Driver's license/ID

Fees and license types

  • There is a $10 fee for a replacement license or nonoperator ID card (e.g., change of address, name change, lost or stolen).
  • Licenses issued to persons under the age of 18 or persons who are temporary foreign nationals will be issued driver's licenses with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law.
  • All nonoperator's ID cards will be valid for eight years with a cost of $8.
  • There is no charge to replace a defective license.
  • There are additional fees for commercial endorsements.
  • License issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

Change in driver’s license renewal periods

Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, and continuing through Dec. 31, 2018, Iowa will transition from a standard five-year license term to an eight-year license term. During this time, Iowa driver's licenses will be issued with a randomly assigned expiration date between five and eight years. Learn more.

Noncommercial driver license

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Class C – Operator $4/year 16 5-8 years*
Class D – Chauffer $8/year 18 5-8 years*
Class C – Instruction Permit $6 14 4 years
Class D – Chauffer Instruction Permit $12 18 4 years
Class C – Minor’s School License $8 14 1/2 2 years
Class C – Minor’s Restricted License $8 16 2 years
Upgrade from operator license to chauffer or commercial license $4/year (existing license will be prorated) 18 Based on existing license

*Licenses issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

Motorcycle/Moped licenses

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Motorcycle endorsement (added to an existing license) $2/year 16 Same expiration as existing license
Class M - Motorcycle license only $6/year 16 5-8 years*
Motorcycle instruction permit   $2/year when adding to an existing license, or $14 if you are obtaining a motorcycle instruction permit only and do not have another type of license 14 Same expiration as existing license when adding to an existing license, or 4 years if you are obtaining a motorcycle instruction permit only and do not have another type of license
Motorcycle permit only $14 14 4 years
Moped (motorized bicycle) license only $8 14 2 years
*Licenses issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

Commercial driver's license (CDL)

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Class A commercial $8/year 18** 5-8 years*
Class B commercial $8/year 18** 5-8 years*
Class C commercial $8/year 18** 5-8 years*
Commercial learner's permit (must be added to an existing license)
$12 18** 6 months
*Licenses issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.
**Must be 21 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle in interstate travel

Endorsements

The following endorsements are used exclusively in conjunction with a commercial driver’s license (CDL)
CDL endorsement Cost
Double/triple trailers $5
Passenger $10
Tank vehicles $5
Hazardous materials
$5
School bus $10

Note: If you haul hazardous materials in a tank vehicle, you will need to get a haz-mat/tank combination endorsement.  You will have to pass both the tanker and the hazardous materials knowledge examinations and complete the federally required fingerprint-based threat assessment.  The cost will be $10.


Remove restriction from CDL license

Certain restrictions may be added to your CDL based on the type of vehicle you drive. The following restrictions require a fee to remove the restriction from your CDL and may require a pre-trip inspection test or a skills and driving test.
CDL restriction Cost
Remove air brake restriction $10
Remove full air brake restriction  $10
Remove manual transmission restriction  $10
Remove tractor-trailer restriction 
$10


Identification card only (ID)

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Identification card only (Class O) $8/year No minimum age requirement 8 years




License restrictions and definitions

Restriction Definition
B Corrective lenses - when corrective lenses are used to obtain visual acuity reading
C Mechanical aid - to be detailed using the J restriction
D Prosthetic aid - to be detailed using the J restriction
F Both outside mirrors - visual acuity less than 20/100 in the left eye
Binocular field of vision less than 140 degrees
Vision specialist or physician recommendation
G No driving when headlights are required - visual acuity 20/50 or less
H Temporary Restricted License (TRL)
I Ignition interlock required
J Restrictions on the back of card
Q No interstate or freeway - applies ONLY to non commercial license
S SR required (proof of financial responsibility)
T Medical report required at renewal
U Not valid for two wheel vehicle - applies ONLY to motorcycle license