Design

CONTACT INFORMATION

Design Bureau
Michael Kennerly
Bureau Director
michael.kennerly@iowadot.us

515-239-1243

Kent Nicholson
Assistant Bureau Director - Project Development
kent.nicholson@iowadot.us

515-239-1586

Kevin Patel
Assistant Bureau Director - Design Support
Kevin.Patel@iowadot.us@iowadot.us

515-239-1505

Ladana Sogard
Secretary
ladana.sogard@iowadot.us 515-239-1783

Methods Section
Stuart Nielsen
stuart.nielsen@iowadot.us
515-239-1402
  • Develop design standards, details and policies
  • Design special roadway features
  • Geometric design for interchanges and intersections
  • Provide administrative support to the bureau by preparing budget, ordering materials and supplies, monitoring project progress, etc.
Daniel Harness
Daniel.Harness@iowadot.us
515-239-1727
  • Design Manual
  • Development of desgin standards, details, and policies
  • Secifications and Standards Review
Elijah Gansen
Elijah.Gansen@iowadot.us
515-239-1769
  • Geometric design for interchanges and intersections
  • Design special roadway features
  • Interchange Review
  • Pedestrian and Bicycle Facilities
Michael Ross
Michael.Ross@iowadot.us
515-239-1080

Roger Larsen
Roger.Larsen@iowadot.us
515-239-1864
  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) projects
  • Regulations and Compliance
  • Sidewalks and Curb Ramps
Dean Sayre
Dean.Sayre@iowadot.us
515-239-1862
  • Guardrail and Crash Cushions
  • Safety hardware

Automation Coordination

Thomas Hamski
thomas.hamski@iowadot.us
515-239-1836
  • Provide user support for all design automation activities
  • Develop applications to automate design processes
  • Provide solutions for the integration of automation tools
  • Provide user training for automation tools and processes
  • Develop plans for future enhancements for automation systems

Roadside Development
Seana Godbold
seana.godbold@iowadot.us
515-239-1424

 

  • Design erosion control and seeding
  • Design landscapes for highways and other facilities
  • Design rest area and roadside park improvements
  • Administer landscape funding agreements
  • Administer Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management program

Design Support Staff

Pre-Design/Field Exam

John Bartholomew
john.bartholomew@iowadot.us
515-239-1540
  • Prepare project concept statements
  • Prepare cost estimates and alignment studies
  • Review and provide recommendations for new airport applications
  • Obtain traffic forecasts for design
  • Conduct field examinations of design projects
  • Prepare 3R/4R project concept statements
  • Analyze and process design exceptions

Photogrammetry

Alice Welch
alice.welch@iowadot.us
515-239-1041

Preliminary Survey

Norman Miller
norman.miller@iowadot.us
515-239-1209

  • Obtain survey information for design plan development
  • Administer aerial photography flight contract
  • Provide photographic materials for Iowa DOT bureaus for ¬†various displays

Soils Design

Stephen Megivern
stephen.megivern@iowadot.us
515-239-1936
  • Conduct boring program to obtain samples, analyze, and provide recommendations
  • Coordinate testing with materials testing laboratory for geotechnical analysis
  • Prepare plans to provide boring and testing information to users
  • Select borrow areas for design projects
  • Design subgrade treatments, subdrain systems, foundation treatments, and slope stabilization

Project Development Staff

Rural Design

Jason Holst
Rural 1
jason.holst@iowadot.us
515-239-1856

Yanxiao Jia
Rural 2
yanxiao.jia@iowadot.us
515-239-1985

Paul Flattery
Rural 3
paul.flattery@iowadot.us
515-239-1863

  • Design transportation improvements for the State of Iowa
  • Prepare construction plans to clearly convey design intent to contractors
  • Create electronic files and visualizations to convey design ideas to the public and contractors