Motor Vehicle

Services and appointments

Vehicle registrations, license plates, and title services need to made through your county treasurer’s office. Please contact the office in your county.

Motor Carrier Services
Get information about your options for receiving motor vehicle services.

Driver’s license and ID services customers may have a variety of options to receive services. Use our service selector to find out your options. Please note that if you must come into an Iowa DOT-operated service center you will need to make an appointment. 


Iowa driver's license service centers

To find a driver's license issuance site and view the hours of service, enter your city and state in the box or click on the map below - it does not have to be in the county where you reside.

Save time by coming prepared

Find out what documents you need to get your Iowa license or ID for the first time or to get your REAL ID gold star.

 
 
 
DOT drivers license stations  DOT driver's license service centers
 
County drivers license offices  County drivers license offices

Driver's license stations by county

Adair Clay Hancock Madison Sac
Adams Clayton Hardin Mahaska Scott
Allamakee Clinton Harrison Marion Shelby
Appanoose Crawford Henry Marshall Sioux
Audubon Dallas Howard Mills Story
Benton Davis Humboldt Mitchell Tama
Black Hawk Decatur Ida Monona Taylor
Boone Delaware Iowa Monroe Union
Bremer Des Moines Jackson Montgomery Van Buren
Buchanan Dickinson Jasper Muscatine Wapello
Buena Vista Dubuque Jefferson O'Brien Warren
Butler Emmet Johnson Osceola Washington
Calhoun Fayette Jones Page Wayne
Carroll Floyd Keokuk Palo Alto Webster
Cass Franklin Kossuth Plymouth Winnebago
Cedar Fremont Lee Pocahontas Winneshiek
Cerro Gordo Greene Linn Polk Woodbury
Cherokee Grundy Louisa Pottawattamie Worth
Chickasaw Guthrie Lucas Poweshiek Wright
Clarke Hamilton Lyon Ringgold  


2021 holiday driver's license centers

Check your county website for service information for county locations.

Martin Luther King Saturday, Jan. 16
Closed all day
Memorial Day Saturday, May 29
Closed all day
Independence Day Saturday, July 3
Closed all day
Labor Day Saturday, Sept. 4
Closed all day
Veteran's Day Thursday, Nov. 11
Closed all day
Thanksgiving Wednesday, Nov. 24
Thursday, Nov. 25
Friday, Nov. 26
Saturday, Nov. 27

Closed all day

Open Monday, Nov. 29 from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Christmas Thursday, Dec. 23
Friday, Dec. 24
Saturday, Dec. 25

Closed all day

  Open Monday, Dec. 27 from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
New Years Friday, Dec. 31, 2021
Saturday, Jan. 1, 2022

Closed all day

  Open Monday, Jan. 3, 2022 from 8 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Vehicle registration and titling information

Vehicle registration is handled by your county treasurer's office. Please contact them for questions regarding your registration fees.

Office of Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services

Mailing address

Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services
P.O. Box 10382
Des Moines, IA  50306-0382

Address

Vehicle & Motor Carrier Services
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny, IA 50021

Hours

Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Holiday closings

New Years Day
Friday, Jan. 1, 2021
Martin Luther King Day
Monday, Jan. 18, 2021
Memorial Day
Monday, May 31, 2021
Independence Day
Monday, July 4, 2021
Labor Day
Monday, Sept. 6, 2021
Veterans Day
Thursday, Nov. 11, 2021
Thanksgiving
Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2021
Thursday, Nov. 25, 2021
Friday, Nov. 26, 2021
Christmas
Thursday, Dec. 23, 2021
Friday, Dec. 24, 2021
New Years Day
Friday, Dec. 31, 2021