Studies, Reports Banner

Iowa aviation system plan

The Iowa Aviation System Plan provides a detailed overview of the Iowa aviation system. It evaluates existing conditions and makes recommendations for future development of the air transportation system to meet the needs of users over the next 20 years. Federal, state and local decision makers use the plan as a guide for future investment and activity decisions to maintain and develop, as necessary, airports in the state of Iowa.

The 2020-2040 Iowa Aviation System Plan can be found below. It includes an executive summary, a full technical report, and individual reports for every public-owned airport in Iowa. Additional information for individual airports can be found in the Airport Information section on this website.

Executive summary
Iowa Aviation System Plan — Executive Summary

Technical report
Complete Report
Chapter 1 - Introduction
Chapter 2 - Inventory
Chapter 3 - Forecast
Chapter 4 - System Evaluation
Chapter 5 - Airport Roles
Chapter 6 - Facility and Service Objectives
Chapter 7 - System Costs
Chapter 8 - Plan Recommendations
Appendix A - Project Advisory Committe
Appendix B - Sample Airport Management Survey
Appendix C - Inventory Results

Where Commercial service airport individual reports Document
Burlington Southeast Iowa Regional Airport BRL
Cedar Rapids Eastern Iowa Airport CID
Des Moines Des Moines International DSM
Dubuque Dubuque Regional DBQ
Fort Dodge Fort Dodge Regional FOD
Mason City Mason City Municipal MCW
Sioux City Sioux Gateway SUX
Waterloo Waterloo Regional ALO

Where General aviation airport individual reports Document
Albia Albia Municipal 4C8
Ackley Ackley Municipal 4C7
Algona Algona Municipal AXA
Allison Allison Municipal K98
Amana Amana Airport C11
Ames Ames Municipal AMW
Ankeny Ankeny Regional IKV
Anita Anita Municipal Y43
Atlantic Atlantic Municipal AIO
Audubon Audubon County ADU
Bedford Bedford Municipal Y46
Belle Plaine Belle Plaine Municipal TZT
Belmond Belmond Municipal Y48
Bloomfield Bloomfield Municipal 4K6
Boone Boone Municipal BNW
Carroll Arthur N. Neu CIN
Centerville Centerville Municipal TVK
Chariton Chariton Municipal CNC
Charles City Northeast Iowa Regional CCY
Cherokee Cherokee Municipal CKP
Clarinda Schenck Field ICL
Clarion Clarion Municipal CAV
Clinton Clinton Municipal CWI
Corning Corning Municipal CRZ
Council Bluffs Council Bluffs Municipal CBF
Cresco Ellen Church Field CJJ
Creston Creston Municipal CSQ
Davenport Davenport Municipal DVN
Decorah Decorah Municipal DEH
Denison Denison Municipal DNS
Dyersville Dyersville Airport IA8
Eagle Grove Eagle Grove Municipal EAG
Eldora Eldora Airport 27P
Elader Elkader Airport I27;
Emmetsburg Emmetsburg Municipal EGQ
Estherville Estherville Municipal EST
Fairfield Fairfield Municipal FFL
Forest City Forest City Municipal FXY
Fort Madison Fort Madison Municipal FSW
Greenfield Greenfield Municipal GFZ
Grinnell Grinnell Regional GGI
Grundy Center Grundy Center Municipal 6K7
Guthrie Center Guthrie County Regional GCT
Hampton Hampton Municipal HPT
Harlan Harlan Municipal HNR
Humboldt Humboldt Municipal 0K7
Ida Grove Ida Grove Municipal IDG
Independence Independence Municipal IIB
Iowa City Iowa City Municipal IOW
Iowa Falls Iowa Falls Municipal IFA
Jefferson Jefferson Municipal EFW
Keokuk Keokuk Municipal EOK
Keosauqua Keosauqua Municipal 6K9
Knoxville Knoxville Municipal OXV
Lake Mills Lake Mills Municipal 0Y6
Lamoni Lamoni Municipal LWD
Le Mars Le Mars Municipal LRJ
Manchester Manchester Municipal C27
Mapleton Mapleton Municipal MEY
Maquoketa Maquoketa Municipal OQW
Marion Marion Airport C17
Marshalltown Marshalltown Municipal MIW
Maurice Sioux County Regional Airport SXK
Milford Fuller 4D8
Monona Monona Municipal 7C3
Montezuma Montezuma Sig Field Airport 7C5
Monticello Monticello Municipal MXO
Mount Ayr Judge Lewis Field Mount Ayr Municipal 1Y3
Mount Pleasant Mount Pleasant Municipal MPZ
Muscatine Muscatine Municipal MUT
New Hampton New Hampton Municipal 1Y5
Newton Newton Municipal TNU
Northwood Northwood Municipal 5D2
Oelwein Oelwein Municipal OLZ
Osage Osage Municipal D02
Osceola Osceola Municipal I75
Oskaloosa Oskaloosa Municipal OOA
Ottumwa Ottumwa Industrial OTM
Paullina Paullina Municipal 1Y9
Pella Pella Municipal PEA
Perry Perry Municipal PRO
Pocahontas Pocahontas Municipal POH
Red Oak Red Oak Municipal RDK
Ringsted Peltz Field Airport 8Y8
Rock Rapids Rock Rapids Municipal RRQ
Rockwell City Rockwell City Municipal 2Y4
Sac City Sac City Municipal SKI
Sheldon Sheldon Municipal SHL
Shenandoah Shenandoah Municipal SDA
Sibley Sibley Municipal ISB
Spencer Spencer Municipal SPW
Spirit Lake Spirit Lake Municipal 0F3
Storm Lake Storm Lake Municipal SLB
Sully Sully Municipal 8C2
Tipton Mathews Memorial 8C4
Toledo Toledo Municipal 8C5
Traer Traer Municipal 8C6
Vinton Vinton Veterans Memorial Airpark VTI
Washington Washington Municipal AWG
Waukon Waukon Municipal Y01
Waverly Waverly Municipal C25
Webster City Webster City Municipal EBS
West Union West Union Municipal 3Y2
Winterset Winterset-Madison County 3Y3
Woodbine Woodbine Municipal 3Y4


Login  |  ©  Iowa Department of Transportation.  All rights reserved.