grace period. You may renew your driver's license 180 days before its expiration date. If you demonstrate a good cause exists to renew earlier, you may renew your driver's license up to one year before the expiration date.
You must pass the vision screening each time you renew your license.
If you are a foreign national, you may renew your driver's license up to 30 days before the expiration date. Since we need to verify your lawful status, we are not able to renew earlier.
|Younger than 17 years and 11 months
|Older than 17 years and 11 months through 72 years
|78 years and older
Iowa non-operator's ID cards will be issued with an expiration date of eight years.
Instruction permits will be issued with an expiration date of four years.
Commercial learner permits (CLP) will be issued with an expiration date of one year. Full test required upon renewal.
Driver licenses issued to persons under the age of 18, over 72, or persons who are temporary foreign nationals will be issued with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law.
Receive an email reminder to renew your driver's license or identification card.